We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You don't need to go to the Ritz to experience the Gold Standard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wallhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wallhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You don't need to go to the Ritz to experience the Gold Standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Absolutely an outstanding experience every time. I am a frequent guest and they continue to go above and beyond. The rooms are always spotless. Beds very comfortable and my unique preferences are in my room every time (extra blanket and 2 gatorades). They have a quality breakfast and you are hard pressed to find a Guest services team on the level of the Wallhouse. They definitely match the Ladies and Gentleman of the Ritz Carlton. Their gorgeous patio with gas fire pits was lovely on the warm day. I see many comments on here regarding the contemporary style and the location in Amish country. As the area moves forward, it will become harder to find a TRUE AND GENUINE Amish experience. Much of what travelers think is Amish is just a show, a façade. For me, the service and cleanliness is my priority. Kala, Leon and all the staff never lt me down.

Room Tip: Absolutely an outstanding experience every time. I am a frequent guest and they continue to go abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
127
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glenmont, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

It is so refreshing to have a quality, upscale hotel in the area that is not the typical Holmes County lodging establishment. This hotel has a modern flair that doesn't trap you in a room with oak furniture and a quilt bed cover. Not that oak and quilts are bad, they are everywhere in Holmes County - except here! I had a fantastic Valentine's Day weekend at the Wallhouse. I was able to view Holmes County's charm elsewhere, but returned to a clean, modern facility to relax. Thank you, Wallhouse!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Bathroom was large and loved the large shower. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Would definitely recommend to others. Would stay here again - totally satisfied!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomOfThreeOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T, Director of Operations at The Wallhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Wallhouse Hotel and giving us such a shining review. We are delighted you had a great experience! We are constantly striving to improve things we think might not be perfect, so to have you benefit from it, is our pleasure. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Lovely hotel that is different from the usual place to stay. Interesting modern decor. Great breakfast and snacks. Kids loved the pool. Wonderful central location. My only complaint would be that the rooms only have overhead lighting. Throw in a lamp and it would be perfect!

Room Tip: Coblentz is a wonderful chocolate candy shop across the street. Don't miss it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaker City, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We live an hour away from Amish Country and my children 2 & 5 and my husband and I love it here. The hotel was so clean and modern. I had no complaints. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding smelled fresh and was soft. My girls loved the pool and I enjoyed the hot tub. The front staff girls were great and very polite. The restaurant next door is close and delicious. The free breakfast buffet was good as well. The rooms and grounds are just beautiful.

Room Tip: They put us on the ground floor, near the pool. We parked out back. There was a patio door in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I found this hotel online when doing some planning for a little getaway with some friends. We fell in love with the hotel from the website alone and basically planned our entire trip around this hotel. We literally went out of our way to stay here because it seemed so unique and modern. When we finally arrived at the hotel it did not disappoint we loved every aspect of the hotel.

We had amazing customer service, very clean, impressive design, and just an all around beautiful and fantastic hotel. If you are coming to Amish country on purpose then for sure stay here you will not be disappointed the staff will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and do whatever they can to make your stay perfect. If you are just looking for a getaway an don't really have a spot in mind then this is also your place. Guests will be amazed by all the details from a tv in the bathroom mirror of our suite, great decor, and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on.

The indoor pool, whirlpool, and outdoor fire pits area is great and we experienced great wifi service. The only thing I would say that could use some improvement was the breakfast it was missing some advertised items and could use an little upgrade. It was still good but just could be better.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to upgrade to the Wallhouse Suite its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I travel often to the area for business and always stay at a hotel that is my "go to" place when I'm in the area. I happened to drive by this brand new hotel and figured I would give it a try. Well, I was very happy to find that I now have a brand new "go to" place that I can look forward to visiting in the future! I have to warn anyone that doesn't like modern, you are going to hate this hotel because it is ultra modern and minimalistic. While I wouldn't decorate my home this way, it was perfect for keeping a clean space! I can't say the word clean often enough, this hotel is CLEAN. The rooms are clean and well decorated, the bathrooms are clean and very well decorated, the lobby space was also…..well, you get the idea! The front desk staff was also really nice and went out of their way to give us restaurant tips and information. I would have given this hotel five stars except for two things, our room had horrible water pressure in the shower and the breakfast was severely lacking in quality. The upside to the water pressure negative is that we had two rooms in our group and the other room didn't have this issue so I assume it was just my room that had a problem and the rest of the rooms have adequate pressure. The breakfast issue is something that needs to be fixed quickly. The coffee was cold, the eggs were gone, the pastries were gone, the grits were gone, etc... and we waited for 20 minutes after telling the staff and no new food showed up to replace the empty trays, even though there was an hour left to the breakfast service and many people were annoyed. I will definitely give this hotel another chance though because it was just too nice not to!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the higher floors looking out the back, the views were wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Owner at The Wallhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for reviewing The Wallhouse Hotel. We're thrilled that you liked the decor and appreciated our relentless efforts to provide an immaculate hotel for our guests. We also apologize for the two areas you pointed out in your review. Fortunately, the water pressure in your room was caused by a localized problem that has been fixed since. And, the breakfast was definitely a miss by us. The oven was turned off prematurely, and by the time the mistake was noticed it was too late to keep up with the group that was in the breakfast area. Again, we're sorry for our mistake. We promise the next time you stay with us, there will be a hot, delicious breakfast for you to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
3.9 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
5.1 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
12.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
4.5 mi away
Holmes with a View
Holmes with a View
#4 of 4 in Millersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallhouse Hotel

Property: The Wallhouse Hotel
Address: 2870 Cove Lane, Walnut Creek, OH 44687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque backdrop of Ohio's Amish Country, The Wallhouse Hotel is a 2017 Travelers' Choice recipient and an upscale, modern-style hotel with a crisp, refreshing decor. Our commitment is to offer a hotel that you'll want to return to again and again by providing immaculate rooms, engaging spaces, and unmatched personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Wallhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallhouse Hotel Walnut Creek, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing