We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regional dishes at resonable prices”
Review of Der Dutchman

Der Dutchman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet
Description: For the hard-working people of Holmes County, Ohio, eating is a simple pleasure, shared at family meals, times of fellowship, and celebrations. Der Dutchman Restaurant has been at the heart of this community and its food traditions for more than 30 years. Our Amish Kitchen Cooking is the No. 1 reason generations of visitors make the trip to Der Dutchman every year. But our hilltop location and spectacular view come in a close second. Lunch and dinner feature simple, straightforward classics—chicken, country-cured ham, roast beef and turkey, and chicken potpie. Hearty side dishes include real mashed potatoes, homemade egg noodles, and the freshest tasting creamed corn you’ll ever have the good fortune to eat. There’s also a great Kid’s Menu, with all their favorites, and lighter options, including homemade soups, fresh salads, and sandwiches.
usa
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Regional dishes at resonable prices”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

There are 3 or 4 of these places in the area around route 39 E/W between Sugar Creek and Berlin Ohio. I ate at two of them. At lunch a bowl of Chili, multiple trips to the salad bar and a 1/2 slice of fresh peach pie, with ice tea was under $9.00. At another location for dinner, I had the dinner buffet for $11.99, yes all you can eat, from soup and salad to dessert. Great for families.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank commentmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    232
    89
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenswood, Wv
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Variety”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ate at Der Dutchman and found the food fresh. We enjoy the variety offered on the buffet. The service was a little slow when it came to bringing out extra drinks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johsitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good Amish food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very sorry to have missed the buffet (it is only served Mon-Thur) but the food we ordered directly from the menu was awesome.The salad bar was good and fully stocked and of course the rolls were "melt-in-your-mouth" good. This was definitely worth the wait in line and that was not as bad as we anticipated. They provide great, fast and friendly service. Our waitress treated us exceptionally and got everything we asked for. And the tea was freshly made and delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a large group and we enjoyed the food very much. The service was good and the salad bar had a good selection. We especially like the variety of pies we could chose from for dessert - not that we had much room left! It was a great meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JLI7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, KY
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Amish food.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived in time to sample some of the breakfast buffet along with the salad bar. Adequate supply of everything. Waitress was very sweet and smiling. Very attentive. The food was very tasty. We had a window seat that overlooked some farmland. Not too busy when we first arrived, but by the time we left, the place was pretty filled up. Would recommend to anyone, but come hungry. And try any of the desserts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Dutchman also viewed

 

Been to Der Dutchman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing