We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to take the kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Hollow-Bacon Woods Memorial Park

Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Vermilion
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A number of bird species can be spied among the shale cliffs of the Mill Hollow-Bacon Woods Memorial Park.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to take the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Mill Hollow is a beautiful park. There are hiking trials, you can fish, river walk, kayak, and so much more. The offer lots of programs for kids and adults.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Amherst, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family-friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This has always been one of our favorite parks for all seasons. There are lots of trails, a beautiful river, seasonal activities, gorgeous fall colors, pavilions to rent, play grounds, sledding hill, ice columns on the slate cliffs in the winter, etc. There's plenty of parking and picnic tables. Also, there's a nice community room and a historical house/museum with a Dec. tour that include actors and music.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castalia, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Winter Days were GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went to Winter Days this past Saturdy and had the best time. We learned about dog sled teams, we took a ride on a buckboard, there was a chili cook-off, hot chocolate, ice fishing, and ice carving. As we left we had some of the best pizza EVER from a vendor (Fire and Ice Catering--I think). They baked it there in a wood fire grill. Mmmm...good. We had a fantastic day and can't wait to go again next year!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mellissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

A lovely park with the Vermillion River flowing through it. Nice trails!
ALways something going on at the Carriage House. Well taken care of..always clean! Good fishing in several ponds or the river!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
228 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“History and Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

You can learn the basics about Mill Hollow from the Lorain County Parks website, but here are some of the particular things I've discovered over the last few years in this park: 1. The Christmas re-enactments in the Bacon House with volunteer actors taking you back to the days of the Civil War. 2. Shale cliffs towering above a river that you can wade in or simply sit beside. 3. The hidden paths that lead off the meadow to spots along the river where no one else goes and you can find a place to spend an afternoon reading or dreaming. 4. The myriad of photo opportunities, especially in the fall when the trees create a symphony in yellow, orange and crimson. 5. Woods so full of bluebells in April that it looks like a lake of blue spreading beneath the trees. 6. Frogs croaking beside the boardwalk in the wetlands and owls calling at night. There's more - come out and discover for yourself.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gryfudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Hollow-Bacon Woods Memorial Park also viewed

 

Been to Mill Hollow-Bacon Woods Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing