We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has been close since June because of fire.”
Review of Chowders 'N Moor

Chowders 'N Moor
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Waterville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Waterville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This has been close since June because of fire.”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Any reviews found since June are wrong! I live in this town, and have been waiting for them to reopen, possibly in January. I can't wait! Food is excelant and well priced. Margareta's are great! We usally eat there 2 times a week. Pearch is excellant, and better flavor and price than you would get closer to lake erie, and it's bought at the same distributer.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“75 cent Taco Monday~Good White Chicken Chili”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The variety of food and the amount of food you get

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Bad Value, Expensive (for what it is), poor service and underwhelming food”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We went twice in a 10 day span (the second time to see if there were improvements on the initial visit - they're weren't).

The glutinous mass of white sauce and potato, with the odd chopped up clam was supposed to resemble New England Clam Chowder.

In price it did. in taste, it certainly did not.

Served sloppily, in a cup, by a waitress who was disinterested in her clients, this was the beginning of an unmemorable meal.

Sandwiches, on both occasions, were inedible.

On both occasions soups were lukewarm.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PBRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
1 review
“They Charge way to much for the value”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I have been eating at chowders for a few years now. This last vist was quite terrible apparently they are cutting back on portions and it is quite obvious. I understand them wanting to charge 16.99 for a dinner however this resturant is not that nice so you expect larger portions. The prices have always been high but they do make up for it by the larger portions. The portions are way to small of the tiny amount of food given. Very dissappointed.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neatbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Be prepared for sticker shock when you see the bill!”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This place is very pricey for a soup sandwich type place. To start with our waitress did not have much knowledge of the restaurants menu. They advertised fish tacos as a special but she had no idea how much they were or how they were served. She didn't even bother to find out after I questioned her while ordering. I just gave up and ordered a Philly steak sandwich. My wife got a fish sandwich and the kids a couple of overpriced kids meals.

The Food
I ordered a bowl of french onion soup that came out barely warm, not what I was expecting. My sandwich was average with some chips. Wife not impressed either.

The kids meals were mac and cheese. What they failed to mention was that the mac n cheese was so piping hot like it came out of a microwave that my 5 year old burned his mouth. Did not appreciate that.

What I dont understand about this place is the prices. I am amazed this place is still in business for what they charge. There is no way lunch should cost over $50 for 2 adults and 2 kids. We are talking sandwiches and mac n cheese!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buzzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowders 'N Moor also viewed

 

Been to Chowders 'N Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing