We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed for just one night. Arrived fairly late and was made very welcome. Room was spacious, bathroom had shower with removable shower head, rather than one that it fixed to the ceiling, so that was a real bonus. Nice décor. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good but not extraordinary, but again very friendly service. The hotel is situated in a very quiet area of Wiltshire and I would very much recommend this to couples, who want to explore the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Nadja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 553 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel. It is in a quiet part of Dorset but only 5 minutes by car from Sherborne (you could walk if you wanted). We paid for a larger room but it was much larger than I expected. Clean, quiet and VERY friendly with a decent sized car park. The owner obviously part of the village. Food was good (nothing spectacular).

The hotel tried to run a semi-formal evening meal which didn't quite fit in with the friendly & relaxed atmosphere of the hotel at other times.

We would certainly go back if we were in this part of the country again (and a very nice part of the country it is too!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Deep in the heart of the Dorset countryside and a 5 minute drive from Sherborne town, is the Grange hotel. An elegant and unpretentious country house hotel in a very peaceful location on the outskirts of a Classic Dorset village. The rooms are large and very well appointed. Large bathrooms with walk in showers, tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi.The restaurant is very good and the breakfast, included in the room rate, is truly excellent. Lots of choice of hot and cold fare with local produce being showcased at all meals. The staff are very kind and helpful. The hotel also has a pretty garden in which to relax and you can have afternoon tea or snacks served there. The hotel is very good value for money and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: They have a couple of large ground floor rooms for people who have difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We recently booked a 'last minute' night at the Grange on the way back form the West Country with our two little ones (3 & 5). We had read some reviews on Tripadvisor which sounded positive, even though we weren't sure about the photos (decor) or the 'Best Western' brand. We had a great stay and the staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly. The team were able to accommodate our needs with two little children (room service for children's meals) as well as ensuring we were still able to enjoy some grown up food later in the dining room. The food was delicious (Venison). In some ways we wished we were able to stay longer than one night (not least to explore Sherbone) and we're planning to return for a longer trip soon.
The room we had was a good size, well furnished and easily accommodated two Z-beds for our children. The hotel is set in a lovely, quiet village in rolling countryside just a few minutes outside Sherborne. Overall, some of the decor in the main part of the hotel is a bit dated (particularly the lighting in the lobby area) but we felt we got good value. The 'Best Western' brand name was irrelevant, even though at first it had slightly put us off (we prefer smaller independent hotels/ inns).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejourneyman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Grange really punches above its stars and offers good service, friendly staff, great food and setting. The rooms are lovely and well maintained, we looked out over the garden which in warmer days would be great to sit out in. Overall just a nice relaxing place to go to and like the previous review any small request was readily resolved. Actually might probably have been better not to review it and so reveal the secret!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayTeeHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Mr M W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as I was working in Sherborne for a week and this was the hotel booked for me by the company I work for. My first impression of the hotel when I went on trip advisor was, 'this looks good', and my experience of the hotel was very good. Yes, there was a couple of small things that had to be resolved, like the kettle not always boiling, but this was fixed as soon as I mentioned it.
Room 8 was very nice with a wet room in clouding a separate bath. A huge TV and a comfortable sleigh style bed. Room 4 was nice too with a four poster bed and balcony over looking the garden. There is a wide choice of breakfast and a choice of evening menus, including a lighter choice with more traditional pub style food.
I would like to say a thank you to Jon and his team, not just from me, but from the rest of my colleagues that stayed here whilst working in Sherborne.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wombl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oborne
1.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
697 reviews
10.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
943 reviews
1.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
7.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel

Address: Oborne, Sherborne DT9 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Oborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Price Range: $98 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange at Oborne is a luxury country house hotel with eighteen bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant overlooking the floodlit gardens. Our quiet rural setting at the edge of the village is the reason why many of our guests return year after year to enjoy the peace and tranquillity that the hotel has to offer. It is a place to unwind, relax and regenerate. Family-owned and run, The Grange prides itself on its friendly staff. The Grange won Dorset Tourism's 'Best Small Hotel' in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange At Oborne Hotel Sherborne
Grange At Oborne Sherborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing