We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's cheap and you get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vandalia
Reviewed May 20, 2009

This is an old, run down facility with a cramped lobby/breakfast area. Breakfast can be dry cereal, muffins, toast and fruit. Coffee and orange juice were available. No hot food.
I had a room on the third floor away from the Interstate to avoid traffic noise, but the room air conditioner rattled so loudly that it woke me a couple of times sounding like my alarm clock going off. However, except for some mildew around the shower the room was clean. There was a single-cup coffee maker in the room. The TV worked fine. As another poster mentioned, the hot and cold faucet control in the sink was reversed which caused me to think that there was no hot water.
Wireless Internet worked fine in my room and I also used the computer in the lobby during breakfast.
I was there during a major nationwide convention and paid far above the usual rate; about 50% more. For this amount I could have been in a motel a bit higher in the rating chain. I don't intend to stay here next year during the convention, but if this is in your price range it's acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 351 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2008

it's an older hotel outside needs some attention. room was ok clean no oders no bugs. breakfast nothing special but ok donuts ceral coffee etc.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenSt.louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

I chose this motel because it advertised free in room high speed internet access. When I arrived no such access existed. When I complained I was told everything is working "It was checked in the AM" and that I had a crappy laptop. It so happens I have a great laptop and a special high power usb client. It turns out that the wireless routers were not even installed. I had to resort to parking my car in front of the office to use the wireless that was offered there.

In my room: the chain lock on the door was broken, the shower was cramped, but worked well with ample hot water, the faucet in the sink had the hot and cold reversed causing me to think the hot water was out. I managed to find a free outlet to charge my laptop and cell phone, although it was not what I would call accessible.

The light in the bathroom was not a quick start ballast, so it took a full two seconds to light. I originally thought it was broken until I decided to leave the fan on and then it finally lit up.

The bed was comfortable and I managed to drown out the sound of I75 by running the fan on the HVAC unit.

I also found the room to be noisy in the form of other guests slamming their doors and talking outside my room, but that is not Super 8's fault.

If you stay in this motel, call first to make sure everything is working, try to get a room in the back and on the second or third floor as it will be quieter there. Pool is small (outdoor) but will keep your kids occupied. Motel is walking distance to McDonalds, Waffle House, and a few other fast food places. Also close to Walmart and other shopping. Very close to the airport, and convenient to Hamvention. Hamvention folks can take the back way over to Shiloh Springs Mall via dog leg road and avoid the traffic.

To Super 8: it's all in the details, give me a desk or a lamp with an accessible outlet and and get the wireless working and I would not have taken the time to write this review.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hamvention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2005

This was probably my best experience ever at a Super 8. This location was formerly a Cross Country Inn, and the new owners have done well to keep the same general feel. Check-in was drive-thru. The rooms have the nice decor of a Cross Country. My room was suprisingly quiet for being very close to I-75. Plenty of TV channels to choose from and there was no bad odor in the room (a problem I have experienced frequently of late). My AAA rate for the room was under $30, really a steal. This is definitely a good place to stay if you need lodging on the north side of Dayton.

6  Thank UndercoverAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank osamuyumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niceman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mauri60Massa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vandalia
1.9 mi away
Airport Inn & Parking Vandalia / Dayton International Airport
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dayton North Airport
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
3.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Huber Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport

Address: 550 East National Road, Vandalia, OH 45377-2343 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Vandalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vandalia
Price Range: $53 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport Ohio
Super Eight Vandalia
Vandalia Super Eight
Vandalia Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing