We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent job during festival”
Review of The Caroline

The Caroline
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Specializing in certified angus steaks, seafood, fresh salads and gourmet burgers, appetizers, full bar
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent job during festival”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went to The Caroline during the Mumford & Son's Gentlemen of the Road stop over tour. The event was so large that they shut down the whole downtown Troy area to cars and created a huge block party in the streets. This even drew over 10,000 additional people to downtown Troy and The Caroline did a fantastic job managing their restaurant during this event. Once inside the restaurant you forgot all about the craziness that was just outside and were treated like it was just an ordinary day. The staff did a great job with the increased business and didn't miss a beat. We had the Margherita Flatbread Pizza appetizer which was excellent and came out of the kitchen very quickly. My wife had the Fish and Chips which were nice and I had the Cajun chicken with the creamy parmesan sauce. Both dishes were very good and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEW5245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    50
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Piqua, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped to The Caroline for lunch, it was our first time there, and we will be going back. The services was fast and friendly, but most important of all the food was very good. The portions were large, the tenderloin sandwich I had could feed 2 people.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Always a pleasant experience!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Definitely worth visiting - the atmosphere, staff and quality of food is superb!
The Caroline is located in beautiful downtown Troy and offers a wide selection of food and beverage

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohiopeacecisv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
“Not worth the trouble!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We decided to go back to the Caroline since we had a great experience once before....that was a mistake! First off they will not take a reservation even though they weren't busy at all. We had a new server that wasn't shadowing anyone but should have been. The service was slow from the kitchen, she forgot one entre and since we were splitting another dinner we left hungry(Also the kitchen didn't spit the dish so here we are in this nice establishment transferring food from one plate to another), doesn't know her cocktails, kept coming back to ask qustions that weren't needed. But the worst part is when I tried to talk to the Manager to give him advise he talked over me and couldn't care less. There are WAY too many choices in dining today to bother with this kind of attitude. Beside the place smells like an old house!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WARD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Family gathering together for a visit in the area.

The Caroline came highly recommended. Great service and food.
Will go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMSpidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Caroline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing