We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food, locally grown, menu changes, charming”
Review of Oak Grove Eatery - CLOSED

Oak Grove Eatery
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My daughter's boyfriend is a chef and he raved about this restaurant. We all enjoyed the creative and tasty offerings. It's not the typical restaurant that you would expect in Wooster. Definitely a must-go-to place. Fresh and delicious. My daughter insists that this is place to go for her graduation meal! We all agree with loud cheers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at Oak Grove Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Tony, thank you for your review and your trip to the Bistro. We'll be glad to have you back for your daughter's graduation! The menu changes with the seasons, so we will have many new, creative dishes for you to try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 154 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

The food here was absolutely delicious, and the atmosphere was very charming. They were featuring a parsnip soup with agave (ridiculously amazing), and the pumpkin lasagne was unlike anything I've ever had before. Only regret that I was too full for dessert, because I was envying the sweets that we're being delivered to patrons nearby our table. I would definitely eat here again, and recommend it to anyone in the mood for a unique, delicious meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaggieArmstrongEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at Oak Grove Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Maggie, thank you for your review. We do hope that you find yourself in Wooster again so that you can try some of our fabulous desserts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were traveling through Wooster on our way to Vermont and staying at the Market Street Inn. The owners of the Inn also happen to be the owners of South Market Bistro so we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The location was within walking distance from the Inn. The food was wonderful as was the service. Being from Louisiana I was really interested to see how someone in Wooster, Ohio would prepare Shrimp Grits. Man was I presently surprised. The dish was spicy without being overstated. Just right. Everyone enjoyed their dinner. Great place for dinner.

Thank jthomas47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at Oak Grove Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We were happy to have you at the Inn and the Bistro! We are glad you liked your dishes. Chef Erik is known for taking classic dishes and adding his own twist. Stop by again on your next trip through Wooster!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This restaurant is a hidden jewel! The Bistro is a wonderful surprise in a small town. I have been back several times and have always been delighted!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gnarlyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at Oak Grove Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and for visiting us! We are happy to keep our menu fresh and seasonal with specials changing often and are always glad to have you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We chose to eat at South Market Bistro during our yearly trip to the Wooster area for a birthday celebration. We had a great time. Our reservation were a bit early, so the restaurant was not packed when we arrived. We ordered cocktails. My husbands Highball was not as good as we have had elsewhere and I didn't like the taste of my drink. No biggie, it happens! The waiter was very attentive and suggested a glass of wine instead. My husband said he didnt mind finishing his drink, so the waiter brought me a lovely glass of red wine that was delish! We both enjoyed our dinners, had a coffee afterwards and split a dessert. The setting was intimate and the food was great. I wish this restaurant were right around the corner from my house!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teachfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at Oak Grove Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the drinks, but we are glad we could rectify the situation for you and that the rest of your evening was enjoyable. We hope you can make the trip back to Wooster soon! We'd be happy to have you at the Bistro, and check out our sister inn, Market Street Inn (www.marketstreetinnwooster.com) for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing