We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for nature and art lovers”
Review of Riverdog Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakeman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverdog Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Wakeman B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We visited while returning our daughter to Oberlin. We rented the Cedar house and suite at a reasonable price. We were greeted by friendly dogs and host, Deborah. We had a kitchen with fresh home-baked bread, quite a treat. We enjoyed the porch, walking on trails to the Vermillion river and through a wetland meadow. The mowed trail left plenty of tall grasses and wildflowers for birds and wildlife. We also enjoyed the artwork created by our hosts and appreciated the artistry in the woodwork of the homes that they built. This retreat is really a find!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayfaringStranger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2011

Riverdog Retreat is on a quiet and private country property. We stayed in the Settlers House which has been wonderfully restored and decorated. Terry and Deborah's art is whimsical, fun, and made us smile. The Settlers house has a dining room, kitchen, sitting room, and bedroom plus a few other rooms that we didn't use. We enjoyed having a kitchen where we could heat up the soup that we had brought and we were glad we did because we didn't want to leave. An added bonus we really liked was the freshly made loaf of bread and the preserves stocked in the fridge. We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts and inns over the years and the Riverdog Retreat is among the best we've experienced and has excellent value. This place is beautiful, both the accommodations and the property. We enjoyed hiking their well-kept trails and being in nature. If you are looking for a private and romantic getaway you can't go wrong here. Riverdog opened recently so there are many openings but I have a feeling word will spread fast and that they will have many return customers...including us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveling2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Our family stayed at Riverdog Retreat while on a college visit at Oberlin. We could tell from the web site description that it was unique and offbeat. What a wonderful spot! The property is beautiful (an old farmstead), in the woods along a river. The owners (Deborah and Terry) are lovely people-- artists who have put a lot of love into the property, planting trees and nurturing it into a wonderful oasis full of birds, beauty and art.

We stayed in one of the houses, which was very homey and full of art (from the owners and others). In the kitchen, we found a loaf of homemade bread baked by Deborah. We arrived in late afternoon, and wandered around the property for about an hour on paths through the woods, meadows, and along the river. One of their dogs kept us company, and even the cat came along!

Deborah and Terry's studios are open, and full of their unique and lovely art. They're lovely people, too, and you'll enjoy hanging out and talking with them. We stayed for one night, but we could have stuck around for a week. Next time we'll bring our bikes and stay a while.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HudsonRiverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Absolutely wonderful! Far exceeded our expectations! Warm, relaxing, peaceful! We only spent a few days there while visiting our son at Oberlin College, both my husband and I wish we had more time to enjoy Riverdog. The hosts are welcoming, making us feel right at home. The fresh bread upon arrival was perfect! The beds are most comfortable with lots of pillows. The atmosphere is beautiful! Looking forward to going back. A wonderful retreat for someone looking for some R&R. I can't say enough good about our experience! A must see for yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

we stayed at riverdog while visiting family over the thanksgiving holiday
and could not have been more pleased...
deborah and terry have created a truly wonderful place
with attention given to EVERY detail ...spacious, comfortable, private, awesome location
and full of their individual and beautiful artwork
whenever we are in the area ...we will always make a point of staying here
and highly recommend you do the same...you will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eefava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We have been visiting our son at Oberlin College and to find such a beautiful property with your choice of houses/suite with home made bread/jellies on arrival was so wonderful after a long trip and compared to our previous stays in Motels in Elyria. This time we borrowed bikes available for guests and took the bike trail into Oberlin. All in all this feels like a home away from home with out the detritus of the latter. Oh and the beds are sooo comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMBNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I just do not know when I have stayed in a more restful, beautiful, clean, and nourishing environment that was not a home. Deborah and Terry greeted us with warmth, showed us their gallery, took us to our house- designed just as artistically- showed us how to use the gas fireplace and left us to soak in the quiet serenity of the surrounding meadow and woods.
The beds were wonderful, the freshly baked bread was such a nice touch. We wished we could stay much longer than 2 days.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarstista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakeman
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
6.0 mi away
The Hotel at Oberlin
The Hotel at Oberlin
#1 of 2 in Oberlin
76 reviews
15.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdog Retreat

Address: 13818 Gore Orphanage Rd, Wakeman, OH 44889-9564
Location: United States > Ohio > Wakeman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wakeman
Price Range: $125 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Oberlin area accommodations in unique surroundings. Perfect as an overnight or extended stay base for visiting Oberlin College and the surrounding area. Great for reunions, company retreats, workshops or romantic getaways. Originally settled as a mid-19th Century farmstead, Riverdog sits on 20 beautiful and diverse acres overlooking the valley of the East Fork of the Vermilion River. Its four distinctive rental units are available by the day or week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverdog Retreat Ohio/Wakeman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing