We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at The Grange for a couple of nights while visiting our son in nearby Sherborne. The staff were very friendly, our room very clean and spacious, with nice views over the surrounding countryside, and the meals were really good. Recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14, which is on the upper floor. It is spacious and has good views over the surrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonFleet_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    92
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
92
251
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Again I booked on a business trip and wasn't disappointed. Staff just lovely and easy going, room spacious, spotless and an extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom was fantastic, in fact it was a Wet Room with a super efficient shower. Dinner and breakfast could be better and my thanks to the Chef for my extra peanut butter treats to take away ! See you next time definitely

Room Tip: Probably not a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here on our wedding night in July 2014. We had a four poster bedroom with a balcony and it had the most amazing bathroom! The room was clean and tidy, and really very comfortable.

The staff were lovely - friendly and professional. They allowed us to check in at around 11:30pm when we arrived after our wedding which was so helpful and alleviated any stress of trying to check in earlier on the wedding day! They also arranged a taxi for us on the next morning. We were also offered a wake up call and newspapers. The little card stating the weather for the following day under our door was also a nice touch.

The last company I worked for had a card and bottle of bubbly sent to the hotel which the staff arranged to be ready in our bedroom with an ice bucket and glasses.

Breakfast was freshly prepared, with a selection of continental buffet items as well as freshly cooked hot items.

We were only gutted that we couldn't spend more time here, and would love to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We dropped in for an evening meal together. The welcome was most accommodating as we hadn't reserved but every effort was made to make our evening a success, including special meal adjustments to accommodate dietary restrictions. The food was good and well presented. The hotel and grounds are delightful and it will be on my list of possible places to stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambrose58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
212 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

I came in here on a business trip. As the taxi drew up I had my reservations. An absolutely painless check in process was the first sign that I was going to enjoy this stay (even though just one night). Easy, with a real smile on the face - the check in was great. The room was very good. The dinner was excellent. The lawn at the back and the lounge are very nice. This is a property with a soul and with history that you can browse through. The charm of the surrounding areas and the property itself has for sure had a fantastic effect on the staff. Yes! charming - from inside and not just because they are paid to be so!!.

I would stay here definitely again. Some words of caution - Best if you rent a car. If you dont, the taxi doesnt cost too much to go to Sherborne (I paid 12 pounds round trip). If you are a smoker, be advised that you will have to go to Sherborne to buy your cigarettes. If you are a person who loves loud music and all the trappings of big cities -- you should go somewhere else.

Room Tip: I was in room 19 which i liked. Not sure about other rooms. The only noise you are going to hear her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtdigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
297 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stay here for 2 nights as was playing golf at Sherborne Golf Club. The hotel is a couple is miles outside Sherborne (which has a pretty little shopping area) so a car would be a must. Then hotel is friendly, well maintain and the girls are especially polite and helpful, and nothing seems too much trouble. Thank you Lorna and Laura. We had the superior room which had. Fabulous large balcony but there was plenty of table and chairs you could sit on out side in the well kept garden. The room was made up as we ate breakfast, and the breakfast was cooked fresh and served on hot plates, usual these days. It was just the little touches that made you think someone really cares about the guests. Nice soft large bath towels - decent toilet rolls, bottle of water in the room. Un cut bread used for toast it was like being home. Can't recommend you try this place strongly enough. It was simply the best Best Western we have found in the Uk. Well done guys.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3. Loved it. Double Superior with balcony. No lift but only two floors so wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkie154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oborne
1.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
10.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Address: Oborne, Sherborne DT9 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Oborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange at Oborne is a luxury country house hotel with eighteen bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant overlooking the floodlit gardens. Our quiet rural setting at the edge of the village is the reason why many of our guests return year after year to enjoy the peace and tranquillity that the hotel has to offer. It is a place to unwind, relax and regenerate. Family-owned and run, The Grange prides itself on its friendly staff. The Grange won Dorset Tourism's 'Best Small Hotel' in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange At Oborne Hotel Sherborne
Grange At Oborne Sherborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing