We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Third Floor - High Side”
Review of Hampton Inn Troy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Troy
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Village, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Avoid the Third Floor - High Side”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We used this hotel when going to a wedding in Delphos and flying in and out of Dayton. It was very convenient to the travel, and is a standard Hampton Inn. It is an older hotel, but looked clean and met our needs.

The one item I would say is avoid the rooms on the third floor above the halfway point (315 on up, would be my guess). The first room we walked into we immediately left, as it reeked of smoke. We found out that the smoking rooms were on the 2nd floor on that half of the hotel, so it obviously permeated. They moved us to 302, which meant downsizing beds (queen to a full), but it smelled a lot better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXLVRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    84
    20
    14
    12
See reviews for
85
95
20
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is a fairly standard Hampton Inn. When I stay at Hampton's, I don't expect to be blown away and I don't expect nasty surprises. This hotel is right off an exit ramp and walking distance to several restaurants and there is a large shopping center across the street. The rooms were pretty typical, but the flat screen TV with lots of channels was appreciated. The staff could not have been nicer. The airline lost my bag, delivering it later that same night. The staff put together a toiletry kit for me and when the bag was delivered while I was out, placed it in the room for me. Touches like that are appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitch7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

From the smiling and friendly front desk clerk, to the comfortable room, to the convenience of shopping and restaurants nearby, this was definitely one of the best for the money that I've found.

The room included a nice wide-screen TV with 76 channels to choose from, and a fridge/microwave, along with both wireless and a cable connection to the internet.

When staying in the Dayton area, this is definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiftLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

While traveling back home, we found this hotel from a coupon book picked up in a gas station. The coupon book advertised rooms for a very good deal (I can't recall the exact price). When we got there the said that there were only a few rooms that went with this discount. I guess that is OK but it is very disappointing when you think you are going to get a great deal and you don't. It just didn't feel like good business to me.

Other than the coupon thing it is a very nice place. The rooms seemed pretty new, nice flat screen TVs and they had a microwave and refrigerator. High-speed internet worked very well. They even had wired internet cords in the rooms which is a nice touch that most places don't have. They had a very nice pool. The business center (just a computer in the lobby looked fine. Breakfast was good.

The staff at this hotel are great! All of the front desk workers we encountered were very friendly and helpful, particularly the one working in the morning. The woman who ran the breakfast room was nice and so were the maids.

Other than the coupon issue, a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmd21700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Upon arriving in Troy, we originally planned to stay at a nearby property until seeing it in person. This Hampton was across the street and looked much more inviting. What a treat it was to find this place. The staff was extremely friendly all the way down the line from the girl who checked us in to the sweet lady serving breakfast the next day, housekeeping, and what appeared to be the manager on our morning of checkout. We checked out on a Sunday and had no pressing plans. Upon learning this on Sat. night, the staff at the front desk allowed us a 2pm checkout so we could enjoy some time in the indoor pool with our daughter. Rooms were very clean, beds quite comfortable, and the price very reasonable. This place is about a halfway point on a trip we frequently take, and we'll definitely be returning.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadinSouth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

After reading some of the reviews for hotels in the Troy area, I was a little concerned that I wouldn't be able to find a good, clean, quality hotel. I was pleasantly surprised after staying at the Hampton Inn in Troy. The staff was so very pleasant, the bed was sooooo comfortable and the rooms were very clean. I am definitely going to stay at this hotel the next time we're visiting family in this area.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the facility.
  • Disliked — None.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSPKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

This is a great hotel!! Nice and clean, reasonably priced with all of the little extra ammenities.

The rooms were spacious, clean and looks newly renoved. The beds were extremely comfortable!

24 hour walmart is directly across the road as well as lots of restaurants (Applebee's, Outback Steakhouse, Ruby Tuesday's etc).

Troy isn't anything exciting - but the hotel was great!

I didn't try the pool - ibut it looked great for kids - shallow.

  • Liked — Bed and room ammenities were great!
  • Disliked — Pool was in main hallway where everyone in the hotel walks by.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank youngtravel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 9 in Troy
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dayton Troy
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Dayton Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Piqua
20 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tipp City
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sidney
Hampton Inn Sidney
#1 of 4 in Sidney
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Troy

Property: Hampton Inn Troy
Address: 45 Troy Town Dr, Troy, OH 45373-2327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Troy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Troy Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing