We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Perfect time of year for a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverdog Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakeman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverdog Retreat
Save
You added Riverdog Retreat to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Wakeman B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect time of year for a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It is surprising to see the lack of luxury cabin options in Ohio, so finding Riverdog Retreat truly was a wonderful discovery. The grounds are lush and secluded and the houses are modern and tranquil. The price is a touch steep for the area, but once you see how hard Deborah and Terry have worked to create this retreat, you understand it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenM44113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our group of 8 consisted of three brothers and their wives get together once a year near Oblerlin. In addition to the 6 of us, there was a daughter and grandaughter of one couple. The 6 of us agreed that our stay at the cedar house at Riverdog was the best of all our reunions. The grounds were private, beautiful and tranquil and we had a porch with plenty of chairs and a table. The rooms are furnished with artwork and handcrafted furniture by the owners and many other artisans. The kitchen and dining areas are quite large and the owners provided us with lots of fruit, milk, coffee, cereal and homemade bread.

I can't say enough nice things about the owners. They go above and beyond in service and are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

In our busy day-to-day lives Riverdog Retreat was just what we needed. We were able to unwind and get down to nature walking the trails (at least once) each day we stayed. It was such a peaceful environment. We enjoyed the onsite Art Gallery and many modern amenities in our unit. We appreciated the hospitality we were given by Terry and Deborah. A short drive from the town of Oberlin provided other options with many restaurants, galleries and antique shops. Centrally located between Cedar Point and Cleveland makes it a nice getaway. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cedar Suite. We had everything we needed - a full bath, kitchenette with Fridge and Mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at the Riverdog Retreat during our visit to Oberlin for the Conservatory Reunion in June 2012. From start to finish, it was a terrific experience. Terry and Deborah were terrific hosts. We stayed in the Cedar House, which was quiet, had a terrific porch for relaxing during our down time. It's only a short drive to Oberlin. Our friends from the reunion visited one night and were envious of our find! The art studio was an added treat. We would definitely return, even for a relaxing weekend retreat. Oberlin College should definitely put this option high on their list of places to stay for those with a car, when visiting the College.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Beautiful, relaxing, invigorating and overall delightful.
My husband and I have stayed at Riverdog Retreat several times over the last couple years, and each time it gets better. We usually try to stay in the Settler's House, but this time we stayed in the recently finished Riverview suite, it was fabulous. I often have trouble sleeping, not in that bed, my head hit the pillow and I was out till late morning. Waking to fresh brewed coffee, fresh baked bread and then a walk along the Vermillion River.
We have stayed in places two, three, and four times more expensive, but nothing ever came close to the warm hospitality and incredible surroundings.
We look forwasrd to the next time we can stay at Riverdog Retreat.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. Look at the website and see what suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Riverdog Retreat before and enjoyed our stay. Our son attends college at Oberlin. When we stayed at the Riverdog the first time, we were encouraged to make our reservations for his commencement for 2013! We gladly did and felt comfortable with knowing we would have a place to stay. We just received an email from the Riverdog saying that we do NOT have a reservation but we are on the waiting list! Also in the email it stated that they are in such demand they could "easily jack up their rates." I'm disgusted! Nice place to stay, but we will never go back! That is just not the way you treat people. Very poor for business. Someone must have obviously offered them more money! We are left scrambling trying to find a place to stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stevbren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahbanyas, Owner at Riverdog Retreat, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We regret that this guest did not realize that we don't take reservations for more than a year in advance and that they never had a "reservation" for Commencement. We have far more families wanting to stay here for Commencement than we have space for so we had to establish a wait list system that was as fair as possible. Two years ago the first family on the list booked all the rooms we have, so there were a lot of people that had to find alternative lodging...most people understand the situation. We provided a list of comfortable hotels to the writer of this review and she has a year to find alternate lodging, but she remains unhappy. We have never raised our rates for special events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

You won't find a better place to relax and enjoy nature and art! If you're a parent visiting a child at Oberlin College, you'll enjoy the family feel at Riverdog - you can even prepare a favorite meal from home in the kitchen!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSpearBeahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakeman
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Norwalk
BEST WESTERN Norwalk
#1 of 3 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sandusky / Milan
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
11.0 mi away
Days Inn Amherst
Days Inn Amherst
#1 of 2 in Amherst
3.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdog Retreat

Property: Riverdog Retreat
Address: 13818 Gore Orphanage Rd, Wakeman, OH 44889-9564
Location: United States > Ohio > Wakeman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wakeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Oberlin area accommodations in unique surroundings. Perfect as an overnight or extended stay base for visiting Oberlin College and the surrounding area. Great for reunions, company retreats, workshops or romantic getaways. Originally settled as a mid-19th Century farmstead, Riverdog sits on 20 beautiful and diverse acres overlooking the valley of the East Fork of the Vermilion River. Its four distinctive rental units are available by the day or week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverdog Retreat Ohio/Wakeman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing