We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, poor room fan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vandalia
Reviewed November 26, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JONATHON E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 352 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Frequent G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive, clean, quiet motel for an overnight stay in Dayton. I found a coupon on line for the Super 8 in Vandalia. It was a walk-in coupon, where hotels sometimes set aside a block of rooms at special prices for walk-in customers. No reservations are allowed, you just take your chances. We took a chance and were very pleased with the result. Our room was plain with no frills, but it was clean and comfortable. The television worked, the coffee maker worked, the heater kept us warm and the staff was friendly. Breakfast included great waffles, cereal, juice, muffins and other pastries. Everything was fresh and tasted good. All in all, this was a great value for the price and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstMate2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 801Frank801
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank KAY L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank DONALD SCOTT N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a 5:00 a.m flight and needed a room near the airport, and there is not a lot of choice in motels in that area. Probably because we got a very good rate through our AARP membership, we were given a second-story room facing the interstate highway. The room was small, since part of it was devoted to the maintenance area next door, but adequate for two people for a night. Carpet and bathroom were clean, but the walls are paper thin. The traffic noise from the interstate prevented getting any sound sleep. I normally turn the fan on the heating/a.c. unit to run constantly and cover up any traffic noise, but that was not possible on this unit. Ear plugs and covering my head with a pillow allowed me to get a few hours of sleep, but the noise level was still unacceptable. I felt like I was camping in a tent in the highway median.

Check in staff was courteous and helpful, but the motel has a practice of charging an extra $1.50 for an in-room safe. A sign on the desk indicates this, and states that the charge can be removed if the safe is not used and the customer requests removal of the charge. If a customer overlooks that sign, it would be very easy to unknowingly incur the extra charge.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of the motel. It doesn't directly face the Interstate highwayand may...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckeye4990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vandalia
1.9 mi away
Airport Inn & Parking Vandalia / Dayton International Airport
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dayton North Airport
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Huber Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport

Address: 550 East National Road, Vandalia, OH 45377-2343 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Vandalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vandalia
Price Range: $53 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Vandalia/Dayton International Airport Ohio
Super Eight Vandalia
Vandalia Super Eight
Vandalia Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing