We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap place to spend the night, but bring your own lightbulbs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vandalia
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I stayed here for 1 night on my way home from Kentucky. The room was smaller than I expected, but seemed clean. It is conveniently located right off the freeway behind a
McDonalds. I booked the room online and got a great price. The man checking in ahead of me paid $20.00 more than I did for the same room. I would never stay here again
however for 2 reasons. You are automactically billed $1.50 upon check-in for use
of the in-room safe whether you actually use the safe or not, which I did not. You have to make a point of insisting that the charge be removed when you check-out. This is nothing more than a pathetic attempt to pad the bill. My other complaint was the 60 watt light bulbs in the room. I could barely see to read even with all the lights in the room turned on. I don't care how cheap the room is, I shouldn't have to bring my own lightbulbs just to read a magazine. The owner of this motel should take some of the profit he is making from the in-room safe fees and use it to buy brighter lightbulbs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzerRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 354 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

The check in person is in a drive up window booth when you check in but was suddenly right at our room when we pulled up to room 110. In a well lit area our rental car gas tank was siphoned between the hours of 11pm and 4am. THIS IS NOT A SECURE PARKING LOT.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler12309756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

No frills, but clean and pleasant facility. It is nothing fancy, but friendly front-desk, and great for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenandelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Convenient location, extraordinary the courtesy of staff, free shuttle, free continental break fast for only $49.99/knight, what else can we get out of this cost?...... Nothing.......

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike0123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Stayed here for the free shuttle to and from the airport. At the time we stayed it cost 3 dollars a day for parking while we were gone on our trip. The hotel was clean and felt safe. Not the best breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallcatoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

This is an old, run down facility with a cramped lobby/breakfast area. Breakfast can be dry cereal, muffins, toast and fruit. Coffee and orange juice were available. No hot food.
I had a room on the third floor away from the Interstate to avoid traffic noise, but the room air conditioner rattled so loudly that it woke me a couple of times sounding like my alarm clock going off. However, except for some mildew around the shower the room was clean. There was a single-cup coffee maker in the room. The TV worked fine. As another poster mentioned, the hot and cold faucet control in the sink was reversed which caused me to think that there was no hot water.
Wireless Internet worked fine in my room and I also used the computer in the lobby during breakfast.
I was there during a major nationwide convention and paid far above the usual rate; about 50% more. For this amount I could have been in a motel a bit higher in the rating chain. I don't intend to stay here next year during the convention, but if this is in your price range it's acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

it's an older hotel outside needs some attention. room was ok clean no oders no bugs. breakfast nothing special but ok donuts ceral coffee etc.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenSt.louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vandalia
1.9 mi away
Airport Inn & Parking Vandalia / Dayton International Airport
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dayton North Airport
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
3.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Huber Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport

Address: 550 East National Road, Vandalia, OH 45377-2343 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Vandalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vandalia
Price Range: $53 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport Ohio
Super Eight Vandalia
Vandalia Super 8
Vandalia Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing