We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Friendly staff, breakfast ruined it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royalton Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upper Sandusky
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    16
    16
    5
See reviews for
34
19
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were in town for a friends wedding, and decided to stay at days inn. It was not to bad, our double queen room was decent. But do not stay here if you want to go swimming. Pool area was definitely run down and a little gross! Hot tub was not working and had about 12 inches green stagnate water in it! Yuk!! I think next time we will check out comfort inn!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holdensnanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was the best of the four places we stayed on this trip. The room was good and nicely decorated and set up.
Breakfast was slightly better than normal but not by much.
Staff was very helpful. They had overchlorinated the pool and the woman at
the desk said to give her a half an hour to get it better.
We went down after the wait and the pool seemed normal. Only problem was
the spa had cold water, and I am not a fan of that.
I read that some think the breakfast was a 'joke,' but that is what you get in budget
hotels if you get anything at all.
This place was more expensive than others we stayed in, but there is not much competition in this area of the state, so it was good value for the area.
It is just off US 23 and on the Lincoln Highway, so the location is pretty good for travelers.
If you are a tourist, there is not much to see most of the time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimTaichung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Room wasn't very clean. We went there for a family wedding and wanted to check in a bit early, we called twice on the way there to ask if we could get in early so we could get ready for the wedding and thay said "it is impossible" like they snap their fingers and all of a sudden all the rooms are clean exactly at check-in time. And they said they were completely booked, but there were very few cars in the parking lot. Also some strange characters who seemed to be just hanging around the lobby. Breakfast was a joke.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJTravelGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Upper Sandusky hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Ranked #1 of 2 hotels doesn't say much. This is a typical Days Inn, you know what you are getting. The room was large, A/C worked although the 2nd floor hallway was stinking hot, but more importantly the wifi worked great.

Still, the "breakfast" was a joke of 4 (count them) stale-looking donuts, and a couple english muffins, plus cereal if you like frosted flakes.

Price was upper $50's which was cheaper than the competition (who was sold out) so overall an average place to stay, just don't depend on a morning feed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I could have stayed anyplace an hour or two east or west of this while basically crossing Ohio, and I have to say, I really did choose this because 4 of the 5 reviews before me were 5 star. Well, look at the title of my review, could we perhaps tone that down a bit? My 3 major complaints would be the bottom of the pool was dirty, and there was no filtration going on during my entire visit. It was as still as any body of water I've ever seen. And it's not like anything was broken, I asked how late it was open, and the clerk told me 10:00 without mentioning any problems. I was there on a late June day when the temp peaked at 89 Degrees, and the hallways were STIFLING HOT. I'm talking like a sauna. Had to be 100 Degrees minimum in the hallways. Turn on the air in the hallways, cheapskates. It got down to 60 Degrees that night, and the hallways were still stifling hot in the morning. If they think they're going to pull that stunt all summer, there will be mold growing on the walls. Which brings me to my 3rd complaint, the breakfast room too was stifling sauna-like hot, but I took the incentive to turn on the air conditioner, which was a wall unit like in the rooms. They ran out of most everything at breakfast, and staying on a Sunday night, there were only about 10 other rooms full that day.

Now that we have all the "5 stars, give me a break" complaints out of the way, there were several good points for an under $60 hotel that inspire me to give it 4 stars. The breakfast room was very sizable, and what was left of the breakfast was good. They have a waffle iron to make your own waffles, which was a nice touch. The room itself was outstanding for the price. Very clean, and nicely set up. Nice TV, that worked fine. Good sized refrigerator that worked fine, and I even used the microwave, which was OK as well. No complaints on the room whatsoever, loved it.

Staff is friendly and helpful. No complaints there either. I'd recommend it, but I'd certainly stop short of titling my review "Amazing" or anything like that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DirtFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Besides the cleanliness and awesome pool what really won me over was the hotel managers. They seemed to really care about their guests. There isn't really a word to describe how great my experiences was. Traveling alone you usually feel homesick but the managers and employees at this Days Inn made me feel right at home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathrine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Sandusky
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in Upper Sandusky
61 reviews
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bucyrus
23.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Galion, OH
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Tiffin
Hampton Inn Tiffin
#1 of 5 in Tiffin
335 reviews
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tiffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Inn & Suites

Property: Royalton Inn & Suites
Address: 1726 E Wyandot Ave, Upper Sandusky, OH 43351-9651 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Upper Sandusky)
Location: United States > Ohio > Upper Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upper Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Royalton Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your room at our well-appointed Smoke Free Royalton Inn & Suites Upper Sandusky hotel in northwestern Ohio on the Sandusky River. Enjoy in-room amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access at your work desk, a microwave and refrigerator, and then get a workout in our exercise facility or soak in the indoor heated pool. Book a whirlpool suite for additional comfort and take advantage of our guest laundry facilities. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our hotel in Upper Sandusky, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Start the day on the right foot with free continental breakfast before heading out ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Royalton Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Upper Sandusky Hotel Upper Sandusky
Days Inn And Suites Upper Sandusky
Upper Sandusky Best Western
Best Western Upper Sandusky
Royalton Inn & Suites Upper Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing