We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and close to stores”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wauseon
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wauseon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Eat at Sullivan’s downtown Wauseon very good food

Hotel breakfast very good

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 97 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

We were on a road trip from PA to Calgary. Wauseon was one of our stops for the night.

When you're on the road, the risk of a dodgy night's sleep is quite high.

Fortunately, the brand of Holiday Inn Express is very reliable and this hotel is one of the best ones for a good night's rest.

The room was very large and the bed and pillows just perfect. We slept like babies.

Also sound proofing is excellent - heard not a single noise.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yazhismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

High speed internet is pretty slow by today's standards. Probably not horrible for most people but when out here for business it definitely causes some issues. The hotel staff was great with the exception of one of the front desk clerks who was rather snappy and unhelpful. There is a pool on-site with a spa but the spa has been out of commission for some time. There is a washer/dryer on site as well but the dryer was also broken during my two week stay. The rooms were clean and fairly well kept, TV is still the old style CRTs and only wireless internet available. The biggest issue I had was the cigarette smoke smell that carried throughout the hotel including the room I'm staying in. I had to sleep with the bathroom exhaust fan on just to keep the smell under control.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lonely_Traveler_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlmoon, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wauseon, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

My sincere apologies to this guest for the issues encountered during their stay. The hotel is undergoing renovations at this time, and we are doing our best to minimize the impact to our guests. Some things, unfortunately, could not be avoided. I am happy to report that the spa is operational. We will be upgrading / replacing items such as the televisions & guest laundry dryer as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Holiday Inn Express staff were extremely kind and helpful. Shelly was great!!!! I travel
a lot with my job and it feels wonderful to find a place where service is excellent and it
is almost as good as being home.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pens874271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We really enjoyed the pool here. The temperature was just right.

The rooms were nicely decorated, and the beds were fairly comfortable. Housekeeping could do a slightly more thorough job. There was something crusted on the bed skirt, and we found a small bug in the bathtub. (We're not sure what it was, so we won't speculate on its identity.) But overall it was clean and nothing to get worried about.

Breakfast was quite good, compared to other hotels with complimentary breakfast. They had cut up fresh melon and assemble-your-own egg and sausage muffins, among other things.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue_n_Rich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed here for one night en-route to Newark. Staff were nice enough but not overly friendly. Room was really excellent - nice and big, good beds and good size bathroom. Breakfast was fine. The price/quality of the stay was very good - it is indeed in the middle of nowhere but very good for a stop-over.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZARDelft_Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed there from 8/5 through 8/8. We had stayed in a motel last year and didn't want to repeat that experience--there were beatles that invaded the room, breakfast was not happening, and the rooms were just shabby. So we paid a bit more for staying at the Holiday Inn Express. Let me just say, it was sooo worth it! The staff was very friendly, the rooms were bright and cheery, and the bed was truly comfy.

We saw there was a work out area and the breakfast area was well stocked and refreshed as needed. They had hot water for tea, hot chocolate, or oatmeal, there was coffee, milk, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cold cereal, buiscuits, gravy, bacon, scrambled eggs, toast, waffles, cinnamon buns and fruit. The breakfast area had several tables and chairs and also sofas facing a large TV.

There was a slight problem, the fire alarms kept going off everyday during our stay around 7:45am. It really wasn't a problem for us, we were up by 6am. We found out that the alarms sensitivity was causing it to go off when some of the guests were taking hot showers and not using the exhaust fans. The staff apologized about it but it wasn't a big deal for us. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mare723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wauseon
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wauseon
Days Inn Wauseon
#1 of 3 in Wauseon
218 reviews
21 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bryan-Montpelier
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Napoleon
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 1 in Wauseon
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
M-Star Hotel Wauseon
M-Star Hotel Wauseon
#3 of 3 in Wauseon
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wauseon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wauseon

Address: 8135 State Route 108, Wauseon, OH 43567-9663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Wauseon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wauseon
Price Range: $113 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wauseon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wauseon is conveniently located off of I 80/90, at exit 34 (route 108). Our hotel features an elevator as well as guest rooms equipped with mini fridges and microwaves in all rooms. Hotel features include free local calls and complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed Internet access and a business center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Wauseon is located near:Toledo Express Airport, North Star Bluescope Steel, Lear Corporation, Conaagra Foods, Plastech, Worthington Steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wauseon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wauseon Hotel Wauseon
Holiday Inn Wauseon
Wauseon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Wauseon Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing