We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Around!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverdog Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakeman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverdog Retreat
Save
You added Riverdog Retreat to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Wakeman B&B and Inns
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Value Around!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I took a mini-vacation to celebrate our first anniversary. Cedar Point, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and northern Ohio wineries were all on our itinerary. How lucky we were to find the Riverdog Retreat, which is not only beautiful but also in the perfect location to enjoy all three! We stayed in the Cedar House and we could not have been happier. The house and property were gorgeous and immaculate. The homemade bread and jellies were so yummy, and we enjoyed them each morning on our front porch. The innkeepers were friendly and informative. They told us of a couple nearby wineries which we tried and enjoyed very much. We also drove to nearby Oberlin for dinner one evening and were pleasantly surprised at what a charming little town it is. All that, plus you really cannot beat the price!! I will definitely recommend the Riverdog to anybody looking for a romantic get-away, and I hope to get back there myself soon!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zink5869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

River Dog Retreat is one-of-a-kind. We had a mini- family reunion here while attending our daughter's recital at Oberlin Conservatory. We stayed in the Cedar House and other family members were in the Cedar Suite and Settler's House. We used the Cedar House as "headquarters." The living area includes a kitchen, dining room and living room and was big enough to cook meals for a group of 12. Everything about the accommodations is top-notch, from the furniture to the beautiful artwork. The gas fireplace made the living room even cozier. People renting the Cedar House should be aware that access to the bathroom is through one of the bedrooms, although that wasn't a problem for us. The grounds are beautiful even though we didn't have time to explore them fully. Deborah and Terry made everything so easy. I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We set out looking for a place to stay while we visited our son for parent weekend at Oberlin College but found this beautiful, artistic, restful and romantic getaway making Riverdog the highlight of our weekend. The accommodations were really first class as everything was in perfect working order, and immaculate.

Deborah and Terry have really created a wonderful environment that we look forward enjoying on all our future visits to Oberlin but don't tell anyone until after 2016 when my son graduates, as I think they only have three suites and we don't want to find out that they are all booked next time we come to Oberlin!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It is surprising to see the lack of luxury cabin options in Ohio, so finding Riverdog Retreat truly was a wonderful discovery. The grounds are lush and secluded and the houses are modern and tranquil. The price is a touch steep for the area, but once you see how hard Deborah and Terry have worked to create this retreat, you understand it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenM44113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our group of 8 consisted of three brothers and their wives get together once a year near Oblerlin. In addition to the 6 of us, there was a daughter and grandaughter of one couple. The 6 of us agreed that our stay at the cedar house at Riverdog was the best of all our reunions. The grounds were private, beautiful and tranquil and we had a porch with plenty of chairs and a table. The rooms are furnished with artwork and handcrafted furniture by the owners and many other artisans. The kitchen and dining areas are quite large and the owners provided us with lots of fruit, milk, coffee, cereal and homemade bread.

I can't say enough nice things about the owners. They go above and beyond in service and are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

In our busy day-to-day lives Riverdog Retreat was just what we needed. We were able to unwind and get down to nature walking the trails (at least once) each day we stayed. It was such a peaceful environment. We enjoyed the onsite Art Gallery and many modern amenities in our unit. We appreciated the hospitality we were given by Terry and Deborah. A short drive from the town of Oberlin provided other options with many restaurants, galleries and antique shops. Centrally located between Cedar Point and Cleveland makes it a nice getaway. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cedar Suite. We had everything we needed - a full bath, kitchenette with Fridge and Mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at the Riverdog Retreat during our visit to Oberlin for the Conservatory Reunion in June 2012. From start to finish, it was a terrific experience. Terry and Deborah were terrific hosts. We stayed in the Cedar House, which was quiet, had a terrific porch for relaxing during our down time. It's only a short drive to Oberlin. Our friends from the reunion visited one night and were envious of our find! The art studio was an added treat. We would definitely return, even for a relaxing weekend retreat. Oberlin College should definitely put this option high on their list of places to stay for those with a car, when visiting the College.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakeman
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Norwalk
BEST WESTERN Norwalk
#1 of 3 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sandusky / Milan
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
11.0 mi away
Days Inn Amherst
Days Inn Amherst
#1 of 2 in Amherst
3.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdog Retreat

Property: Riverdog Retreat
Address: 13818 Gore Orphanage Rd, Wakeman, OH 44889-9564
Location: United States > Ohio > Wakeman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wakeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Oberlin area accommodations in unique surroundings. Perfect as an overnight or extended stay base for visiting Oberlin College and the surrounding area. Great for reunions, company retreats, workshops or romantic getaways. Originally settled as a mid-19th Century farmstead, Riverdog sits on 20 beautiful and diverse acres overlooking the valley of the East Fork of the Vermilion River. Its four distinctive rental units are available by the day or week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverdog Retreat Ohio/Wakeman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing