We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Clean Quite Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Van Wert
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Van Wert
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Large Clean Quite Rooms”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed one night, very large suite with king bed and full kitchen. Bed was very comfortable with variety of pillows to choose from ( Soft, Medium etc ). Pool water was a bit cool. Hot Breakfast was better then expected. Great Coffee! Very Quite Hotel, did not hear any noise what so ever. I will use this Hotel again when traveling in this area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling42_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
9
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed here while on a trip from the east coast to the Chicago area. Hotel seemed new or nearly new - staff later told me it was 2 y.o. Comfortable beds & clean, undamaged room (w/ one exception. Shower curtain had a smudge on the edge from where people have repeatedly handled it...only dirty spot in the room...told staff about it upon departure...was told they'd replace it that morning. Hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, biscuits/gravy, cereal, etc. available. Decent Mexican restaurant across the road (walkable). Gas station near by, but cheaper gas 35mi east in Lima, OH. Yes; I'd stay here if passing through the area again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VetteDrivingFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We spent one night here at the Holiday Inn Van Wert. It is a nice place and the rooms were very clean. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast was free and very good. A nice swimming pool as well and it is indoors. Free parking as well. Free wi-fi and a computer in the business center for the guests use also. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This Holiday Inn Express was a nice surprise. The hotel is on the outskirts of town and is quiet and safe.

The hotel and grounds are well maintained (it appears the hotel is new). The staff was friendly and helpful.

I had a good night's sleep. The nearest restaurant is at the end of the hotel's driveway and across the main drag for Van Wert - but with no pedestrian crossing or easy way to get over in your car. Otherwise, you need to get in the car and drive into town - not a long drive, but it seems kind of silly.

Van Wert is a charming little town - with a lot of nice, original architecture and good Midwestern cooking.

I would definitely stay at the HIE next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoos1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We really liked this hotel. The breakfast was great and the staff that had breakfast every morning was very accomodating. They made sure everythng was out and if it was not she told everyone that it was on the way.
Great stay for the money.
The only complaint is that the pool was to cold to get in. It is an indoor pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carters_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

My crew and I stayed at the "Sunset Inn" formerly the Holiday Inn Express (the new one is right behind the Sunset Inn). This group gave us a great rate, which allowed my poorly paid crew to save a bit on their per diem.

The staff was helpful every week as I tried to get the expense paperwork completed and getting folks situated over the two months of the project, The pool is nice, the excercise room is small, but serviceable. The breakfast is pretty weak, but it is to be expected.

They were revamping the hotel when we are arrived, so there was a lot of construction going on.... Other than that, it was a good stay. I hope we are able to swing the budget to stay there again should more work open up for us in Van Wert.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbaicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at this brand new HI Express for a personal event in the area. Note, there is an old HI next door that has a name change since the new one is open. We were very pleased to find a new hotel in this area. Van Wert may not be a destination area, but we had a comfortable, quiet stay. The shower head was the best I've had in many high-end hotels. Linens were crisp and towels were large and fluffy....two of my personal must- have items in a hotel. Housekeeping was great.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OutsidePlaying1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Van Wert
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Van Wert
Comfort Inn Van Wert
#2 of 4 in Van Wert
41 reviews
14.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Delphos
24.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Decatur
140 reviews
22.6 mi away
Best Western Celina
Best Western Celina
#2 of 3 in Celina
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fountain Inn
Fountain Inn
#3 of 4 in Van Wert
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Van Wert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Van Wert

Property: Holiday Inn Express Van Wert
Address: 860 N. Washington Street, Van Wert, OH 45891-1269
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Van Wert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Van Wert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Van Wert 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Van Wert, OH hotel just off US Hwy 30 at US Hwy 127, just east of Ft. Wayne, IN & west of Lima, OH. Whether visiting for business or leisure our hospitality is appealing. Our Van Wert hotel offers relaxing rooms featuring stylish decor & amenities, including a microwave/refrigerator, wired/wireless HSIA & the best night sleep ever. Our Holiday Inn Express Van Wert, OH hotel is your home away from home. We offer our hot breakfast bar daily for all guest at all rates featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls, 24-hour fitness & business center & a refreshing heated indoor pool. Our Van Wert hotel will exceed your expectations. Our Holiday Inn Express Van Wert, OH hotel is well-equipped for your corporate and leisure travel. We are near; Eaton & Federal-Mogul Corporations, Central Insurance, Braun Industries & Cintas. Additionally, we are convenient to Performing Arts Center, Eldora Speedway & Country Concert. Our Holiday Inn Express Van Wert, OH professional & friendly staff will welcome you to your home away from home. Once you stay, you will come back time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Van Wert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Van Wert Hotel Van Wert
Holiday Inn Van Wert
Van Wert Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Van Wert Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing