We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch menu”
Review of Kam Wah 28

Kam Wah 28
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Wauseon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Kam Wah 28 Chinese Restaurant is located in Wauseon, Ohio founded back in 1994. Renovated inside and out in late 2014, Kam Wah 28 transformed into one of the best Chinese-American fusion restaurants in Northwest Ohio. We are currently listed as #1 Restaurant in Wauseon by Trip Advisor in early 2015 and we have new menus item every 6 months. Our menu ranges from our famous lettuce wrap to the newly developed Kamburger. Our healthy menu items are perfect for a quick lunch visit to a fancier dine-in experience for that special occasion with reasonable prices. Come try our Jumbo Shrimp Lo Mein, Beijing Pork Chop or even the Strip Loin Steak ' Great Wall'! We look forward to welcoming you to the best restaurant in Wauseon! Kam Wah 28 is headed by award-winning chef Kam Fok and his wife Kannie who are originally from Hong Kong.
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We had heard about this place, but not good things, however, we love Chinese food and wanted to give them a try. They have new owners, who have done great things with this place. The food is great, and so is the presentation. We went in for lunch, had a great selection, with soup, egg roll, entree with rice, it was a lot of great food. Our service was great and like I said so was the food. Would highly recommend this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank richardgregg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauseon, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WOW! Best Chinese Restaurant in Wauseon”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely Delicious! So glad we decided to give it a try. Love the changes they made at the restaurant. We ordered off the special menu that offered 2 entrees, soup, egg roll, rice & a soda for only $19.99. My husband ordered Cashew Chicken & I ordered Crystal Shrimp LoMein both were so tasty! The special touch like the fancy vegetable art & beautiful flower were nice to see at one of our local restaurants. Thanks for the great meal. See you again soon!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Golden0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“soup,egg roll,main course.Set dinner meal.”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I,ll be tell everyone i know that you got to have a try and they won't let you disappointed. You'll be very surprised for all the dishes those put on your table,beautiful presentation with artistic garnished, The flavor of the meal,taste so excellent. Service is really friendly and taken care of us so comfortable. Wow!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yiu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible food in a dingy, well worn restaurant”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We have never been here and not being impressed with the other chinese restaurant across the street, we decided to give this one a try. To sum it up quick: the food was not tasty and we were worried about getting food poisoning as nothing on the buffet that was supposed to be hot was hot and the dessert area was uncovered. No sneeze covering, but if someone coughed on or sneezed on the food, you could get ill. The owner seemed nice, he came out and greeted us and tried to be friendly.

However this does not make up for food that was terrible. Several things we tried on the buffet were disgusting tasting. I told my wife the best part of the meal was the chocolate pudding pie dessert that was obviously not made by them but a restaurant supply company. We will NOT go back again. I usually give a restaurant at least two tries if the restaurant looks like it is having a bad day. This place is off the list.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank bewee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanamakok, Owner at Kam Wah 28, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Dear beewee63 (sorry we do not know your name):

We appreciate your honest review of our restaurant back in 2011. We are truly sorry that the food was not hot and that you worried about the cleanliness of the place.

We realized it and took action by doing a full-scale renovation from 2013-2014 and we have completely changed the ambiance of our restaurant as well as the food. We decided to stay away from buffet and stay with what we were always good at which is higher-end single orders.

Now in 2015, we can honestly say that we have improved dramatically with the help of our friends in Wauseon and we are back to our roots with the inspiration to make better and healthier foods.

We hope that this time, you will choose Kam Wah 28 again as we are now #1 Best Restaurant in Wauseon.

Again, thank you for your time and we are trying harder. :)

Kam/Kannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kam Wah 28 also viewed

 

Been to Kam Wah 28? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing