We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for kayaking in the fall”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caesar Creek Lake

Caesar Creek Lake
Attraction details
DC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fun for kayaking in the fall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

First you can't expect much & shouldn't complain about a free state park. We used the boat ramp at the north end of the lake to put our kayaks in. Then we kayaked as far up the creek as possible (the water was low so we ended up getting stuck). We kayaked back to the lake & watched the birds hunt for fish. The leaves were changing colors & it was lovely watching the birds hunt at sunset. The water in this area was shallow, but not a problem for our kayaks & the many other people who were also kayaking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PSCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    12
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Ohio
Level Contributor
404 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Spent most of the walking around looking for something”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's a large lake that I wouldn't recommend swimming in. Some easy hiking trails but unfortunately I didn' t have any luck finding something "interesting".

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chattygirl7491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Pros: the area is beautiful. Rolling hills and trees, and the beach/lake area is beautiful.

Cons: the grass and sand areas are gross. Lots of goose droppings, so kids have to be watched carefully so they don't step in it or poke at it. You have to watch every step you take so you don't step in it, and also have to search for a non-poopy spot in the sand. Also, in my experience, there has been a fair amount of trash on the beach, like cigarettes, food wrappers, etc.

All in all, it's an OK place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank krisanderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you live in the area a MUST SEE. Tons of hicking places to go and the water is nice. Take a picnic and have fun!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disgusting, Dirty Mudhole”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Don't kid yourself. This lake is a glorified muddy puddle, and the so-called beach was absolutely filthy with cigarette butts, goose poop, food wrappers, etc. We stayed five minutes, then ran home to take a shower. Utterly gross.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Diane60785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caesar Creek Lake also viewed

Waynesville, Warren County
Waynesville, Warren County
 
 

Been to Caesar Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing