We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills hotel close to highways, but don't expect to be impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Willoughby/Cleveland
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I needed a place to stay for a single night. The highways nearby were clogged and this was right where I needed to go, so I got a room for the night. I had read that some other places within 5-10 miles were less expensive, but I liked the location and convenience here. The front desk people were nice and set me up with a room and lots of nearby tips and directions. The room itself was basic, although it did have a safe, a little refrigerator, and a microwave, which were nice surprises. The room itself was a little old but had all the basics. The concerns mostly were around level of cleaning. I found little shards of broken glass just outside my door. (Somebody must have broken a bottle in the hallway and the cleanup was not thorough.) There were some hairs in the bathroom and the carpet. But the bed appeared to be clean and comfortable enough. My window faced right out to the parking lot near the front door and I would suggest a higher floor room if you go. The next morning I visited the continental breakfast and had some fruit and juice--the only other options were some lackluster muffins and cold cereal. But just having a breakfast option was nice. In summary, not a place I would take my wife, but sufficient for me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley_T9L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Willoughby/Cleveland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 478 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stay hear every year and we have noticed all of the new improvements that the new owners are making. we have noticed New Carpeting, Tile, Paint, New air conditioner, and the tub and tile looks refurbished. Dinos attached to the building is a GREAT Italian restaurant! The Front desk Person was very Nice and polite.
For a old Building its Starting to look nice, I will stay Hear again and again, Thanks For the Stay!! Joe and Kara

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pezamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I could write a mini novel about issues encountered with our stay here Aug. 13th and 14th, 2010 so I will try to just stick to the facts of what we encountered. At least two of the access doors to the building, keyed so room key cards are needed to open them (for safety reasons) were never locked during our stay so anyone could enter the building. There was a good amount of dog poop on the sidewalk outside the door we entered which was never cleaned up and we had to watch to make sure we didn't step in it every time we entered and exited the building. We also encountered a very strong cat urine smell in the hallways at various times throughout our stay. At check in we viewed 3 different rooms before we gave up and accepted the third one figuring they were all about the same. Our reservation paperwork stated the cancellation policy was in order to cancel it had to be by 4pm Aug 12th so I took that to mean we were stuck with what we had and couldn't get a refund and go some place else. Room 1 had lights that didn't work in the bathroom and there were black spots in the tub/shower area which looked like mold. Room 2 had a shower/tub area that also had the black mold and looked dirty and room 3's freezer in the refrigerator was frozen solid with frost so we couldn't put anything in it. All the lighting were dim so it made it hard to see to put makeup on or do much of anything that required better lighting. The toilet/tub area which was separate from the sink area, had what I believe was a 28" door and opening opening which was narrow and the tub had what looked like peeling paint/ resurfacing material all over the tub. The shower leaked at the faucets and painting/patchwork above it on the ceiling was bulging and looked like it could fall down at any time. There was a rusty hole in the metal door frame larger than a silver dollar and there was no ventilation fan. The room and hotel in general seem dirty in places and old and worn. The reviews that say the hotel was remodeled in 2009 make me wonder what it could have possibly been like prior to that because it does not look remodeled, especially in the bathrooms. The pool had leaves and bugs floating around and what looked like black mold along the sides and bottom and corners. When I told the front desk staff the first day of our concerns about our room and the access doors not being locked I was told by one person that they would try to do whatever they could to compensate us and fix the door issue but upon check out I was offered nothing but excuses in a matter of fact tone by a woman at the front desk I believe was management. I can not believe this place has the Days Inn name on it. I've stayed in other Days Inns in the past that were very nice but I would say this place is a dump with bad management. There aren't many options for hotels in the area but I would head to Red Roof which is across the street or try ANY PLACE else before I would resort to having to stay here ever again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Now that we are currently in our second room, after the first not having a toilet that flushed or even locked, the only rooms that were/are available are smoking! Luckly the poor maintence kid and I mean kid gave us a bottle of Febreeze. The front desk girl is sickingly sweet, but is in total disregaurd as to what people are asking for. WOULD NOT EVER GO AGAIN! We bought our own bedding, towels and such. Pubic hair in the sheets! Someone really needs to check out this place! And also after being told on the phone we could use our coupon of $55/ night she was unable to find the code in the computer. hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank charya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Nice clean bedding, excellent pool, location was great for us since my race started in Willoughby, but quite a way from Cleveland downtown

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staius_murcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This hotel is NOT worth your money. The curtains, walls and floor all clashed with each other. The bath had mold and was peeling off thebottom. I would NOT bathe my children in it. The microwave was so old I couldn't believe it could even turn on and the curtains were falling off. The bed wasn't terrible, but the pillows were awful. It was not that clean either. The edges of the carpet hadn't been vaccuumed in a long time and it just felt dingy. The breakfast was not healthy and had a limited choice. Don't stay here if you can help it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Management is quick to respond to any problem or suggestion from us! They are spending money & time to improve the appearance of the halls and rooms. They are friendly and helpful. It is 30 minutes to downtown to Jacob's Field and close to good shopping. The pool is excellent. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie1Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willoughby
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
4.1 mi away
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
432 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Willoughby/Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Willoughby/Cleveland

Address: 4145 State Route 306, Willoughby, OH 44094-9269
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Willoughby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
Price Range: $54 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Willoughby/Cleveland 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Days Inn Willoughby/Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Cleveland/Willoughby Hotel Willoughby
Days Inn Willoughby/Cleveland Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing