We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Comfortable and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Vermillion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Vermillion to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2417 State Rt. 60, Vermilion, OH 44089   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Typical Holiday Inn Express, Comfortable room, great location and attentive staff. Desk staff provided excellent dining recommendations, local maps and places of interest. In hotel breakfast made an early departure easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    25
    6
    9
See reviews for
50
27
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed here for two nights while on a bicycle tour. On the first day, I had driven directly to the hotel since it was raining, arriving at 11AM -- long before the official 3PM check-in time. Not only that, but the hotel had been full the night before and I was certainly not expecting to be able to get a room. So I was pleasantly surprised when the desk clerk managed to get me into one of the first rooms that was ready, which was right about noon. So I was already impressed.

The room was spotlessly clean and neat and had a strong Wifi signal (although some others reported weak signals in their rooms). The breakfasts were very good and featured the first automatic pancake maker that I've seen instead of the common (but messy) flip-over waffle maker.

The staff were all friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

When visiting family, we generally stay here for a week a few times a year and get to see the hotel from many sides. The rooms are simple and do not have a refrigerator or microwave and have only 2 drawers in the dresser. The bedroom, bathroom and grounds are very clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast is hit and miss: one morning the coffee was watery, the next the OJ was all water, next the biscuits are concrete, and then there is no half and half. What really disturbs me is the staff hiding out of site of the front desk complaining about things in the hotel. They also have trouble identifying who is smoking in the rooms in a non-smoking hotel - possibly because all of the housekeepers and the manager or owner smoke themselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyb161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear traceyb161,

Thank you for choosing us again and taking the time to review our hotel. I'm delighted that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to our room accommodations and hotel staff. However, it is regrettable that our breakfast offered fell short of your standards. I would like to assure you that your comments, including the incident with our non-smoking rooms, are taken into serious account as we are continuously looking for ways to provide our guests with comfortable and satisfying stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back and have the chance to give you a great hotel experience.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently stayed here to attend a wedding of friends in the area. The reservation experience was confusing. 6 different confirmation numbers for 2 rooms/2 nights. We had to recheck in on the second day. The explanation made no more sense than having to recheck in and get new keys made for the same rooms we our belongings were in. The rooms were worn and the carpet was very dirty. The halls reeked of cigarette smoke. The cost was very high when we later compared prices with other nearby hotels. Will definitely not return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Watsco,

Thank you for your review of your stay. We are sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,
Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I booked the hotel for my seven year olds birthday. The girl who took my reservation was helpful and sweet. When I arrived however I had to deal with a manager who was nothing but rude from the first moment and even took to screaming at me in the lobby. It was honestly the worst experience of my life. If they had management who knew how to be plesant this would be a good hotel. Too bad.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank catrinar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear catrinar01,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express many years ago, we recently returned to the area, and stayed here again. The hotel is okay and for the area probably one of the better hotels. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bed seemed a little worn, and sheets seemed like their getting old (pilled) but again for the area - not bad. We did not eat breakfast there, but we did check it out - seemed just okay. Not a "high" end hotel, but for the area - probably one of the better places to stay, and in a great town!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Vermillion, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Renee S,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the bed condition. We will address these concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
157 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

NOTE: This town is actually spelled Vermilion with one "L" not two like the town in South Dakota. The desk told me that guests have issues with reservation errors from time to time with this.

Anyway, the staff was super friendly and the hotel was wonderful. Enjoyed the indoor pool and exercise room. Hotel was just outside of town on the highway which was very accessible. Breakfast was wonderful and the rooms were super clean and comfortable. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jardindemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vermilion
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
12.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
8.2 mi away
Days Inn Amherst
Days Inn Amherst
#1 of 2 in Amherst
3.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
11.7 mi away
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Vermillion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Vermillion

Property: Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
Address: 2417 State Rt. 60, Vermilion, OH 44089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Vermilion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Vermillion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is centrally located between Greater Cleveland & Cedar Point Amusement Park, Sandusky, OH. Our Vermilion, Ohio location provides a great starting point for attractions in either direction! We are just 20 miles from Cedar Point but worlds away from congestion & traffic. Experience the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion featuring friendly, personalized service along with the benefits of: free Express Start breakfast bar; free local telephone calls; free high speed Internet access; and IHG Rewards Club Points. Vermilion is A Small Town On A Great Lake; a quaint & historic small town located on Lake Erie. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is near Vermilion's many charms: public beaches, unique shopping (antiques, galleries, collectibles, handcrafted candies and candles), many dining options, river cruises, fishing & numerous festivals & special events year-round! SPECIAL EVENTS: Festival of the Fish, Father's Day Wknd; Woollybear Festival, Fall; Christmas Holidays RESTAURANTS: Chez Francois, that french restaurant on the river; Quaker Steak & Lube on the River LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: Lake Erie; Schoepfle Garden; The Holiday Inn Express Vermilion features a number of room types to fit your business or leisure travel needs as well as an indoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Vermillion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Hotel Vermilion
Holiday Inn Express Vermilion
Holiday Inn Vermilion
Vermilion Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Ohio/Vermilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing