We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room smelled like cigarettes - not sure if we'll stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Room smelled like cigarettes - not sure if we'll stay there again”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The first thing we noticed when we walked into our room was a faint (covered up) odor of cigarette smoke., despite this being a smoke-free hotel. But, to be fair, we only noticed it each time we walked in the room and we quickly got used to it.

The room was otherwise very clean and the beds were comfortable, with a variety of pillows to choose from, there were lots and lots of cable channels to choose from and the room was reasonably quiet.

The free breakfast was delicious, with a selection of cereal, eggs, bacon, pancakes from the pancake machine and more (including those wonderful .

The check-in staff was friendly and helpful, but was not familiar with the area so was unable to give much advice about local attractions.

The hotel is conveniently located just off the highway, a short drive from downtown Vermilion and an easy twenty minute drive to Oberlin College.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayakUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    49
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
58
29
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
grand rapids, mi
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed here before spending a weekend at Cedar Point. Nice to have a pleasant place to stay with a lesser cost than the more costly Cedar Point properties. The hotel is about a 1/2 hour from the C Pt. causeway. Vermilion is a nice little town on the lake. The hotel is less than 5 minutes from downtown Vermilion.
The room was typical of the class. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast bar was limited but acceptable. The dining area was a bit small given that many travelers were likely to be up early to get on the road to their ultimate destination (the Point or Cleveland or elsewhere).
But all in all, a pleasant place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank undum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We wanted to find a quieter alternative to Sandusky for our recent trip to the Lake Erie area, and found it at the Holiday Inn Express in Vermilion. The rooms were nicely appointed, we had a room with a king sized bed off to the side with a fold out couch in the living area for the two kids. Everyone was happy. It also had a microwave and wet bar, which came in handy.

There was easy to connect to internet access and everyone was very friendly. My kids liked the pool and hot tub and I really liked the comfortable bed and sheets.

Our tv remote did not work and the owner immediately brought us up a new one and made sure it worked. The free breakfast was pretty standard, but fine. My kids liked the pancake machine.

I would stay here again, although it was a bit far (45 minute drive) from the ferry for Put In Bay, which is where we were going and Vermilion turned out to be a much smaller town than what I expected from their website.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We prepaid this over a month in advance. When we arrived, we checked in and went to the room. The smoke smell was so strong it burned our eyes and hurt our lungs. We also noticed a strong smoke smell in the hallways. Complained to the front desk and were told sorry, last room available and not authorized to return payment. They asked would you like us to clean the room? Since there are no other motels in the immediate area, it was now 11:45pm, I had paid and we were beat, I said sure clean it. Half hour later, we went to the room, still smelled like smoke, now smelled even stronger like Lysol. I'm not sure which is the bigger cancer risk, the entire can of Lysol sprayed in the room or the tobacco smoke residue. We opened the window as far as it would allow and cranked the A/C. It was a sleepless night. The rooms are dated, looks like late 70's decor. The TVs are old bubble models with bad reception. The free breakfast ends at 9:30, whoops, we missed it. The exercise room is broken down antiques. We paid $140 for this experience, more than any other motel or hotel we visited on our entire trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koolfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The hotel is in a great location, very peaceful. Downtown Vermilion is quite beautiful and only a short ride away, with a great choice of restaurants. The staff were amazing and made us feel very welcome. The winner for me - this hotel has an elevator - hurray we did not have to drag our bags up the stairs. Big Plus. Great breakfast and a very well decorated lobby and restaurant area. Nice pool too.

The rooms were nice and clean, but getting old looking. Therefore, I find it hard to understand how the hotel can say that it has been renovated? This is the only downside though - everything else was just superb.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LakosGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.e.ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We wanted to visit Vermilion at the last minute and couldnt get the B&B we wanted so chose this the day we drove up. I went by the reviews and it was just as others stated- staff was nice and room was as clean as it could be for being a hotel. We were up for a fish festival and to check out local wineries. If we were staying more than a night and wanting more from accommodations we prob. would have gone to a B&B but this suited our purpose fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teleservicerep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central ny
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed here two nights while going to cedar point. It's a short drive to cedar point and you don't have to worry about all the craziness of staying at cedar point or in sandusky. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vermilion
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
13.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South
14.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
295 reviews
15.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
359 reviews
14.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milan Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Vermillion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Vermillion

Property: Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
Address: 2417 State Rt. 60, Vermilion, OH 44089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Vermilion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Vermillion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is centrally located between Greater Cleveland & Cedar Point Amusement Park, Sandusky, OH. Our Vermilion, Ohio location provides a great starting point for attractions in either direction! We are just 20 miles from Cedar Point but worlds away from congestion & traffic. Experience the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion featuring friendly, personalized service along with the benefits of: free Express Start breakfast bar; free local telephone calls; free high speed Internet access; and IHG Rewards Club Points. Vermilion is A Small Town On A Great Lake; a quaint & historic small town located on Lake Erie. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is near Vermilion's many charms: public beaches, unique shopping (antiques, galleries, collectibles, handcrafted candies and candles), many dining options, river cruises, fishing & numerous festivals & special events year-round! SPECIAL EVENTS: Festival of the Fish, Father's Day Wknd; Woollybear Festival, Fall; Christmas Holidays RESTAURANTS: Chez Francois, that french restaurant on the river; Quaker Steak & Lube on the River LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: Lake Erie; Schoepfle Garden; The Holiday Inn Express Vermilion features a number of room types to fit your business or leisure travel needs as well as an indoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Vermillion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Hotel Vermilion
Holiday Inn Express Vermilion
Holiday Inn Vermilion
Vermilion Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Ohio/Vermilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing