We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas”
Review of Carlisle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walnut Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlisle Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

For more than a year we have worked with the kind folks at the Carlisle Inn hoping to have a gathering of our two families for the Christmas season. It started with a gathering using one of the large meeting rooms, for our families to meet each other. Amy was a tremendous help with every detail. She was so warm and kind! She made us both feel very welcome and wanted! Our private room was spacious and beautiful! Amy left some home-made cookies among other things for us with a beautiful card from the staff. She helped us understand the dinner arrangements next door at the Der Dutchman Restaurant. Everyone had wonderful things to say about our gathering!

Chris and Tammy really helped us with our stay as well! They made "Max" (our German Shepherd) very comfortable as well. Although we needed him as our medical companion, we were concerned about his needs too. They both helped us relax with Max and showed a great deal of love and concern for us. Thank you to all the staff at the Carlisle Inn for an amazing stay! It could not have been any better!

Room Tip: All the rooms have names and they all seem to have comfort and peace like the Inn advertizes. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith Bowling J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    41
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
109
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City,Mo.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been a frequent visitor of this Inn.. Each time has been such a WONDERFUL experience. that we make it a point to stay there every time we visit the Cleveland area. The over-all feel of the hotel is peaceful elegance. The common areas as well as the rooms are beautiful with attention given to each detail down to Starbucks coffee, regular glasses and mugs (no styro or plastic) and fluffy towels in the room. Each room is named and decorated differently so each visit gives a new feel. Beautiful woodwork, wallpaper, Amish quilts, decorator accessories, floral arrangements work together to follow the theme of the spacious room. Comfort is the goal, with a vanity in the bathroom, as well as in the large dressing area. Beds and ample amount of pillows insure a comfortable and peaceful sleep. Each room has a beautiful view of the rolling hills and farmland out the wood and brass trimmed patio doors that lead to the balcony. Despite this hotel being older, the property is maintained implacably with never any signs of wear, This is a credit to the staff..
One can also experience relaxing in the beautiful sitting areas near a roaring fire, where puzzles and board games are provided. Walk down the large winding staircase to another sitting area. Chairs and tables are also placed in the spacious hallways. The hotel has a large front porch complete with rocking chairs to relax out front to admire the beautiful flowers that adorn the grounds of the hotel. Breakfast is provided as well as snacks in the evening. The restaurant next door is equally amazing, and their gift shop across the street is a must to visit. Staying here is a peaceful escape from the hustle of everyday life!! Staff has always been courteous and helpful!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with views overlooking the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suntist13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We travel up to spend time in the Amish community at least once a year. If you need a change of pace from the rat race, then this is for you. We usually stay here and at 1 other hotel in the area. Very nice and close to shopping. Although there is an eating establishment next door, the breakfast bar at the hotel is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geezer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Campo, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, 11/26 - 11/28, we would have stayed at least one more night but they were booked solid. My 92 year old mother and my sister had a two bedroom suite, my wife and I had a room with a double bed. Both the room and the suite had a nice view, the inn sits on a hilltop. Lamps down the hall with Christmas decorations. Staff personal were super nice. Homemade chocolate chip cookies every evening. Coffee maker in the room stocked with Starbucks coffee. Our rooms were spotless. Quiet, we never heard another guest or cleaning personal. You can look out the window about anytime and see an Amish buggy going by. It was snowy and cold or we would have made use of the balcony. There were several lovely places inside to sit and visit with other guests, or as in our situation, with relatives who live in the area. The price was considerably cheaper than the Hampton Inns in the area.

The breakfast was continental style, boiled eggs, packaged waffles that could be microwaved; an assortment of bread, bagels, etc to toast; cold cereal, all adequate but not quite what we are used to these days, with most chains offering hot breakfasts. If you want a good hot breakfast, they will give you a discount voucher for the Der Dutchman next door which has one of the best breakfast buffets that I have seen.

We would highly recommend this inn to anyone, unless you are traveling with pets, no pets or smoking allowed in the rooms, a policy which we appreciate.

Room Tip: I would advise requesting a top floor if you appreciate looking out the window. Each room has a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, ky
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Carlise Inn at Walnut Creek is an excellent base to see the sights and sample the foods of Ohio Amish Country. The inn is located on a hill top overlooking the rolling farm lands of the Amish. The rooms all are spotless and well dsigned for your comfort. Separate bath and dressing areas are a very nice touch. The popcorn and cookies each evening are certainly appeciated. The staff is so welcoming and accomodating it really adds a note of comfort to your stay. This was our third stay and we will be going back again, I am sure.

Room Tip: You want one of the rooms that is at the back overlooking the farms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noble H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Carlisle Inn the weekend of 9/13-9/15. Our room on the second floor was clean, comfortable and pretty. The views are spectacular! We liked the bathroom setup, where there were two sinks and a walk in closet. We also liked how quiet and peaceful the inn was. Highly recommended.

The area could use more diversity in places to eat, but otherwise it's excellent

Room Tip: Second floor or third floor on the right side of the hotel (Odd number rooms) have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is immaculate wherever you look--inside and out. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay memorable. It is a quiet, relaxing place that makes you want to return asap. We have not found any hotel comparable to this facility. The environment is safe and so reassuring.

Room Tip: WE have stayed here twice and have been more than satisfied. We make this our home away from home wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.2 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
279 reviews
5.2 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
604 reviews
4.0 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 4 in Berlin
239 reviews
3.8 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
278 reviews
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Inn

Property: Carlisle Inn
Address: 4949 Walnut Street (SR 515), Walnut Creek, OH 44687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally called Carlisle Village Inn, our hotel at Walnut Creek affords our fine Guests an exceptional view of local, Amish farmsteads in the Genza Bottom Valley to the north and Mudd Valley to the south. We've recently added beautiful quilts in every room, including hand-stitched Amish made quilts in our king suites. Our newest addition is a fitness room with a view of the valley. We are happy to provide in-room Starbucks coffee and spa-quality amenities by Gilchrist & Soames. Carlisle Inn Walnut Creek is conveniently located in the charming town of Walnut Creek, Ohio. Delicious Amish kitchen cooking and unique shopping experiences are within walking distance. Walnut Creek is central to the finest attractions in Ohio's Amish Country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlisle Hotel Walnut Creek
Carlisle Inn Walnut Creek, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing