We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough”

Ye Olde Trail Tavern
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great historic tavern. We looked at some other places to eat, most were overpriced and limited fares on Sunday. The "Most Excellent Grilled Cheese" was very tasty @ $6.95 and the "Philly Steak Sandwich" @ $9.95 was a good portion and tasted very fresh. Service was good. Would go back in a heartbeat. Its on the main drag, but the outside does a good job of masking the excellence and the tavern look on the inside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stout1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    35
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent, but not the best of YS”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food is standard sandwiches and fare. The food is always decent, but the service usually is lacking. For the price, it isn't that great of a value. Go to Ha-Ha's!

Helpful?
Thank Tyedyedturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Historic Tavern with yummy bar food”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Inside or outside dining at a historic tavern serving basic but delicious bar fare. Ask the owner to show you the stairwell to the Underground Railroad. They don't advertise it...but if you plead, he'll accommodate. :-)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
172 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lousy Service”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I ate sandwiches for lunch. Mine was good. My wife specifically asked for whole wheat bread and no pickles in the sandwich. Server said no problem. Hers came on a pertrified white pretzel roll with pickles smeared all inside. She couldn't get server to refill water despite a couple requests. He was toatally inattentive and conveyed the impression he didn't care. We mentioned the shortcomings to server and he said he'd get the owner. Never happened. We spoke with owner as we beat a hasty retreat out the door and her only response was "I'm sorry, I'll ask to see what happened". But she had the same "who cares" attitude. We'll never go there again. There are better choices close by.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Church, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food! Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We ate lunch here. The best taco salad I've ever had and I've had a few of them over the years! The service was great and sitting on the patio was a very nice touch as well! Highly recommend this place!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Trail Tavern also viewed

Yellow Springs, OH
Yellow Springs, OH
 

Been to Ye Olde Trail Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing