We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never return - reservation wasn't honored, our room was given away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmington
Circleville, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will never return - reservation wasn't honored, our room was given away”
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We booked a 2 bed suite because we have a special, medical needs child. Our friends booked a regular room to be near us. When my husband arrived to check in, he was told our reservation was cancelled that morning at 7 am. I guaranteed it with a credit card. Later, after 10+ conversations with the staff, it was discovered the morning clerk had granted an extended stay to the people who were in the room the night before. This in turn, cancelled our reservation and left us w/o a room which would accommodate our needs (hence the reason we booked the suite with the refrigerator for medicine, space, etc.). I requested to speak to the manger 3 times and was told he only works M-F 7-4 but she called him at home and he said giving us $30 off a plain room was the best they could do. They "threw in" 3 1,000 point vouchers to help with the unavoidable situation (how can someone extend their reservation if someon else is booked in the room for the next day)??? We discovered the 1000 point vouchers expired a year ago so they aren't even valid anyhow. When I expressed this was unacceptable to me, it was explained take it or leave it, this is the best we could do. We were so unhappy but it was late at night and we had driven for 2 hours in a snowstorm due to a convention in the area. We will NEVER stay at the Wilmington HI Express again. We love the HI Express chain and have stayed many times. Depending on how this situation works out, we may never stay again. BEWARE - just because you have a reservation/confirmation and have given them your credit card, they don't have to honor it per Larry Hall - General Manager.

P.S. my credit card was charged twice on 2/21 - once for the original room and once for the room we actually were "allowed to stay in". Amazing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
7
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia suburbs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

The hotel provided me and my company colleagues with a free upgrade and the rooms (suites) were very spacious and comfortable. The high-speed internet, friendly staff and free breakfast was also very much appreciated. Clean, safe and convenient to a few local eateries. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — spacious suite
  • Disliked — had to leave after only one night
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

This is one of the finest HIexpress I have stayed in.
I was kind of worried after reading some of the reviews but based on my room #325.....a king non smoking....it was great. Very clean. Very comfortable bed, Nice new sofa that makes a bed (didn't try the bed in the sofa) nice coffee table, nice desk. The room had a fridge and microwave and a 32" flat screen LCD tv. All the furnishings and wall hangings in the room were very nice and up to date. The bathroom had a very nice vanity, it was a large cherry wooden cabinet and it was unique to any hotel I have stayed in. The bathroom also had all the aminities such as shampoo, conditioner, lotion and mouthwash as well as coffee maker. The free wifi was excellent and fast.
I would not hesitate to stay at this HIexpress again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjump25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Made a last minute reservation for a 3 day stay. No problems at checkin. The staff were very accomodating. The breakfast was above average.
If I go back to the area, I will return to this hotel. Others in our party stayed at the Baymont. They had problems with the staff and the room. They ended up transfering over to this hotel.

The pool area was clean and rarely used. We had the pool all to ourselves most days.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Seating in the breakfast area
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JB-Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2008

We stayed here one night while attending an event at the convention center. It is a good distance from the convention center, but close to shopping and reasturants. Rooms are pretty good and the continental breakfast was ok, but not anything to brag about.
Overall not a bad place to stop off for the night.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stones2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We stayed there on January 12 as part of a school group overnight trip. The hotel accidentally messed up the original booking dates and rates but quickly made it good with no hassle whatsoever. The rooms were adequate in size and had a desk, refrigerator, and free wireless internet. The breakfast in the morning was pretty much juice, pastry and cereal, but it was free so who can complain? Wilmington seems to be a growing and expanding town, and there was a shopping center near and more than an adequate enough of quality national restaurant chains to choose from. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor_P_SSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2006

My sweetie and I went here for a night of romance. We had the whirlpool suite. Room was large and clean. Had a fridge and microwave. The indoor pool was the perfect temperature and was not crowded at all. King bed was very comfy. The hotel in general was very quiet and provided us with a chance to kick back and relax for some adult fun. The price for the suite was reasonable at approx. 135.00 per night.

  • Liked — Comfort of The Room
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank putinbaydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
#2 of 5 in Wilmington
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wilmington Inn
Wilmington Inn
#5 of 5 in Wilmington
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington Court House Jeffersonville
15.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Washington Court House
15.3 mi away
hampton inn
hampton inn
#2 of 5 in Jeffersonville
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilmington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Address: 155 Holiday Dr, Wilmington, OH 45177-8763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Wilmington, your "home away from home!" Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located close to downtown Wilmington, Roberts Convention Centre, Robert's Arena, Wilmington College, and the ILN Airpark. Our complimentary shuttle is available to take you to Ferno Washington, Alkermies, Emsar Ahresty, Clinton Memorial Hospital, or any other local business in town between the hours of 8am and 4pm. While visiting Wilmington, Ohio, relax in one of our 75 newly renovated guest rooms featuring a 32" remote control LCD TV w/HBO. Upgrade your stay to a spacious suite room which includes a microwave & refrigerator, whirlpool tub or Jacuzzi. Enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot breakfast bar each morning, featuring melt in your mouth Cinnamon Rolls, fresh pancakes, and variety of other hot and cold foods. For your convenience, we also offer an indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Stay in shape by using our updated fitness center open daily 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing