We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and shady....you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty and shady....you get what you pay for”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Booked for an overnight stay before my sons baseball tournament in Painesville, Ohio. We have stayed at many hotels along the way and this has to be the worst one yet. It is cheap, but its NOT worth the savings in my opinion. The room smelled like a bar, the bed skirts were cheap and torn, the floor is dirty and the arm chair in the room is filthy with visible grease/dirt stains on the arms. Our room was also right next to the door to go outside to the balcony, so of course I hear the door slamming all night as people go in and out. I would NOT stay here again nor recommend it to anyone else. I don't know who is leaving positive reviews but it can't be the same hotel. I am not usually "hard to please" but this place is awful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to the exit doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    27
    8
    26
See reviews for
28
23
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here for one night before an event in Cleveland. Chose this hotel only because the hotel across the street was booked solid. First impression, walked into the lobby and got hit in the face with the smell of a moldy washer or perhaps sewage. The clerk at the front desk was helpful. The outdoor corridors smelled of urine. The decor was outdated. There were little black hairs ALL over the bathroom. No hair dryer. Get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Simple inexpensive bed for the night. Value price. Room was clean but older. Several restaurant choices around the property. We needed a place to sleep and this was perfect ... motel rooms are for sleeping after a day of hard wildlife photography ... met our needs just fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This property has changed hands many times over the years, most recently having been a Fairfield Inn. So when you check in expecting the typical spartan Motel 6 experience, you will be pleasantly surprised. The rooms are large and nicely decorated, and include a comfy chair and ottoman. Remember, though: It IS a Motel 6, so there is no hairdryer, no coffeemaker, and only the barest minimum of toiletries. There was not even a bedspread, but we were able to go to the office and get a blanket.

The AC worked well, and the bed was good for a Motel 6. The pillows were decent, and you get a fair range of cable TV channels.

I was worried at first because our room was on the top floor right next to the outside door, but it turned out to be very quiet throughout our week-long stay. (The constant hum of the AC/fan helped.)

The price for this facility is always fair and it is conveniently located immediately off of I-90 with easy access to 271 and the Eastern Suburbs. The hotel is nestled among many chain restaurants and gas stations, drug stores and other shopping.

No frills, but a good place to stay if you're in town visiting family and need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4theanimals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed here after a wedding. The place is very average. They don't provide much in amenities, but the price is fantastic if you are looking for a basic and clean room for an affordable price. Manager there was very nice. I'm still not a fan of any establishment using bulletproof glass at any point. I know it is for there safety, but it does not give the feeling of safety or classiness to a customer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at the hotel while visiting for a family wedding--chose this one over the place the wedding party stayed and saved a significant amount of money. But if not for that--and if it had been just a bit less inviting--I'd have opted for the higher priced hotel across the street instead.

Overall this hotel was acceptable--but just barely. It's very old and in need of some serious maintenance. The room was mostly clean--but some things didn't inspire confidence.

When I first walked into the room I considered leaving--it was so clearly bare-bones cheap, and clean enough in the most essential areas, but elsewhere not so much. The carpet was in need of cleaning. I scrutinized the bedding--found a long hair on the sheet, again I almost left. But other than that the sheets were sparkling white, wrinkled but very clean, and the bathroom sink and tub looked clean, so I stayed.

The bed was rather hard, and the blanket the thinnest paper-thiin blanket I've ever seen. I had to turn the heater way up to stay warm enough at night. There was a broken light fixture over the bathroom sink, the TV remote was missing (the desk clerk gave me one when I stopped by to ask), and the chair at the desk was about 12 inches too low (would have been extremely uncomfortable if I'd had to use it for long). The room is very small. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

So...for the money, it's a very basic place to stay. If you're a little fussy, you probably won't be happy. If you do stay, be sure to scrutinize the sleeping and bathing area for cleanliness before you move in.

(I had no interest in using the pool, but it looked awful--not clean at all.)

Room Tip: Might want to avoid rooms adjacent to the highway--could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dangelblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Pros:
- Reasonably priced compared to other options nearby
- Several dining options within short walking distance
- Convenient to major freeways nearby
- Clean room, new bathroom
- Wi-Fi available for a small fee

Cons:
- Problems with keycards functioning in doors and elevator (if you're on 2nd floor)
- Charged our credit card twice (but they corrected it on their own and put through an offsetting credit)
- Pool was not available for Memorial Day weekend (maybe only during high summer?)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndCatFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willoughby
4.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
2.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Wickliffe - Cleveland East
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
10.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby

Property: Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby
Address: 35110 Maplegrove Rd, Willoughby, OH 44094-9692
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Willoughby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Motel-6, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby Hotel Willoughby
Motel 6 Willoughby
Fairfield Inn Willoughby
Fairfield Willoughby
Willoughby Motel Six
Willoughby Motel 6
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing