We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
33
9
1
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
9
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomchalons en champagneone nightbeautiful roomnext morningchampagne housesbrigittechateauwoodlandfrancepropertyepernaymadamemoatcheesefrenchlord
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 47 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I have read the reviews by other guests and cannot believe we are writing about the same place. The location is OK, easy access to the wine growing areas of Champagne. The driveway to the chateau was a test for our car's suspension with large potholes almost impossible to avoid. We arrived on a hot afternoon, our hostess was swimming with her grandchildren and couldn't be bothered to greet us, her husband enquired were we there just for one night (we had booked for 3 nights unfortunately) We were never addressed by name, neither did our hosts introduce themselves or other guests at breakfast. Our room, was spacious and the bathroom adequate, although the shower recess needed a good clean. On night number one our hostess booked us into a local auberge for dinner, however on our last night when we asked for advice our hostess couldn't be bothered and said "Speak to my husband", he was nowhere to be found. This being July 13th a restaurant was not easy to find in Chalons-en-Champagne many were booked out early. Worse still when we asked what would be open on July 14th, Bastille Day, a public holiday, we were told everything would be open. Lucky we disregarded this and bought petrol on the 13th as of course everything was closed. As for the moat it was full of stagnant dirty water not a fish in sight, and the chateau very tired. For our most expensive stay we expected this chambres d'hotes to be a treat instead it was a bitter disappointment. Yes, there was free parking outside the gates under trees in a paddock.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Realist60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

All we can say is that the other reviews are spot on.Great place, well worth a visit

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilternRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

At 2.5 hours from Calais this place is either perfect for an overnight stay or even a longer holiday. Mme Caubere, Brigitte, is a most delightful lady who clearly relishes contact with people. Nothing is ever too much for her. Her warmth and friendliness permeate the splendid chateau bedrooms, decorated with antiques, old prints, individual wallpaper, Persian rugs, marble fireplace, cozy lampshades, fresh flowers and inspiring views over the gardens. The bathrooms have all mod cons (my shower was Villeroy and Boch) but also exude character and taste: the open antique shelf held hand-made perfume bottles as well as beautiful scent pouches. The castle is surrounded by a moat filled with pike, and just outside the castle gates is a large lake surrounded by mature weeping willows, where Mme Caubere's family and guests swim on hot days. Breakfast is served at a beautiful large dining table under the mournful eyes of one of her ancestors. You can't blame him. You'll never want to leave the Chateau de Juvigny either.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brasherboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights to celebrate a friend's birthday, and it was a perfect spot for a relaxing and special break. The chateau is a short drive from the motorway network, so is easy to reach, but well out of the way of traffic. The house sits in a parkland setting, surrounded by a moat, with woodland to the rear and a lake opposite. This offers some lovely opportunities for walks around the property. The hosts are incredibly warm, friendly and helpful and made us feel so welcome in their home.

We stayed in the Chambre du Lac and Chambre de Celine - both charming, and with quite different character and styles. Celine has an amazing bathroom, Lac, as suggested, has views of the lake. The dining room and lounge were also comfortable and grand.

This is a great place to stay for a trip to the Champagne area - it's a short drive to the vineyards and Champagne houses near Epernay, and Reims is less than 30 minutes drive away. The chateau allows you to experience a really special quality of French life, something well beyond a stay in a 'normal hotel'.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MourneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

This hotel is as described - a medium-sized and quite grand but fading chateau - one wing appeared to be unused. It has been owned by the same family for generations, and has an unlikely family atmosphere about it.

Our rooms were quite large and comfortable, the breakfast (the hotel does not serve any other meals) varied and served with all guests at a single large table. Our hostess happily recommended and booked restaurants (and, incidentally, a champagne house) which met our stated requirements.

For information - although I've ticked "swimming pool", the swimming is actually in the lake in the grounds of the hotel. I was assured that there are neither sharks nor crocodiles in the water.

Clearly the family hope to restore the Chateau to its former glory. From our experience they deserve to succeed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anaximander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews