We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Bistro”
Review of Oak Grove Eatery - CLOSED

Oak Grove Eatery
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at the Bistro”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

There were four of us. Three of us loved our dinners -- two ordered the pork and one ordered the shrimp. They were delicious, generous meals with a creative touch. However, one person ordered the perch which was fried and tasteless, so we were disappointed about that. The desserts were amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaurelsbyLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at Oak Grove Eatery, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the perch. We will be sure to pass that along to our chef who is very responsive to our guests' comments. We are glad that the rest of your evening went well. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    33
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife had dinner there while in town for just one night and I wanted to stay another night just for the steak.....Terrific prompt courteous service with food done to perfection.
I had a steak that just melted in your mouth with a few Brooklyn ales and topped off with their delicious frozen banana dessert.
Definitely a place you worth stopping fro dinner at if you are within 50 miles of Wooster....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ouldbollix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at Oak Grove Eatery, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you can come back through Wooster sometime! Although our menu changes with the season, we always try to have a steak featured.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Year after year--the best”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had dinner on Saturday evening, July 14, 2013. Service is exceptional, even for a comparatively small restaurant. Opened doors early so people didn't have to wait in the high heat & humidity.
Staffed well so they take care of the crowds showing up at opening without any undue waiting.
Owner takes time out for anyone that wants to speak to him, all the time no matter even if its an all hands on deck atmosphere. Cuisine is definitely locavore and varies regularly as it must. Nevertheless, wide choices. Vegetarians won't be disappointed either. Neatest menu item right now is the Caesar salad where the dressing is contained in an evacuated unbroken eggshell. Lets you spread the dressing around when and as you wish. Attractive wine offerings. House wines, red and white, were very pleasant. Cannot go wrong here other than not making a reservation some time in advance. On street parking typically not a problem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Llibsenoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at Oak Grove Eatery, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you found your evening so pleasant, and we are especially glad that you appreciate the unique items on our menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A delightful evening”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The food was excellent, just the right amount and the taste couldn't be improved upon. The service was also excellent, attentive without being intrusive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at Oak Grove Eatery, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Linda, thank you for your review. We are glad we could make your evening so enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing find in Wooster!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great food and service. Creative and local menu. Can't wait to go back! Scallops and the chocolate terrine were out of this world.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan C, Owner at Oak Grove Eatery, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Lisa, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to South Market Bistro! We are very happy with the new summer menu and agree that Chef Erik has gotten very creative. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing