We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A hidden gem in Ohio!

Really enjoyed this place! Smaller than many regular museums that you might go to but so... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
enjoyslife3
,
Chicago, Illinois
Great piece of space history

I visited this place and enjoyed it. A very cool collection and documentation of space history... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
chia350
,
Clarkston, Michigan
via mobile
Read all 245 reviews
  
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
113
104
22
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
104
22
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moon rock space travel minute movie early space apollo mission lunar landing gift shop interactive exhibits apollo capsule great artifacts john glenn worth a stop aaa discount personal items hands on activities on display walk thru
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed this place! Smaller than many regular museums that you might go to but so interesting. It is in the hometown of Neil Armstrong right off of I75. Easy to get to. Interesting movie of the moon landing - things you knew but forget the specifics. Great exhibits - I love all of the newspapers from that time that are in protective covers to keep preserved. They are working on an expansion - no doubt for the 50th anniversary next year. Take the time to go - you will not be disappointed.

Thank enjoyslife3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this place and enjoyed it. A very cool collection and documentation of space history. This place is great for kids or adults. There is a mix of things to read and interactive exhibits. Along with some great artifacts and a short movie in the dome. I did the whole walk thru in about 1.5 hr. Many items here are on loan from the Smithsonian.

Thank chia350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I love everything "space" and was looking forward to visiting this museum. I was not disappointed. Great collection of memorabilia for Neil Armstrong as well as the space program in general. It's bigger than it looks from the outside. Fair admission charge. Movie is good. Gift shop employees friendly & helpful. Only negative.... Numerous displays and write-ups with spelling and grammar mistakes. Ok--I'm a teacher, forgive me! Just kind of annoying.

2  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

AAA Discount Availabe. Inexpensive entry @ $8/adult. Roughly 60 minutes to get through with the video presentation. Most of the exhibits are dated and focus on the early stages of the U.S. space exploration programs, and Apollo 11 with Neil Armstrong. There are a few stations, for lack of better word, that are similar to a video game where you try and navigate a spaceship and dock or land to entertain you a few minutes. There is a lot of reading material and a few short video reels along the way. Parking is free.

For the price paid, we were satisfied with what we received. It is not large like Kennedy Space Center, but it has the basics of space exploration with a focus on Ohio astronauts and Neil Armstrong in particular. Recommended if passing through. The location is north of the interchange to Ft Wayne, making it an easy stop before jumping back on the highway headed home.

1  Thank runaway2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Great place! We enjoyed seeing all the memorabilia. My kids 5 and 7 liked it. Great stop for a couple hours.

1  Thank DrMatt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

I thought the museum was very enjoyable. It's not very large but there are some nice displays and artifacts. The movie was enjoyable. Allow about an hour or two and you'll be able to see the movie and look at the displays. The plane outside is very neat, a rare plane.

1  Thank Shaymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

If you have been to the Kennedy Space Center, this will be kind of repetitive. However, if not and there is any interest in the history of space travel and/or you are traveling within the proximity, it is definitely worth a visit. Some of the items from the Apollo 11 mission include a moon rock, an American flag and a Neil Armstrong spacesuit.

Other areas of interest include collections of items used by astronauts in space – inventions, soda cans and other essentials. There is a creative display using a brick – demonstrating the weight difference between being on the moon and here on Earth. Try it! Short films about space travel are shown in the theatre. There are also displays about previous Space Shuttle missions…and much more.

1  Thank DinesEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

I didn't think I would like this museum as much as I did. It was an interesting and informative visit. Had a nice 30 minute movie to watch and lots of history here.

1  Thank steveaz2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Driving on I75, we decided to stop at the Armstrong Air & Space Museum. We spent about 3 hours visiting. We like history and space so we read everything. There was a moon rock on display which really impressed us. The historical space info stops around 1999, but the museum worker said they are in the process of adding to the museum with more up to date information and exhibits.

1  Thank GrandTour771706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

If you are proud to be an Ohioan then you should visit this museum. The museum is laid out very nice & only takes a couple of hours to get through. This includes a short movie where Apollo 11 lands on the moon & takes those humbling first steps. There is a wide variety of history here not only with the U.S. Space program as most of us remember it but also much of the early testing & the space race with the Russians. Many interactive kid kiosks in the museum keeps the experience exciting for everyone. There is a small gift shop. As I visited there were also activities on the lawn where they were setting off hobby size rockets & there were space themed bouncy houses for the kids. I didn't understand if this was an occasional or permanent addition but it added to a positive ambiance of the visit.

1  Thank Darryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews