We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Murphin Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Union
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Murphin Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 West Union B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I spent a Saturday night at the Murphin Ridge Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A fire pit with plenty of wood for guests to warm by on a chilly spring evening was a delightful way to chat with other guests and enjoy the sunset.
The dinner was exceptional. The squash and heirloom apple soup topped with pumpkin seeds and herb oil was one of the best cups of soup I've ever had.
The only suggestion I would make would be to offer more precise directions on the website.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
152
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had an adventure filled weekend. Always the food and accommodations we so very nice. BUT this time we had the added fun of learning about the Amish culture. Lecturer was very informative and the activities were engaging. We always leave the Ridge wanting to return again. Highest of recommendations from us.

Room Tip: Love any of the cabins but the Inn rooms with the small private porches afford the best views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were all set for a quiet weekend in the country with some downtime, great food, and some Amish environment. In addition we were invited (along with all other guests) to be part of an Amish weekend. It was a great experience and one that we will plan on repeating next year. The food on Friday was 4 star. Saturday's meal was shared with a local Amish family who added to the total experience. Our guest experts were Joe and Diana Donnermeyer and the hosts with the most were Sherrie and Darryl McKenney. Ther overall experience 5* minimum. We'll be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbw45140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Jack-of-many-trades at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Another successful Amish Weekend at Murphin Ridge Inn!
Prof. Donnermeyer is a true expert on Amish culture and we are very fortunate to have him share his knowledge with our guests. We are very glad that you enjoyed the Amish Weekend activites and look forward to seeing you again. Please let us know if you have any suggestions for next year!
-- Levi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a weekend away from the kids at Murphin RIdge, and we can't wait to go back! The owners, Sherry and Darryl, make you feel like family from the second you walk in. We stayed in one of the cabins, which was clean and romantic, with a fireplace, whirlpool tub, and shower for two. We enjoyed dinner, which was delicious, as was breakfast the following morning. The entire staff is great. Can't wait to return when it's warmer so we can further enjoy the beautiful grounds and hiking trails.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearcatBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Jack-of-most-trades at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We aim to make all our guests feel that this is their "home away from home" - just without the kids. If you feel like sharing your discovery with them, you can always bring them with you next time for a dip in the pool or a family game of shuffleboard. Then again, you could always keep this romantic secret to yourselves... Either way, see you next time !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galion, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This B & B, the owners, staff and food are first rate. We visited with two other couples and we all agreed that our stay here was one of our best B & B experiences. The property includes a wonderful woods for walking on many trails and a great place for bird n deer watching. You are also close to Ripley, Ohio which was once an Underground Railroad stopping point. I highly recommend this facility.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hooverjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Jack-of-many-trades at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Glad to hear that your group enjoyed your time with us! Since you are interested in the Underground Railroad - let us know when you are coming back and we can help set-up a tour for you at the Rankin House in Ripley. Thank you for taking the time to add your comments! -- Levi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our third stay at Murphin Ridge. This visit, we stayed in one of the cabins and found it heavenly -- once again. Sherry and Darryl and their entire staff are the perfect balance of welcoming warmth -- without being "too much." We have recommended Murphin Ridge to countless friends and acquaintances and will continue to so. It is the escape that we need all too often but never get around to arranging...

We disagree wholeheartedly with the negative comment about the coffee. We enjoyed it so much, we bought some to enjoy at home. We can't wait to return! Thanks to everyone for making our weekend incredible!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you! Come back a fourth time, anyitime! Nice of you to care enough to write!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was apprehensive when I was told I was going to a business retreat at a bed and breakfast in Adams County, Ohio. I had visited Adams county twice before and found it not worth the drive (and I only live an hour away). But the Murfin Inn is a gem of a place. Like many B&B’s, it is because of the hosts and how they have developed their property into a unique reflection of their character.

A little bit about the facilities. It sits on over 100 acres of land with most of them mature forest. There is a small, original farm house with the restaurant. There is a modern (recently built) main lodge with 10 rooms. And then there are 9 cabins on the edge of the woods. I stayed in one of rooms in the lodge. It has a common room with a piano, table, and chairs. The Individual rooms are large! Many of a gas fireplace (with pushbutton start or remote control). The bathrooms are large and have a sink/shower combination. The rooms have large windows and a bird identification guide. But the Inn rooms have little character – carpeted floors, modern feel, new furniture – not like an old Victorian bed and breakfast. This is very different from the restaurant – which has beautiful, old wooden floors, shaker style chandlers and furniture.

The cabins are the star here. They are huge, modern, and romantic. Just look at the website for pictures. The cabins are set in two groups, about 200 yards from the restaurant.

The food is excellent. They try to highlight healthy eating, local ingredients, and sourcing from the local Amish community. Breakfast was granola and local yogurt, pancakes, and bacon. The pancakes were perfect - the crunch from making on a cast iron griddle. They offered a morning cocktail of a mix of fresh-squeezed orange juice and cranberry. The coffee was good, not great (one of my pet peeves). As we were there for a business meeting, they offered snacks during the day. They had a plate of apple slices, celery, and local peanut butter – wonderful.

The area hiking is OK, but not Hocking Hills or Red River Gorge for length or interest. But Buzzard Rock is nice – more for the solitude. I was especially disappointed with serpent mound which has been underfunded to the point of depressing. The other feature worth noting is that the Inn has a 2 mile hiking trail on property – it was a bit wet when I went but nice. They provide a map in your room. Or you can just walk down the road - most people drive slowly because of the large number of Amish traveling the area.

The Inn is in the middle of an Amish community. We saw two buggies on the drive in. On the drive out, we saw an Amish man on a bicycle – but their bicycles have no peddles or chain. It is really just a scooter that a person sits on. There are lots of Amish shops in the area, but did not stop.

I found the Inn relaxing – it is incredibly quiet. If you are seeking solitude, you should find it here.

Room Tip: Cabins are amazing. I found the Inn Rooms a bit sterile for a B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Just sat down and saw your comments. Thanks! Your thoughts about Murphin are just. We are out of the way, by design. We hope relaxing for all who seek relaxation. Thanks for taking the time to tell us of your experience and do come back to the Ridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Union
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Seaman
Comfort Inn - Seaman
#1 of 1 in Seaman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
17.3 mi away
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
22.3 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 4 in Maysville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Brown's Motel
Brown's Motel
#1 of 1 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Murphin Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphin Ridge Inn

Property: Murphin Ridge Inn
Address: 750 Murphin Ridge Rd, West Union, OH 45693-9734
Location: United States > Ohio > West Union
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Union
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Murphin Ridge Hotel West Union
Murphin Ridge Inn West Union, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing