We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Travelers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
Falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy Travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

After having a bad experience at a Super 8 nearby, we vacated the "awful" place and checked into Motel 6. Great value, clean rooms and happy staff! We have gone back and have not been disappointed! Our only complaint would be the lack of free internet. You can purchase internet at a very reasonable per day cost. Not outrageous so we did purchase it.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacLass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    26
    8
    26
See reviews for
28
23
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

I booked this hotel from the reviews here on tripadvisor. Well that was a mistake. I don't know who reviewed this place before but it was terrible. Cleveland in winter is not a place for an elevator that leaves you off to walk outside a very long way to your room. It was icy and freezing. Beware this place has an elevator but it takes you to the second floor and you have to walk outside to your room.

The room was dirty we found a big glob of hair in the bed. The heater was either way to hot or freezing. Towels were very thin and you could here the traffic from the road in the room. Some of the other guests were kind of creepy staying here. Not my idea of a safe place to stay. Never again. This place might be cheap but it was not worth the savings. Yuck! IF you want internet you have pay 3.00 a day extra.

Only good thing I have to say about this place is that the front desk lady was very nice and efficent.

  • Liked — Front Desk Lady
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

We chose the Motel 6 because it was right off the highway, only about 15 minutes from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and the price was great. It was a very nice place to stay for a night. The man at the front desk was very nice, and our room was very clean and comfortable. No Complaints. We'd definitely stay here again. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, as well as a CVS. Coffee all the time in the lobby, but no breakfast. Also, no AAA discount, but the price was so great you don't need one.

  • Liked — The room was clean and the bed was comfy.
  • Disliked — They forgot to leave shampoo in our room.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Racegirl219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at this Fairfield Inn. We were warmly greeted at the front desk, and check-in was quick and efficient. Our room faced away from the freeway, and it looked like it had been recently refurbished. All furniture looked brand-new and everything was very clean. Free Wireless Internet Access was provided. The breakfast buffet was good and adequate for the price of the stay.

  • Liked — Service, Rooms, Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast only until 10am on weekends! :)
  • Tips/Secrets — Consider this hotel if you don't have to stay in Downtown Cleveland
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StPaulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

I was a bit apprehensive in staying here when I realized i stayed here over 15 years ago- What's it like now? Well, no worries here. I stayed here for free using some of my Marriott points(it was the only Marriott property in the east/southeast Cleveland area that would only require 7500 points)

Anyway, the hotel has been well maintained over the years, and recently renovated, with new furnishings-including the new comfy Marriott bedding. The hotel is very clean, and includes a deluxe continental breakfast-including make your own waffles- a great surprise for a cotinental breakfast

My only minor pet peeve would be the tv. No cable, just 20 channels on satellite. If you're a sports junkie, you're OK-all four ESPN's. And four news channels is good for news hounds. However no shopping or food/home channels(much to my wife's dismay)

All in all, it was a wonderful stay, and we would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — it was free with my Marriott points
  • Disliked — lack of tv channels
  • Tips/Secrets — the 3rd floor rooms are slightly smaller with inside entrance
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2006

Our room was clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. An acceptable variety of restaurants in the immediate area is located adjacent to an apparently safe, mid- to upperclass residential area. The inn is very accessible to Cleveland.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RLC20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2006

The Fairfield is a good deal and affordable. The room was a bit small. However, the king size bed was more comfortable than what I expected for a lower-priced hotel. Toiletries are on par with a budget hotel (soap and shampoo, but no body lotion or conditioner). Free internet access in each room. Our room was clean and the lobby was very new-looking. Good location right off I-90. It's about 25 minutes to dowtown Cleveland, so if your travel iternirary includes a lot of events that are happening in the city, you could probably stay right downtown for only $10-$15 more a night (although you'll also have to pay for parking at downtown hotels), but it might be worth the extra expense to save travel time. Check in and check out were very fast and the clerks were nice. Other than that, we didn't need anything, so we didn't deal with the hotel staff at all.

As far as dining options, places like Damon's, Eat 'n' Park and Bob Evans are within walking distance. Not really our style, so we headed to a cute section of Willoughby that they call their "downtown." It's about a 10 minute drive from the hotel. It's really just a couple of blocks of bars, restaurants, coffee shops and anitque places. It was a nice day, there was a lot of foot traffic and people sitting outside what I've since learned is a local chain of Cleveland coffee houses called Arabica. Had a GREAT meal at Willoughby Brewing Company. As the name implies, they make their own beers. We each had a couple and they were pretty good. We actually returned to that neighborhood the next day to have lunch at Johnny Mango's...which has something for everyone....including vegetarian options, a juice bar and a full bar. Stopped off at the Arabica for a cup of coffee and dessert. It seemed like typical coffee bar fare.

Overall, it's an affordable, clean and safe place to stay. It's definitely not suited for a romantic getaway, of course. I'd say if you're doing things in downtown Cleveland but want to save money (Cleveland traffic is light, so it's easy to drive downtown) or visiting family on the east side, this would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LolaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willoughby
4.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
2.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Wickliffe - Cleveland East
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Stonehill Hotel & Suites Cleveland- Eastlake
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby

Property: Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby
Address: 35110 Maplegrove Rd, Willoughby, OH 44094-9692
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Willoughby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby Hotel Willoughby
Motel 6 Willoughby
Fairfield Inn Willoughby
Fairfield Willoughby
Willoughby Motel Six
Willoughby Motel 6
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing