We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overdone...”
Review of Sunrise Cafe

Sunrise Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Glen St
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
331 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Way overdone...”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is one of those college town places that try to make things more "upscale" by having a trendy menu. Unfortunately, how the food is described, versus how the food tastes is way off. The food was just... average, and on top of that it didn't have much taste. Now in my defense, my girlfriend IS one of those trendy, try to be "upscale" people that they cater to, and she was equally disappointed. They should scale the menu back a bit, or work on making the taste a bit better...plenty other places in Yellow Springs that have tasty menu items.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Porthos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    45
    9
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic vegan/vegetarian food!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ate the vegan reuban with a half salad of the sunrise kale salad. Delicious! The atmosphere was nice & artsy - good feel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, what a find!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this place, looking for somewhere to have big breakfast. What a find! Great service! Eggs are fresh, from local farm, bacon was delicious, no preservatives, and the coffee was bold and tasty. My husband enjoyed his pancakes and sausage. We'll definitely come back here when in the area or on a road trip. The lunch/dinner menu looked interesting as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Springbreakers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
299 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“very tasty one of the best i've had in a while”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

2 excellent meals here - bean ragout for the vegetarian - perch for the non- .... both of us thought the meals were tasty as could be --- the potato/kale soup was also very flavorful, although the cabbage/beer soup missed the mark

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joisey-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bland and Boring”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The chef is more poet than cook - the descriptions had my mouth watering, but the dishes were unforgivably bland, heavy and boring. I also prefer my scallops cooked through.
But the REAL insult was 1) having cilantro sprinkled on my soup and being told it was parsley and 2) having cilantro subsequently sprinkled over my main course and being told - AGAIN - that it was parsley. The difference in taste between the two is the difference between licorice and road tar. YUCK. Besides, hasn't the wait staff heard they shouldn't argue with the customer?

From now on I will delete the restaurant's e-mailed weekly menus and will find another Yellow Springs restaurant for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadNancy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Cafe also viewed

Yellow Springs, OH
Yellow Springs, OH
 

Been to Sunrise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing