We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended - Our Expectations were Exceeded!”
Review of Whitehouse Inn

Whitehouse Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Whitehouse
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sylvania, OH
Level Contributor
116 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended - Our Expectations were Exceeded!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Whitehouse Inn was highly recommended as several friends' favorite restaurant - so although a bit of a trip, we choose it for our spot to enjoy on our 30th Anniversary. Boy - this place is busy! But we were very happy to sit at the bar to eat our dinner with no wait. The Bloody Mary's were spicy & delicious - huge olives and generous pours - the bartenders very attentive and friendly. I had the house specialty prime rib - the black & blue - it was excellent - perfect medium rare as I ordered. Next time I might try just blackened as the combo of the two seasonings was a bit much for me. (Although I loved my leftovers the next day, even cold!) My husband & I each chose the french onion soup - the best we've ever had - and they serve them with little scissors to cut the cheese! I forgo the many potatoe choices and had the grilled & seasoned asparagus as my side - so good! My husband ordered the seafood platter and it was so big! Two pieces of perch, 1 large tilapia, large crab cake, shrimp & tender clams with a side of seasoned waffle fries. What a meal - enough left over for his lunch the next day! After telling the bartender that we were celebrating our anniversary - she brought us a heavenly, decadent brownie dessert - two extra fancy squares - one with a mint topping - the 2nd with peanut butter on the house! Needless to say - we have been charmed and can't wait to travel back to try the other items on the menu. Couldn't help but oooh and ahhh at the food being served to the other guests!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrMrsHSylvania_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    36
    29
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food in a friendly & comfortable atmosphere”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Although we live within 15 minutes of dozens of restaurants, Whitehouse Inn is always one of our go to places to enjoy a delicious & comfortable dining experience. From the prime rib to the french onion soup to the large salads to the various fish dishes, there is something for everyone on the menu. Our children enjoy coming here as well. Portion sizes are generous and we rarely go home without leftovers. One of our favorite margaritas around, which we always like to enjoy on the outdoor patio in warmer months. The staff is friendly and very attentive to your needs. An empty plate will not sit on your table for long! Knowing our dining dollars are being spent locally is just icing on the delicious cake!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A friday night with friends”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went to the WShitehouse Inn, in Whitehouse, ohio on the 20 of Sept. Great servicen and the prime rib to leave home for, tgh atmosphere was great as they have done some remodeling to accomadate more people, Yes it is busy and I would recommend if you go macke sure you reserve in advance otherwise it would be what we call, lunch bag let down...anyhow would deffinetly returen and will.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fronko24, Owner at Whitehouse Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience and the new remodeling we completed in April of this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Love the homey atmosphere, you don't feel like you are in a big restaurant with the way the rooms are separated. We had a raspberry margarita and a Red-eye margarita, the liquor is top shelf and you can taste it... excellent drinks. The french-onion soup was so good, the cheese was melted down the side of the cup. They give you scissors to help cut through all that yummy melted cheese! You have to have their Prime Rib when you go, it was done exactly how we ordered it, and not a bite went to waste. The home fries were enough to feed an army, we plan to have the leftovers for breakfast tomorrow with some eggs! When we got the check I was pleasantly surprised at how reasonable it was for the quantity and quality of food. Will definitely be one of our 'go to' places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyv3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fronko24, Owner at Whitehouse Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We would be honored to be your "Go To" restaurant Sandy. It's funny how so many people enjoy the scissors we serve with the French Onion soup. It's great that we can be a part of your next day's breakfast. To go boxes are usually handed out to every table due to some of our large portions we serve. All of us here can't wait to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not Just A Restaurant!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We've made this great place our new home!

The atmosphere: We've always found it a joyous occasion! (That's why we recommend it to everyone we meet!)

The food: Some surprises!

1. The tomatoe dipping sauce for the cheeselogs has a unique taste!
2. The spaghetti sauce is nice and creamy. Hats off to the chef!
3. The French onion soup comes with its own little 'necessary' pair of scissors for the more than generous amount of thick cheese! (Appreciate that little tweak!)
4. Great vegetable medley! They even serve asparagus!!
5. Super, super baked potatoes!! And the French fries are so amazingly different you can even eat them cold the next day!! (Haven't found THAT before!)
6. The prime rib is, is . . . undescribable!
7. Portions are plenty enough to share!! Great savings for those of us who are watching our weight! (Even the men have walked out with to-go boxes! Can't beat that!)


The people who served us:

1. We are greeted warmly right at the door, and specially accommodated as to our needs and also our 'desires'.
2. The barkeeps are really attentive and keep the area nice and clean.
3. Courteous young lads and lassies clear our table mid-dining for our convenience. They've even gone out of their way to help in other areas.
4. The waiters and waitresses are ready and willing to cater to our likes and dislikes. And the girls remember the special touches we asked for on previous visits! Couldn't be more special to us!! (You know who you are!!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitehouse Inn also viewed

 

Been to Whitehouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing