We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay with a warm touch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Squirrel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Squirrel Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Wooster B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay with a warm touch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Loved staying there! Breakfast was home cooked on the spot by the owner who made you feel like family. Rooms are spacious and have individual bathrooms. Our 2-1/2 year old got a pack and play. Cable with a full suite of channels. Central location within easy walking distance of the college and downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    6
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
30
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just stayed here for a weekend (in the "Brothers Schwartz" room) and it was absolutely lovely. The location is a quick walk from the college, as well as the downtown, which makes it SO convenient. Fong was a wonderful host, and prepared a delicious breakfast of fruit, fresh pastries and egg dishes for us each morning. She knows the town and the college community well, and gives fantastic restaurant recommendations. The breakfast is served family-style in the dining room, which gave us the chance to get to know the other guests. If you're visiting the college, these are the perfect accommodations - and the rates are competitive with the most affordable hotels in town. My only regret is that the weather was too cold to take advantage of the beautiful porch and garden. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prichardmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights at the Black Squirrel Inn in Wooster, Ohio recently. Fong Wong, the Innkeeper, was a wonderful host and she and her assistants prepared excellent breakfasts for us. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the décor is lovely. An added bonus: the Inn is located within a block or two of the beautiful College of Wooster campus. It is a great place to go for a relaxing walk while watching squirrels prancing around among the stately oak trees; and yes, they are black. The next time we are in the area we will certainly plan to stay at this elegant B&B again.

Room Tip: All five rooms are pleasant; the three rooms on the second floor are a bit roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

On our way back home from PA we needed a place to stay. The B&B in Wooster we had stayed at the previous weekend was fully booked so we stayed at Black Squirrel. Fong was a wonderful host. She made us breakfast earlier than normal so we could get on the road for home. The room was clean and spacious. The price was great. Breakfast was tasty. My husband and I would stay agian!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveBB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent a delightful overnight at the Black Squirrel Inn in Wooster, Ohio. The inn keeper had donated an overnight stay to Central Christian School Auction. We bought the stay and decided to use it to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. What a nice discovery and so close to home. We will look forward to returning. And thank you for supporting Christian Education.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blessings606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

A night or two at the Black Squirrel Inn will make your stay in Wooster all the better. The location, a block from College of Wooster, is perfect for visiting the campus. Fong is a wonderful host, has a great knowledge of the college and the city, and serves a fabulous breakfast. I hope I have a chance to visit again someday. i recommend this Inn to anyone I know from the west coast who is travelling to visit colleges.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at the Black Squirrel Inn while visiting a College of Wooster Freshman. The location is perfect - less than a mile from the Wooster campus. The McIlvaine Room was very nice and comfortable. The bed was a little firm for my taste, but it certainly didn't hinder my sleep! The furnishings were lovely, the room and ensuite bathroom were spotless and the breakfast was delicious. Although only I stayed in the room, Fong and Jessica graciously welcomed my college friend for breakfast. Given another opportunity to visit Wooster, I will definitely stay at the Black Squirrel Inn. Thanks for the wonderful night!!

Room Tip: The McIlvaine Room is in the front of the house, facing College Ave. Quite a few trucks traveled th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank necmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wooster hotels
0.6 mi away
St. Paul Hotel
St. Paul Hotel
#3 of 8 in Wooster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wooster Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wooster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wooster
Hampton Inn Wooster
#1 of 8 in Wooster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Wooster
Days Inn Wooster
#6 of 8 in Wooster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Wooster
Rodeway Inn Wooster
#5 of 8 in Wooster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Squirrel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Squirrel Inn

Property: Black Squirrel Inn
Address: 636 College Ave., Wooster, OH 44691-2914
Location: United States > Ohio > Wooster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wooster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming restored 1880 Victorian, gracious hosts, an acorn's throw from the college. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Squirrel Inn Wooster, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing