We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place with a couple minor flaws”
Review of Carlisle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walnut Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlisle Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We love this place with a couple minor flaws”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here twice and love it. The wheelchair accessible room has a lovely view, and thoughtfully appointed bathroom. The roll in shower seat can be a bit tricky because it gets slippery but otherwise is a good design. Grab bars are conveniently located everywhere but on the outside of the shower where I really could use one. Our only other complaint is that the hotel only has one wheelchair accessible room and during both our stays the heat in that room did not work. The staff was helpful and gave us a space heater but they really should just fix the heating system. Also, for some reason there's a lamp on only one side of the bed when there really should be one on each side. The room is a bit cramped for a wheelchair.
Breakfast disappointed us--in a farm area I thought fresh fruit would be featured on the menu but all we got was canned fruit of a not very good quality. Hard boiled eggs are also not on my list of favorite breaksfast foods. However, the evening snack is wonderful and the buttermilk cookies almost by themselves warrant a trip to this hotel.
Walnut Creek is a lovely little town and I highly recommend road trips in the area, shopping at Coblentz Chocolate, P. Graham Dunn, and other little shops.

Room Tip: ask for a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEKA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSHaun, General Manager at Carlisle Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

I want to thank you for taking time to review our fine Inn. And thank you for choosing Carlisle Inn as your lodging provider when you visit beautiful Ohio Amish country. We appreciate the valuable (honest and helpful) feedback. We will give these items our attention. I sincerely apologize for the heat issue. We do have it on the schedule to install new heating and cooling systems in every guest room over the next few months. We do try to have a nice variety of items on our expanded continental breakfast. However, if you prefer a hot breakfast over the hotel breakfast we will be very happy to give you with your stay a voucher for two delicious hot breakfast buffets at Der Dutchman Restaurant (located next door). Just ask for the free hot breakfast upgrade when you make your reservations. Thank you again for your review and for your loyalty. Peace and comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    46
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
115
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I thought that the facility was lovely. We stayed in one of the executive suites the room was nicer than some of the B&B's that I have stayed at in the area, and the rate was good. The hotel was very clean, and we enjoyed the location.

My only negative comment is: I travel a lot for my job and stay at a lot of hotels. I am accustomed to be greeted when I arrive. Normally asked if I have stayed there before, and explained the features of the hotel. I was not greeted - the young man at the desk looked up when I approached the desk. I said that I had a reservation, and he silently processed it. I was a little taken back, sure we figured out when and where breakfast was, and did manage to find the exercise room etc. If it were not for this first impression, I would give this Hotel A+ ratings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank originals6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSHaun, General Manager at Carlisle Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for the feedback you shared.

We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy one of our handsome Executive Suites. We also appreciate your comment concerning our facility's cleanliness and its attractive, convenient location in the center of peaceful Amish Country.

I do apologize for the inferior welcome that you were given. You truly are a valued guest to us! It is our normal standard to give each and every guest a warm and well-informed greeting. We have addressed this issue and we will work hard to ensure that all of our associates uphold the exceptional standards that we [Carlisle Inn] desire to deliver.

Thank you again for choosing the Carlisle Inn and for your valued comment. We sincerely hope that you will stay with us again and allow us the privilege and opportunity to give you outstanding service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel is situated on a ridge so nearly every room has great views. Warm hearted reception staff and efficient service. Massive bedroom with balcony. Evening meal available 200 yards away in Amish (Dutch?) restaurant was excellent in every way. Good breakfast with lots of seating. Ambience is spoilt by rather too much tarmac at rear of building. Would definitely stay again; especially in Autumn / Fall when sunshine on the leaves is very special.

Room Tip: The upper floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revdarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSHaun, General Manager at Carlisle Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for your fine review.

We are very thankful for your visit & we genuinely appreciate your business.

We hope you will be truly blessed during the upcoming holiday season.

Peace and comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Carlisle Inn sign says it all... Peace & Comfort!
We were guests for three nights... did not want to leave! Staff very friendly... rooms are neat, clean and spacious. Breakfast buffet was exceptional. The Inn is centrally located near great shopping areas. There is also a wonderful candy shop on one side of the Inn and and nice restaurant and bakery (great apple fritters) on the other side... and don't miss Walnut Creek Cheese Company just down the street - a must see! Make sure to get off the beaten path and explore the back roads of Walnut Creek to see beautiful Amish farms and gorgeous countryside views.
Will definitely return in the Spring!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crowhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSHaun, General Manager at Carlisle Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for your fine review.

We are very thankful for your visit & we genuinely appreciate your business.

We hope you will be truly blessed during the upcoming holiday season.

Peace and comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is fairly new. It is abosolutely beautiful. The cost includes a wonderful hot breakfast. They have 24 hour coffee available and while the breakfast is advertised form 7:00 AM until 10:00 AM they had it out at 4:00 AM when I went for early coffee. The rooms are spacious and all have balconies that overlook a valley and the the rise beyond in the area where you can watch the Amish and their horse drawn Surrey's travel the roads below. With the wonderful rooms and breakfast and service of the personnel this is one of the best stys we have ever been in. Highly reccommended.

Room Tip: Be sure to this location when visiting the hilly Amish / Menenite country of of North Eastern Ohio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSHaun, General Manager at Carlisle Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for your fine review.

We are very thankful for your visit & we genuinely appreciate your business.

We hope you will be truly blessed during the upcoming holiday season.

Peace and comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was picked for us by a tour we were on. They must have known what they were doing, because it was excellent. I cannot comment on the price since that was part of the package. Our room had two double beds and a balcony view looking to the back over Amish farmland and buildings. It was fall color time, so the view was very nice.

As to food, we only had one breakfast there on our last day. On the other days, the tour took us into Amish homes for superb breakfasts. The hotel breakfast was decent and typical of hotel free breakfast buffet. There is a restaurant almost next door, Der Dutchman. We ate there once with the tour and it was good value. Other nights we had dinner in Amish homes.

Room Tip: ask for the rear, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSHaun, General Manager at Carlisle Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for your fine review.

We are very thankful for your visit & we genuinely appreciate your business.

We hope you will be truly blessed during the upcoming holiday season.

Peace and comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent the weekend. Check in was smooth and no problems. We had a queen bed which was a very firm bed. We were on the third floor facing the road. There is a lot of traffic going past the hotel. Der Dutchman is next door. The room has a flat screen TV. The room was clean. There is a balcony which is showing it's age and needs to be repainted. there were some carpet stains. Wallpaper was crazy......very old fashion bright colors and big flowers......breakfast was nothing special.... bagels,cereal, pre-made waffles, sausage patties, and stale cinn. rolls.

The hotel looked like it needed a facelift. Walls are thin and we could clearly follow a conversion going on in the next room. The people are very nice and helped with directions.
This of course is peak time and everything was crowded. I think we will check out some hotels in the area next time

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tig2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSHaun, General Manager at Carlisle Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear valued Guest:

Thank you for your review of our Inn. We always appreciate hearing from our Guests.
Please know that we are in a continual process of thoroughly upgrading and refreshing our facility and property. Your observations are duly noted and valued.
I am happy to hear that you had a satisfactory experience with our customer service.
We enjoy serving all of our Guests!
If you do decide to stay with us again, please feel free to express any color scheme or décor preferences you may have. Each guest room is uniquely decorated featuring a vast variety of interior styles & colors. We do have guest rooms that feature an exquisite view of Goose Bottom Valley and colorful rolling hills. You may find this side of the hotel to offer more quietude as well as the peace and comfort that Carlisle Inns strive to provide to our valued Guests.
Thank you again for your feedback.
We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.2 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
311 reviews
5.2 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
741 reviews
4.0 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
282 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 4 in Berlin
249 reviews
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Inn

Property: Carlisle Inn
Address: 4949 Walnut Street, Walnut Creek, OH 44687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally called Carlisle Village Inn, our hotel at Walnut Creek affords our fine Guests an exceptional view of local, Amish farmsteads in the Genza Bottom Valley to the north and Mudd Valley to the south. We've recently added beautiful quilts in every room, including hand-stitched Amish made quilts in our king suites. Our newest addition is a fitness room with a view of the valley. We are happy to provide in-room Starbucks coffee and spa-quality amenities by Gilchrist & Soames. Carlisle Inn Walnut Creek is conveniently located in the charming town of Walnut Creek, Ohio. Delicious Amish kitchen cooking and unique shopping experiences are within walking distance. Walnut Creek is central to the finest attractions in Ohio's Amish Country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlisle Hotel Walnut Creek
Carlisle Inn Walnut Creek, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing