We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

As others have reviewed, this was a Travelzoo deal for £109. We had been visiting friends in Portland, so was in an ideal spot for a night away. Friendly welcome, nice room....no view but was fine, comfortable bed and spotlessly clean shower room with quality towels etc.
Choice of cocktail, and absolutely lovely meal (lyme bay crab and lamb terrine followed by the best belly of pork we have ever had). Breakfast was equally as delicious. Forgot my phone charger, which following a phone call was sent to me free of charge....nice touch. Would definitely recommend, really good value for money, and nice to see a place busy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexdevongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 538 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a Travelzoo deal. DBB for r £109. So impressed. Room was ready when we arrived at 12:00, so they let us check in early. Most welcome as we were fresh from a very muddy Larmer Tree festival (which despite the mud was also fabulous). We had a standard room which was very spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was large and had a 'wet room' style shower. Everything was lovely, large fluffy towels, good quality bathroom extras and everything very clean.

Staff were excellent, very attentive, nothing too much trouble. As the weather was awful, we holed up in the very comfortable lounge during the afternoon and worked our way through several chapters and glasses! Dinner was very good quality, all the food locally sourced and fresh. We finished with the cheese which was awesome, all local and delicious. Breakfast was equally good, cooked to order, fresh and delicious. Didn't need to eat again till dinner. Can't really find any negatives here - although didn't get out and about whilst staying, there looked to be plenty to do in the area. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We were happy with a standard room (we were in 16). Although upgrades are available.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbunny011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at the Grange for two nights in July for business with our office nearby. Will certainly be recommending to colleagues. They have recently joined with the Best Western group so there is a loyalty incentive to stay, but the hotel is excellent in so many ways itself, with beautiful grounds, an idyllic setting, comfortable, spacious accommodation and very fine food. Dinner is a choice of two or three courses, at £28 and £35 respectively. Chose the delicately cooked Sea Bass, followed by the Apricot Creme Brulee which was presented at the table before being lit, the alcohol brulee-ing the sugar before dying out, which was unique twist.
The Grange is run by a family who really care about their customers. Jon and Jenny provide first class service without passing up the opportunity to chat to those staying. Some reviewers speak of the Travelzoo deals which make establishments such as this more accessible to the less affluent, but this hotel still falls into the luxury weekend away group, and the Travelzoo (and similar) deals are an added bonus.
Unfortunately the weather didn't permit, but the grounds and local village would be a perfect walking area and a base for a delightful dorset break.
The Hotel is deservedly well awarded, especially be Conde Nast, and this is a likely repeat for 2013.

Room Tip: Room 5 was large but faced into the corner, from the window of which, it was possible to see south f...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Grange at Oborne is a lovely small hotel in a picturesque part of the country. There is a genuine welcome, which makes it feel very comfortable and friendly.
we had an exellent Deluxe room (Room 4) - great size, with four poster bed and balcony.
Enjoyed a lovely meal in the evening. Dining Room staff very helpful and friendly.
For a reasonable price (Travelzoo deal), you get a sense of luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveCandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here as a Travelzoo offer and certainly not disappointed. From arrival to leaving the staff were most attentive. Our room was spacious with an excellent en-suite with usual amenities. The dinner was superb,although not included in price just had to have a cheese course, all local, excellent and well worth it. Don't usually have cooked breakfast but could not resist as most of that was local produce as well. Just wish the sun had been shining because the garden looked delightful place to have the pre dinner cocktail. First class stay with first class staff and no hesitation in recommending

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANE251062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed overnight and had a superb dinner and breakfast, will definitely go back, brilliant.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Cakesmuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A comfortable bed, clean and well furnished bedroom, a superb dinner and breakfast and all this for a very reasonable Travel Zoo package. We could not have chosen a better place from which to explore the interesting town of Sherborne. Can recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILSBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oborne
1.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
689 reviews
10.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
1.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
827 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel

Address: Oborne, Sherborne DT9 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Oborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Price Range: $113 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange at Oborne is a luxury country house hotel with eighteen bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant overlooking the floodlit gardens. Our quiet rural setting at the edge of the village is the reason why many of our guests return year after year to enjoy the peace and tranquillity that the hotel has to offer. It is a place to unwind, relax and regenerate. Family-owned and run, The Grange prides itself on its friendly staff. The Grange won Dorset Tourism's 'Best Small Hotel' in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange At Oborne Hotel Sherborne
Grange At Oborne Sherborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing