We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought this would be awesome”

Velvet Ice Cream Co.
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 100 year old co. making ice cream. Short tour gives info on co, and allows you to see into part of the factory (and tasty samples).
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“I thought this would be awesome”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went on a nice sunny day in June. There was 2 nice large ponds that had ducks and geese in them and we brought bread to feed them, but they were not interested. There were also some baby ducks that my daughter enjoyed chasing. The grounds are beautiful and we even brought a picnic lunch and enjoyed it in 1 or their 3 covered pavillions. We went through the "museum" (very small area of the gift shop) and gift shop. Things weren't really expensive. We went on the tour, which had an informative video, but the tour guide wasn't overly animated and rushed the last part where you got to look through windows at one portion of the factory. We had ice cream after we ate our lunch and they choice of flavors were huge (more than 40 flavors). The ice cream was good. Inside the restaurant, i got free wi-fi. It was pretty and we had a nice time. We drove about 60 minutes to get there. I would not drive more than that.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jppalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path, but Worth the Trip”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice tour of an Ice Cream factory and small business run by the same family for the last 99 years. Lovely setting in the country. The ice cream is freshly made, and 6M gallons is shipped from this location each year. Playground, Buckeye grove, easy access and picturesque setting make the very scenic drive worthwhile. Would return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TedSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Factory tour was just okay. Late afternoon was kind of slow in the factory. Tour guide was good, however. But the ice cream was terrific! So many flavors to choose from and all were delicious!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Festival”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We visited here for the annual ice cream festival. We had a really fun 2 hours or so, with live music, lots of vendors, food and an ice cream eating contest. I hadn't ever seen an ice cream eating contest before and frankly could probably do without ever seeing another one. It's fun watching them take it down....not so fun when it comes back up. In any case, this is a classic midwestern harvest type festival and is worth it if you're within an easy day trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank buckeyebrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Enjoy an ice cream while you watch it being made”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Interesting spot to stop for a break. Wide variety of ice cream flavours, all made on the premises. Watch a short film on the family that owns/operates the factory, then wtatch through a glass wall as they make their different ice creams and novelties. Ice cream is delicious (I tried several different flavours), but a bit on the pricey side. Outside there is a mill pond with a variety of water fowl wandering around - great entertainment for the wee ones.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rbthodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Velvet Ice Cream Co. also viewed

 

Been to Velvet Ice Cream Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing