We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Wooster Inn

Wooster Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wooster Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Wooster B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2011

As a graduate of The College of Wooster, I was looking forward to our stay at the Wooster Inn. We were disappointed, but let's start with what was good. The building is beautiful and well located just off the College campus. The staff were uniformly courteous and made every effort to be helpful even though some appeared to be poorly trained. There is no elevator and we had two heavy suitcases. This was no problem. A staff member led us to the freight elevator and saw that we were settled in our room. She said that the room seemed cold (it was) so brought us an electric heater. That's when the problems began. We settled in for a nap but could not sleep because the radiator emitted loud gurgling noises even though it gave off no heat. A staff member came up and said it needed adjustment which she did. There was still no heat but the noises continued -- and were still evident when we came back from the mediocre and inexpertly served dinner downstairs. We asked for help and were told that the heat never came on unless it was 57 degrees outside -- a different answer than we'd had previously. We were offered three other rooms which we inspected but two of them had radiators with the same gurgling noise. We were tired and decided to stick with what we had but the noise in the radiator continued all night and all of the next day. The room was OK except for a foul odor in the shower drain. Breakfasts were modest and cereal bowls were dirty on both days. We heard some people getting on a wait list to stay at the Inn for graduation in 2014. Unless changes are made in this establishment, they may wish they had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dwsact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed Friday and Saturday night. We planned for a weekend to visit Amish Country. The Woster Inn was charming, clean and lovely. Like a Bed and Breakfast setting. (1950's motif). The parking was plentiful, beautiful golf couse view and friendly staff. We were in a 2 mile driving distance of a huge mall area. We had a blast and would recommend this charming hotel to people staying in Wooster, Ohio. Only negatives: No mini refrigerator in room or hair conditioner. We were never told about the free continential breakfast from 7-10am.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyNurse9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay. We spent 2 nights in this hotel. The women working behind the desk were very friendly and helpful. The room was great. We were in town for a family event and had very little free time so unfortunately we did not get to experience the restaurant. We did get a drink at the outside bar. The man behind the bar was less customer-oriented than the rest of the staff. I would gladly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddlslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

Everything about this place is charming: the rooms are comfortable and spacious, the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the setting, on the campus of the College of Wooster, is beautiful. There's a Fifties vibe to the place -- the bathrooms are done in pastel yellow tile and fixtures that would have been at home in Ward and June Cleaver's place -- but nothing feels worn out or dated. Everything is comfortable, and pleasant, and inviting. The Christmas decorations in the main room were an added bonus.

We loved this place!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CortMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2006

The Wooster Inn is a very cute inn, especially around the Holiday's with all the decorations. The location is very convenient to both the College and local restaurants, movie theater, stores, etc... Our room was fairly small; queen size bed, stand up shower and a small bathroom sink. We had dinner in their restaurant, $80 for 3 people. Overall the food was just ok, I was not overly impressed. I'm very happy we stayed there as Wooster does not have many great options to choose from, I just don't know if it was worth the money to dine there.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank ebMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2006

This is the perfect place to stay when visiting the College of Wooster. Within walking distance of the campus, the Wooster Inn is well maintained and well managed. Rooms are clean and updated, the staff couldn't have been more professional and friendly, and the location was perfect. We had dinner at the restaurant at the Inn, and it was fabulous. Knowing all too well the stress of college shopping with teenagers, this Inn was great for us all!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cumberlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2005

The Wooster Inn hotel on the college campus also has a restaurant which was a panoramic view of the college campus and the golf course in its garden room.

Excellent service by professional-acting staff, formal without being stiff. The menu is basically American with the food being presented in an attractive way. There are almost two levels of prices, with the specials and salads being in the $10 range, while other entrees are in the high teens . On Friday nights there is/was a happy hour on the terrace - too hot to go out the night I was there - with live music and a substantial selection of complimetary hot and cold snacks.

1  Thank 20,001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wooster hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wooster
1.1 mi away
Best Western Wooster Hotel
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Wooster
Rodeway Inn Wooster
#5 of 8 in Wooster
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Wooster
Days Inn Wooster
#6 of 8 in Wooster
470 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. Paul Hotel
St. Paul Hotel
#4 of 8 in Wooster
119 reviews
1 mi away
Market Street Inn
Market Street Inn
#1 of 6 in Wooster
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooster Inn

Address: 801 E Wayne Ave, Wooster, OH 44691-2388
Location: United States > Ohio > Wooster
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wooster
Hotel Class:3 star — Wooster Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Wooster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wooster Inn Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing