We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”

EnterTRAINment Junction
Ranked #1 of 10 Fun & Games in West Chester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: EnterTRAINment Junctionis unlike any indoor family entertainment center on the planet! 80,000 Square feet of unmatched family fun featuring two world class attractions. At EnterTRAINment Junction, you can Marvel at the world’s largest indoor train display (that’s 25,000 sq. ft. of model trains on an enormous train layout), bounce, climb and crawl in a spectacular children’s play area, discover at our imaginative railroading museum, engineer your own locomotive around a track in a hand-cranked railroad car or ride our narrow gauge train ride, and enjoy the greatest funhouse on earth. It’s like an theme park and it’s all indoors!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My grandsons LOVE trains. They were not disappointed in the least. They have something for all ages.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ohio_Kimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    79
    26
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Entertrainment is new and fun every time we visit!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our kids love Entertrainment and always ask to go there on our twice yearly visits from New York City to Grandma Kathy’s in West Chester, Ohio. Catherine and John made the trek this week (their February mid-winter break) with their older 8 and 15 year old cousins, Mitchell and Denise (Ohio and Kentucky based).

We love doing the scavenger hunts (they have several really challenging 30-item lists and one easy one for the little kids) because it’s a lot of fun and it really makes you study the elaborate scenery as the 90 trains go by. My daughter is a stickler for finding every item while my son is the pure train buff, shouting out with excitement when several trains crisscross at the same time over the complex rail network. I marvel at the detail of the many scenery layouts -- all built with the help of dedicated volunteers -- and appreciate their historical period sequencing and architectural authenticity: scores of bridges throughout the exhibit reflect the engineering styles of the times. The lights dim on the sets occasionally to create fabulous night time scenes.

A beautifully designed (and really well-thought out) children’s play area in the middle of the tour lets toddlers to more active older kids run, explore, be creative and, more importantly, expend a lot of energy! It’s the perfect intermission and a destination of its own with an amazing climbing tower maze, carousel, and push button working railroad tables. There’s also a great museum-like section just beyond the play area that covers the history of American railroads, which is perfect for one parent or a teenager to cut away to while the younger ones burn off steam.

We always end up in the Junction Café for ice cream. It’s a fun indoor street area with a collection of buildings that makes it feel like a small town. The lady at the food station lets the kids pull a big rope that makes a loud train whistle sound, but not too many times! This year we checked out the Funhouse section. I always thought it might be too scary on past visits for our kids (ages 5 ½ and 7), but I was wrong. They had a great time! My younger son got a big thrill walking through the Outer Limits section a bunch of times, and my daughter couldn’t get enough of Clown College, especially the tilted room.

We’ll be back again in August to check out the new Coney Island amusement park section on the upper level. Construction was nearly complete on this visit and everyone loved watching the roller coaster careen around the curves.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle O, Manager at EnterTRAINment Junction, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
We're glad you're enjoying your visits! Thank you very much for the kind words and we'll see you in August! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good place for learning about train”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family visited here few month ago because my son loves the train. it was set for the children and order with the exhibitions and the history as well. it was smaller that we expected with a bit of cost. We went during the Christmas season with Santa there as well as the Christmas special exhibition, which gave us disappointment. We thought that it is good place for one time visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun and Entertaining”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Little children and old folks alkie will enjoy this small but feels large place dedicated to the American rail road. more than 90 Trains run full routes through the indoor building and they are expanding with an area that will look like an amusment park with working roller coasters when complete in the spring of 2013 (estimated)
The model railroads take you through time and areas of America where rail transportaion is key to the growth and economy of our country. it is itertwined with some levity of the cartoon world of Thomas the Tank engine, and dinosaurs. The detail is incredible to raccoons in a trash can to a car crash with actual damage to the vehicles and flashing lights on the police cars.
There is alos s side show area that is kin to a fair or carnaval that has the lopsided house and maze of mirrors. If in the area then it's a cool place to check out for $14 bucks per person.
The will need to contiually add new things to keep anual membership purchases ongoing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCpanther67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have been going to EnterTRAINment Junction since it opened. We have enjoyed watching the progress of the displays as they are updated with more and more detailed buildings and scenery. This is a great place to go if you like/love trains. It can hold the interest of many ages. There is a play area for the younger children. There are many areas around the displays that present many interesting facts about rail history.They also have a display/activity area that changes with the seasons/holidays.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EnterTRAINment Junction also viewed

Mason, Warren County
West Chester, Butler County
 
West Chester, Butler County
 

Been to EnterTRAINment Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing