We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, peaceful and quiet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlisle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walnut Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlisle Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very clean, peaceful and quiet.”
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We have stayed at the Carlise in Walnut Creek several times and the Carlisle in Sugarcreek once. The only problem is they set the bar so high for cleanliness every other hotel seems filthy. The staff are always pleasant and helpful and the rooms are tastefully decorated with quality amish furniture. The balconies have wonderful views. It's a little pricey but so very nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinsgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    39
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
106
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We have booked this inn for our group twice now. Wonderful place! Each room is decorated differently. Rooms on both the front and back have wonderful views of the Amish-area countryside. Front desk is very friendly, rooms are nice, great to have two sinks and a dressing area in the queen rooms. The king room we stayed in last year was huge with a sofa and large TV. Called for an additional blanket, and it was delivered within five minutes by a friendly hotel employee. Hotel kept our meeting room supplied with ice and coffee. Very friendly staff overall!

Nice shops and great restaurant, all within walking distance. Great bakery next door, and wonderful chocolate shop next door on the other side.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbk96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My husband & I had wanted to go somewhere special for our 35th wedding anniversary, but somwhere quiet, peaceful, with atmosphere. Somewhere where we could relax and not be bombarded with a giant crowd. The Carlisle in Walnut Creek was perfect to say the least. The suite we had was so special. Wonderfully decorated ( appreciated more by me than the hubby, but he loved it as well) housekeeping & hotel staff went above & beyond and the rooms were spotless. And the view?...breathtaking! Before we even checked out, we made reservations for next yrs. anniversary and I am counting the months. Thanks Carlisle Inn for making a special occasion even moreso. See you in May!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

My wife and I have tried for many years to reserve a room at this Ohio Amish country inn in Walnut Creek. We finally got to stay there this past weekend. The Inn is beautiful and the room was very well furnished and immaculate. Housekeeping was A-One. Not a speck of dirt or dust in sight and the linens and towels and bathroom were spotless. Very nice. The view from our third floor balcony was just as nice....if you like gently rolling hillsides and low fog lingering in the valleys at daybreak. Beautiful. We had two complaints though....first, the bed was as hard as a rock. No....it was harder than a rock. Neither my wife nor I slept more than 2 hours and we both got up in the morning with aching backs, shoulders, hips and knees. I think we would have gotten a better nights sleep on the plush and spotlessly carpet. Second, the breakfast was nothing to write home about. You can receive the same continental fare at any hotel in Anywhere USA. I guess we expected a little better. Maybe we just got the one room with a rocky road mattress but I don't think we'll take the chance again. Next trip to Walnut Creek we'll be staying at the Hampton Inn in New Philadelphia about 15 miles away and right off the Interstate. Also, just for additional information....cell phone coverage anywere in Walnut Creek and Berlin is almost non-existant. Spotty at best.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guido1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,383 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Like all previous reviewers have stated, this inn provides a quiet, peaceful, relaxing place to stay while in OH Amish country. A friend recommended this inn and I am glad they did. The other reviewers have simply stated all of the wonderful and positive things already and there isn't much for me to add. That is a good thing, right? The parking lot is large and the lower level can accomdate trailers or campers, if needed. There, I added some valuable info to the list of wonderful attributes this inn has gotten. LOL. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will visit again one day. The only thing I can suggest to the innkeepers is the placement of the very comfortable loveseat that was in our room. You could not see the TV from it at all. Maybe placing it so you could see the TV would be helpful, in case a visitor does not want to sit on the bed. Otherwise, I thank the staff and my friend for recommending this place (a fellow Trip member), it was the perfect place to get some much needed rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

When we arrived at the Carlisle Inn at Walnut Creek, OH., for a two day stay with friends, we found our first night reservation had been registered for the wrong date. Since the inn was full, the Inn Keeper generously provided beautiful executive accomodations for us in the Carlisle at Sugar Creek Inn nearby. She saved our weekend!
The next night we were at the Carlisle in Walnut Creek, our original choice. We had a wonderful time. In both inns the accomodations were very clean, comfortable, quiet, relaxing, and in the heart of beautiful scenery. The complimentary, self-serve breakfast featured a large choice of delicious food from which to choose. There was a lovely fireside room to read a book, play games, play the piano, surf the web, and snack on freshly popped popcorn. The atmosphere was friendly and cozy, not alot of frills, but everything we needed. We will definately stay at the Carlisle Inn again when we return to Walnut Creek, Ohio.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelma53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

While in Amish Country, Ohio, we stayed at the Carlisle Inn in Walnut Creek. We had four families staying with several small children. They are definately children friendly. The rooms were larger than most hotels we have stayed in and beautifully decorated. The staff was very friendly and nice. They made us feel like they were there to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was delicious with thick, sliced homemade bread from the Der Dutchman restaurant next door, homemade cinn. rolls, sausage, boiled eggs, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee, and tea. The breakfast lady was extremely kind and was very concerned that everyone in our party received enough to eat. They have a lovely balcony off the breakfast room that we sat on till late the night before and fellowshipped and then we all ate out there the next morning and enjoyed the clip-clopping of the amish horses. The view was magnificient: so peaceful. We enjoyed it so much, we are planning on another trip and we will be staying at the Carlisle again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karinanoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.2 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
272 reviews
5.2 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
518 reviews
4.0 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
273 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Inn

Property: Carlisle Inn
Address: 4949 Walnut Street (SR 515), Walnut Creek, OH 44687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally called Carlisle Village Inn, our hotel at Walnut Creek affords our fine Guests an exceptional view of local, Amish farmsteads in the Genza Bottom Valley to the north and Mudd Valley to the south. We've recently added beautiful quilts in every room, including hand-stitched Amish made quilts in our king suites. Our newest addition is a fitness room with a view of the valley. We are happy to provide in-room Starbucks coffee and spa-quality amenities by Gilchrist & Soames. Carlisle Inn Walnut Creek is conveniently located in the charming town of Walnut Creek, Ohio. Delicious Amish kitchen cooking and unique shopping experiences are within walking distance. Walnut Creek is central to the finest attractions in Ohio's Amish Country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlisle Hotel Walnut Creek
Carlisle Inn Walnut Creek, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing