We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but wait for specials” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chophouse

The Chophouse
Ranked #1 of 126 Restaurants in Warren
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ohio
Level Contributor
204 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food but wait for specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The food is great, but I would not pay full price since the regular prices are very expensive. They have several good deals. The decor and staff is very nice.

Helpful?
Thank cjkines1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    52
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best meal I've ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

To make a nice evening out at a restaurant, several elements are crucial:
setting: you can dress up a bit, or come in off the golf course.
service: our waitress was simply the best. Instead of asking, "Is everything all right?" she asked, "Isn't it just perfect?"
And it was!!!!!!!!!!!
Food: the selection is large, and my steak medallions and crab cakes were cooked to perfection. makes me want to get a job there!!!
Value: Go before 6 pm and you'll be amazed at the low prices!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, La
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Completely Overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've been a long-term guest at the hotel next to the Chophouse while I am in town for work. I have visited three times total and been mostly disappointed overall. For the price you pay, the food is completely sub-par and the service has been terrible each time. My husband actually came to visit me and we made The Chophouse our last meal. It took nearly 10 minutes of waiting before we were approached for a drink order. The steaks are good quality, but there was no seasoning on them at all, so the flavor was blah. My husband found a piece of paper in his mashed potatoes and when we told the waitress, the response was completely indifferent (and I would've expected a manager to visit, but apparently he had more important thing to attend to at the bar). The fact that I paid nearly $100, had paper in the food, steaks with no seasoning and wait staff that didn't seem eager to please (or in any kind of hurry) was just disappointing.
Also, on another occasion I was there, a coworker found out there is a price increase from ordering a drink at the bar and ordering at the table (this was asked about/complained about and it was NOT a happy hour, just more money while in the dining room. Doesn't exactly seem right to me.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fer1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“horrible horrible service... ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

we were semi greeted by a hostess, who was on the phone.. not taking reservations, not taking a to go order, but talking on the phone casually... she asked how many and where we would like to sit, while on the phone , we were seated immediately.We then waited 15 minutes, before my husband had to go ask if we could ge waited on.Another 5 minutes and we put in our drink order, and the appetizer at the same time. The appetizer came out BEFORE OUR DRINKS!!! Appetizer was angry lobster rolls... they were pretty good. We ordered our food , I ordered the filet sinatra(filet , hot peppers,mushrooms and onions in marinara) pittsburgh rare, my hubby ordered the ribeye medium.... temperatures were mixed up on both steaks....but both tasted good.we didnt want to wait any longer. to fix... my husband ordered another drink and had to ask if they could get it after waiting 15 minutes. The dessert was incredible(baklava sundae... we split it!) service was horrible!!!... food was pretty good.... price was on the high end... atmosphere beautiful.. we dont think we would go back or recommend...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loroOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIENNA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The absolute best value in the area.The food is excellent and the view overlooking the golf course just adds to the best dining around.The $15.95 special cannot be beat.the filet of sirloin and filet mignon were tender and juicy. the "cherry fries" are great, as is the lobster mac & cheese, very good bloody mary also. the staff is excellent and very friendly and they can answer and questions about anything on the menu. this is "the place" you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WILLIAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to The Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing