We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Casa for a relaxing family holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Fontenla

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Fontenla Fachada
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Casa Fontenla
Fachada
Entrada
Salón
Salón
Comedor
Comedor
Cocina
Pasillo a las habitaciones. Dulces sueños.
Dormitorio
Dormitorio
Patio
Terraza y barbacoa
Jardín para jugar, relajarte
Jardín
Jardín
Porche para el orujito nocturno
Entorno/Localidad
Entorno/Localidad
Entorno/Localidad
Baño
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Campo Lameiro, Province of Pontevedra, Galicia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Frank103
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect Casa for a relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Casa Fontenla is a lovely traditional stone villa in a typical Galician hillside village 25 min from Pontevedra. It is spacious and tastefully modernised and well equipped inside. The bedrooms being on the lower floor, all with roller blinds, helps to keep the temperature down. We all loved the pool which is enclosed and very clean. There is a pretty courtyard behind the front gate, and the plants in the garden and the pots are cared for by Elena who lives in the village. She will also help you if little things go wrong (like a broken light bulb). Alberto’s home-made ‘Lonely Planet’ guide to the area was very helpful, as was his cousin Helladio’s advice on local events. We loved that the place is totally non-touristy. One can get the essentials in the village but for many restaurants, shops and supermarkets it is not far to Pontevedra and Marin. And just beyond Marin are many beautiful beaches (about 30-40 min from Campo Lameiro) with white sand which are almost empty for most of the day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingleder...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rural Retreat”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in the property for a week, with our grown-up daughter. Alberto and Clara were very friendly and helpful. They were there to greet us and not only helped us in with our luggage and showed us around the house, but also took us on a whistle-stop tour of the area, showing us the village, places to walk and the river, and giving us suggestions for what we could do. Alberto’s cousin and mother live locally, and were available to help with any problem, should we have had one.

The house is in an elevated position overlooking the valley. It is stone-built and cool, and there is plenty of space. The house is at the top of a very narrow lane and, although it’s quite wide enough for a car, we decided to park on the road at the bottom, which was no problem.

We bought most of our provisions from the village store and bakery, which was absolutely fine for the basics. We did supplement this with a few odds and ends from a larger supermarket in Pontevedra but there was no real need to do so. Pontevedra is about half an hour’s drive away, along a quiet, excellent quality and not too winding road. We didn’t try the local restaurant as it didn’t look great for vegetarians but that might have been our limited Spanish failing to interpret the menu! We did go to the O Peto bar, which was a few minutes from the property and provides free wi-fi (and friendly service).

Although the property is in a small village, the roads are good and it’s easy to get around. We went to Pontevedra (30 mins, highly recommended, a bustling town with a lovely historical centre – park for free by the bus station/university), Cambedos (45 mins, also very attractive and a base for a nice drive around the ria) and down to Tui on the Portuguese border (75 mins, overlooking the river with another delightful old town).

If you want a good quality property in a rural location from where other sights and towns in the area are easily available, we would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Experiencing life in rural Spain
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbaofac...
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent 18 days at Casa Fontenla on our trip to Galicia from Canada, and were absolutely thrilled with everything this holiday rental had to offer.
From the pool, to the authentic interior/exterior, to the breathtaking views from every vantage point, we were so pleased with everything.

The interior is very spacious and comfortable, even for the eight of us staying.

Alberto, Elena and Clara were so helpful in answering our questions before we booked and provided us the most helpful information on directions, local attractions, and other essentials.

Campo Lameiro has all the conveniences...a market, bakery, cafés, hairdressers, bars and other locales like Moraña, Pontevedra and Cuntis are relatively close by car. There is even a bus that goes to Pontevedra at least 4 or five times daily.

We loved our stay here and look forward to our next opportunity to stay in this beautiful home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pastoris...
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent 18 days at Casa Fontenla on our trip to Galicia from Canada, and were absolutely thrilled with everything this holiday rental had to offer. From the pool, to the authentic interior/exterior, to the breathtaking views from every vantage point, we were so pleased with everything.
The interior is very spacious and comfortable, even for the eight of us staying.
Alberto, Elena and Clara were so helpful in answering our questions before we booked and provided us the most helpful information on directions, local attractions, and other essentials.
Campo Lameiro has all the conveniences...a market, bakery, cafés, hairdressers, bars and other locales like Moraña, Pontevedra and Cuntis are relatively close by car. There is even a bus that goes to Pontevedra at least 4 or five times daily.
We loved our stay here and look forward to our next opportunity to stay in this beautiful home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montsesa2...
Sant Quinti de Mediona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2018
Muchas gracias Montse, estamos deseando que tu y tus amigos volváis a estar con nosotros. Un abrazo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ximnasiob...
La Coruna, Spain
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
Muchas gracias Maria José. Un placer teneros en Casa Fontenla
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Família S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: El magnífico equipamiento de la casa (tanto interior como exterior) y su ubicación
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Muchas gracias, un lujo tener huéspedes como vosotros. Esperamos volver a veros. Abrazos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing