We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet....”
Review of Carlisle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walnut Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlisle Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet....”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Carlisle Inn 3 times. It is very clean, bed comfortable and decor reflects the Amish influence. We had a spacious corner room - lots of windows and a lovely view of the surrounding area. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was just ok, but the restaurant next door serves fabulous Amish style food. We will be back, either here in Walnut Creek or the Carlisle Inn in Sugar Creek.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    46
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
115
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in the Executive Suite. The room was huge and beautiful. The scenery was breathtaking. The continental breakfast was very good. The only downside was that it was very noisy out on the balcony, and the front desk help wasn't the best, but otherwise you felt very pampered in such beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HorseloverWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSHaun, General Manager at Carlisle Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.
I apologize that the service you experienced at the front desk was not satisfactory.
It is our desire and passion to consistently give our guests exceptional and memorable service.
I am glad that the other aspects of your stay were enjoyable.
I do suggest reserving a room on the backside of the inn, facing the valley, as it tends to be quieter than the front side (facing the street). We would love the opportunity to serve you again.
Thanks again for your comments and hope you have a blessed summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntigntown
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a very nice property with clean rooms and a very good staff. The breakfast room is quite large and very comfortable. The public areas make for nice places to chat with friends or just relax. It is in a very good location off the main highway but still very close to all the popular tourist attractions. The view from the rear room are better than those from the front side of the building.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffin, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean, friendly and safe. The bed was very comfortable, the room was a nice size and the added bonus is a balcony from which there are fabulous views of the surrounding countryside. It is an older style property but has been well renovated complete with great free wifi reception and flat screen TV. Fresh coffee and scrumptious cookies available in the lobby at all times as well as water with or without lemon in the breakfast area. Plenty of food choices for breakfast with the renowned Der Dutchman restaurant right next door or for a healthier lunch choice, Rebecca's Bistro is a short walking distance away.
My husband was attending a conference at the Carlisle Inn and I was out and about exploring, great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KieronCTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at a Carlisle Inn. They exceeded our expectations. I was able to reserve the one of their Bridal Suites that a large hot tub in the bathroom and nice size sitting area and a seperate bedroom. The king size was very comfortable along with being decorated with a very nice Amish quilt. The loving couple package we got was fantastic; it included a bottle of Sparkling Grape Juice, two glasses, and chocolates. Enjoyed the free contential breakfast was delicous, does help having one the best bakeries nearby for the rolls and donuts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights here for our anniversary. We have visited the area several times but this was our first overnight trip. We loved the quilts on the comfortable beds, and the seperate dressing areas with sinks. Even the hallways gave a comfortable homey feel with tables, loveseats and chairs. The breakfast with Amish breads and delicious sausage was exceptional. We didn't feel the need to go elsewhere and pay for breakfast. Clean rooms and very friendly staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentine1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A recommendation from our neighbor is gratefully appreciated. From the first moment we arrived we were treated like VIPs. It was my wife's 50th birthday and she had a great experience. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite with jacuzzi. The view was amazing and being intertwined with the Amish community made the experience very memorable. Room was exceptionally clean as well as the entire hotel. Cookies and hot coco at night in lobby and a decent continental breakfast in the morning. Will visit in the future. Thank you to the hotel staff for making such a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the rear of the building. The view out front is O.K. but rear is exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.2 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
309 reviews
5.2 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
732 reviews
4.0 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
282 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 4 in Berlin
246 reviews
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Inn

Property: Carlisle Inn
Address: 4949 Walnut Street, Walnut Creek, OH 44687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally called Carlisle Village Inn, our hotel at Walnut Creek affords our fine Guests an exceptional view of local, Amish farmsteads in the Genza Bottom Valley to the north and Mudd Valley to the south. We've recently added beautiful quilts in every room, including hand-stitched Amish made quilts in our king suites. Our newest addition is a fitness room with a view of the valley. We are happy to provide in-room Starbucks coffee and spa-quality amenities by Gilchrist & Soames. Carlisle Inn Walnut Creek is conveniently located in the charming town of Walnut Creek, Ohio. Delicious Amish kitchen cooking and unique shopping experiences are within walking distance. Walnut Creek is central to the finest attractions in Ohio's Amish Country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlisle Hotel Walnut Creek
Carlisle Inn Walnut Creek, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing