We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverdog Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakeman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverdog Retreat
Save
You added Riverdog Retreat to your Saves list
13818 Gore Orphanage Rd., Wakeman, OH 44889   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Wakeman B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at the Riverdog Retreat during our visit to Oberlin for the Conservatory Reunion in June 2012. From start to finish, it was a terrific experience. Terry and Deborah were terrific hosts. We stayed in the Cedar House, which was quiet, had a terrific porch for relaxing during our down time. It's only a short drive to Oberlin. Our friends from the reunion visited one night and were envious of our find! The art studio was an added treat. We would definitely return, even for a relaxing weekend retreat. Oberlin College should definitely put this option high on their list of places to stay for those with a car, when visiting the College.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Beautiful, relaxing, invigorating and overall delightful.
My husband and I have stayed at Riverdog Retreat several times over the last couple years, and each time it gets better. We usually try to stay in the Settler's House, but this time we stayed in the recently finished Riverview suite, it was fabulous. I often have trouble sleeping, not in that bed, my head hit the pillow and I was out till late morning. Waking to fresh brewed coffee, fresh baked bread and then a walk along the Vermillion River.
We have stayed in places two, three, and four times more expensive, but nothing ever came close to the warm hospitality and incredible surroundings.
We look forwasrd to the next time we can stay at Riverdog Retreat.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. Look at the website and see what suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Riverdog Retreat before and enjoyed our stay. Our son attends college at Oberlin. When we stayed at the Riverdog the first time, we were encouraged to make our reservations for his commencement for 2013! We gladly did and felt comfortable with knowing we would have a place to stay. We just received an email from the Riverdog saying that we do NOT have a reservation but we are on the waiting list! Also in the email it stated that they are in such demand they could "easily jack up their rates." I'm disgusted! Nice place to stay, but we will never go back! That is just not the way you treat people. Very poor for business. Someone must have obviously offered them more money! We are left scrambling trying to find a place to stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stevbren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahbanyas, Owner at Riverdog Retreat, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We regret that this guest did not realize that we don't take reservations for more than a year in advance and that they never had a "reservation" for Commencement. We have far more families wanting to stay here for Commencement than we have space for so we had to establish a wait list system that was as fair as possible. Two years ago the first family on the list booked all the rooms we have, so there were a lot of people that had to find alternative lodging...most people understand the situation. We provided a list of comfortable hotels to the writer of this review and she has a year to find alternate lodging, but she remains unhappy. We have never raised our rates for special events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

You won't find a better place to relax and enjoy nature and art! If you're a parent visiting a child at Oberlin College, you'll enjoy the family feel at Riverdog - you can even prepare a favorite meal from home in the kitchen!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSpearBeahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Riverdog Retreat is so beautiful, so relaxing and so much more than you would ever expect it might be. It's beautiful in so many ways and the energy is amazing! If you enjoy the thought of a nice B&B with cozy beds, pretty walking trails and people who really care about giving you a great experience, you have found the right place! Deborah and Terry are two of the most kindhearted people you will ever meet. They really do everything they can to make things just right.

All the bases are covered here. The rooms are really well done with beautiful artwork in every corner, fireplace, cozy bed and the place is spotless! I was amazed to hear how Deborah and Terry restored the entire property from the bottom up. If you stay here be sure to ask to see the before and after pictures. It's a great story!

You really can't go wrong staying at Riverdog! This is my list of "must does" while experiencing Riverdog Retreat. 1. take the time to enjoy your room, it's so relaxing! 2. ask to take a tour of the gallery, the place has such amazing energy! 3. walk on the trails. 4. make a mental note of when would be a good time to come back... my wife and I have stayed there twice and thinking of our next stay just makes me smile.

Thank you for a great stay! Your place is a true work of art!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My son and I loved our stay-- spectacular wildflower walk, beautiful apartment-type accommodations. Spotlessly clean and well-kept. Our hosts had a loaf of fresh, home-baked bread in our kitchen for us, and their pets greeted us with wagging tails. I highly recommend the place for a visit to Oberlin. Will certainly stay there again if it's available for my next visit to Oberlin.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

What a discovery! We could not have been any happier with our RiverDog accommodations. Though there were plenty of things to do during our first trip to Oberlin, I can just as easily imagine never leaving the Retreat's property. Charming buildings, charming furnishings, charming hosts (even charming dogs), and the hands of artists everywhere in evidence. The art gallery in the main building should not be missed.
Having such spacious rooms was a delight; a complete kitchen with fresh-baked bread, coffee and more was a rare bonus. The gas fireplace and the abundant whimsical artwork both added to warmth and mood. The solitude and the view of the river below---then awaking to a light coating of snow on every twig in the woods---were an unexpected treat.

Room Tip: We didn't view the other rooms but they all shared equally in the peace, quiet and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakeman
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
6.0 mi away
Oberlin Inn
Oberlin Inn
#1 of 3 in Oberlin
3.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
13.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Avon - Cleveland
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sandusky / Milan
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdog Retreat

Address: 13818 Gore Orphanage Rd., Wakeman, OH 44889
Location: United States > Ohio > Wakeman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wakeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Oberlin area accommodations in unique surroundings. Perfect as an overnight or extended stay base for visiting Oberlin College and the surrounding area. Great for reunions, company retreats, workshops or romantic getaways. Originally settled as a mid-19th Century farmstead, Riverdog sits on 20 beautiful and diverse acres overlooking the valley of the East Fork of the Vermilion River. Its four distinctive rental units are available by the day or week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverdog Retreat Ohio/Wakeman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing