We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect baby-moon stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphin Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Union
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Murphin Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 West Union B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect baby-moon stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here (without kids) approximately one month before our third child was born. We had a great, relaxing stay; we went for a hike, read on the porch, and shared an amazing dinner at the restaurant. It was very easy to get here from Cincinnati, and we stopped at some of the Amish places on our way home. We loved this place and look forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizCincinnatiOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Come back when you need a rest from the wonders of family life. Thanks for taking the time to let us know of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
148
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrison
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Murphin Ridge Inn is located in Adams County, OH. Which if you're familiar with this part of OH you know it's pretty quiet. There is a small local Amish community which allows for some crafty style shopping.
While at Murphin you have 2 lodging options. We stayed in one of the cabins. LOVELY, clean and yep no TV's. From the looks of the comment book in the cabin it sounds like a lot of romances have been rekindles at MRI;) While sitting around the fire (fire pit lit and manned by MRI staff) all you could hear was the crackling of the fire and horses hooves (Amish carts) on pavement in the distance. Ahhh life is good.
Food options at the Inn are great. Breakfast was super! Dinner was also lovely but pricey.

Room Tip: This facility is designed to get away from it all. If you're not willing to do without TV you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks for your input. We consistantly work on quality and price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love Trip Advisor! With most things reviewed, you get as many differing opinions as reviewers; but when choosing an unknown destination, I rely on the majority opinion. Our first visit to Murphin Ridge was very similar to the majority other reviews . . . Excellent! Such strong reviews create high expectations but Murphin Ridge did not disappoint.

We stayed in Cabin #2 (Joe's Place) for 2 nights mid-week. The cabins are very well-appointed and clearly designed for the romantic / relaxing escape: privacy, gas fireplace, 2-person tub and shower, covered porch with rocking chairs, small refrigerator, wine glasses (and cork screw!), ice and no TV.

Food: Murphin subscribes to the local, "farm to table" view of cooking: fresher, more natural ingredients leads to better tasting dishes, and it pays off for Murphin. I am not a full-fledged "foodie" but I do value locally-sourced, non-processed, non-GMO options for fueling my engine so I appreciate restaurants that share in that philosophy and conduct business in that manner. The menu is not low priced but you definitely get what you pay for.

My only complaint, and it's minor, is that the walking path from the parking lot the the cabin area is not close and it's gravel so hauling luggage was more burden that it should be. Murphin had a couple wagon-type carts, both with flat tires so those were not much help. The staff should ask and provide assistance if needed, especially for the elderly (many staying there).

We were surprised by how many other guests had visited Murphin previously . . . repeat customers mean they are definitely doing something right. Based on our experience we are planning to be among those who visit Murphin year-after-year.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin over the lodge if you can swing the extra $75 per night . . . privacy and ambiance is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyjourney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Come back and see the Red Dog Express Carts and their new heavy duty tires. Your input makes us better innkeepers. Thank you! And thanks also for the very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We've been going to this wonderful inn for the past 13 years, usually in October when the leaves are at their height of beauty, and occasionally April. The owners are the best, the rooms/cabins perfect and food all locally grown, so meals are excellent. The setting is close to the city (Cincinnati), yet far enough out in Amish country that you feel far away. Clear skies (many stars at night), great walking trails, many Amish shops, and just superb relaxation. Our favorite thing to do is build a campfire in front of the main historic building any time of day or night and sit around with others who tend to return year after year, and enjoy the warmth and conversation. This place is a gold-star inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
  • 5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Wow! Our staff works so hard to make your stay a great one. I will pass your review on to them. It makes all of us so proud of our places here on the Ridge. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just stayed here for our 20th year! We consider it "our place." It's quiet, peaceful, romantic and the food is superb. We stay in one of the cabins so we can enjoy having a jacuzzi bath looking at the fire in the gas fireplace. The surrounding area has great hiking and great Amish food and furnishings. If you are looking for excitement and noise
, this isn't the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We hope to see you for the 21st! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

In 2010 we went to Murphin Ridge and got engaged. We got married in October 2012 and going back to Murphin Ridge for our honeymoon was a natural choice. The cabin was wonderful, the trails were beautiful, the food was outstanding, and the service was above and beyond. Each time we visited I made arrangements for surprises for my bride and the staff made sure things were just as I wanted them to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks so much for sharing some of the most important times of your lives together with us. Hope the road ahead together is smoothe. We'll keep the bumpy rocks at Murphin. Your kind words are appreciated by a smiling Murphin Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Murphin Ridge Inn is the perfect place for a weekend getaway. The country setting immediately puts you at ease, the food is worth writing home about, and the place is clean from top to bottom. I have only stayed in the inn, but I have heard that cabins are just as inviting as the rooms in the inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie924, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks so much for the "phenomenal " review. We appreciate the time and kind words. Come back when you need to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Union
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Seaman
Comfort Inn - Seaman
#1 of 1 in Seaman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
17.3 mi away
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphin Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphin Ridge Inn

Property: Murphin Ridge Inn
Address: 750 Murphin Ridge Rd, West Union, OH 45693-9734
Location: United States > Ohio > West Union
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Union
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Murphin Ridge Hotel West Union
Murphin Ridge Inn West Union, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing