We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay, excellent service and attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Stayed here for a birthday treat. Yes it is a bit expensive but you get what you pay for. If you want something a little bit extra in the way of comfort and surroundings you will like it here. Staff will do their utmost to help, If it's not on the menu/drinks list ask, they will try to do it for you. Excellent food, such as wild boar & venison. Homemade jams at breakfast, and locally produced sausages etc. Local people drive from Sherborne to come here to eat it can get busy so do reserve a table!

We had a huge balcony overlooking the garden and had coffee & biscuits out there when we arrived, yes it is a small garden but very private not overlooked.

If you are very active ask at reception they have sheets to do some local walks, but the village is very nice just to walk around and they do have ducks walking down the middle of the road.

Room Tip: Phone, rather than use the inter net
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 538 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

The Grange is in a really sleepy village, so not the place if you're looking for a wild night, but perfect for a rural getaway! The town of Sherborne is about 25mins walk or 5 mins taxi and has quite a lot of quaint shops and a lots of lively pubs etc. The hotel itself is lovely and friendly, elegant without being snobby or pretentious. The couple that run it (sorry, forgotten their names.. ) really tried hard for us and simply couldn't help enough. The hotel has maybe 15 bedrooms or so, so not huge but this just makes it really personal.
Dinner was lovely and breakfast lovely too. The gardens are really pretty, but just a shame not a bit bigger, but they're not exactly small.
Overall, a really lovely stay, perfect county getaway not cheap, but worth every penny. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twizooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Stayed for two nights for a friends wedding. I have been meaning to write a review since then as I have to say that the hosts were exceptional in their hospitality and I would highly recommend a stay here (or a wedding reception). There are were a number of the wedding party staying there and on the eve of the wedding we had a superb dinner in the restaurant (my husband has been raving on about pretty much non stop since then!) A few of our guests were more demanding and all their needs were met. There is a fantastic wine menu and all the staff were knowledgable about the menu and very accommodating to our requests. The breakfast was also very very good! Added to this, I was decorating the wedding cake and the hosts went out of their way to help me with the display stands and helping set the whole thing up.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable with all the amenities, the decor is more traditional in nature. It is very close to Sherbourne and there are lovely country walks to be had if you're planning a more active break. The only (very minor) gripe is that its not a cheap stay but given the high standard of service and food its well worth it.

Overall we have a really relaxing break and are planning our next trip back.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsp2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Our stay started with tea served in the lounge with a log fire blazing in the hearth. Our room was spacious, spotless and comfortable with a patio door leading to the gardens. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The food was fantastic and portions were very generous. The Grange is a first class family run hotel and we've enjoyed one of the best weekends we can remember. A big "Thank you and well done" to one and all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Perfect service from a wonderful hotel. The wedding was nearly cancelled due to the snow but the wedding coordinator and staff pulled out all the stops to help everyone. And what a wedding it was!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funkylemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Our stay at the for a perfect country get-away. The location is perfect for those wanting to visit the Dorset.
The hospitality extended by is by far some of the best I've experienced in California. Well versed in the community and all its activities, she has many helpful suggestions to those new to Napa Dorset. The stay was quite delightful and a pleasure for a short escape from the chaos of city life

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

What a find! Jon and Jenny run a fabulous hotel. I have travelled extensively at home and abroad and I have never stayed anywhere that was as friendly as The Grange at Oborne. We stayed in Room 4 with a supremely comfortable four poster bed and balcony overlooking the garden.

When I booked this hotel I spoke to Jeremy and commented on the glowing tributes from other contributors to this website - he had the honesty to say that some of the recent ones were less than perfect. All I can say is that every minor gripe anyone has ever made appears to have been dealt with e.g. there was a new flat screen TV in the room and fresh fruit at breakfast dealing with 2 adverse comments!!

The food in the restaurant was exquisite and plentiful and the wine list interesting and varied. The staff seem genuinely pleased to welcome you to their hotel and ensure that you have a good stay.

This is a rarity - a beautiful hotel, beautifully run, that doesn't take itself too seriously at the expense of the customer which makes for a supremely relaxing stay. If you want a real insight take a look at the articles at the rear of the room information folder - I laughed out loud and mentioned it to Jenny on our first evening. On checkout she had printed out copies for me to keep - what service!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cymru63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oborne
1.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
689 reviews
10.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
918 reviews
1.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
509 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
827 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel

Address: Oborne, Sherborne DT9 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Oborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Price Range: $113 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange at Oborne is a luxury country house hotel with eighteen bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant overlooking the floodlit gardens. Our quiet rural setting at the edge of the village is the reason why many of our guests return year after year to enjoy the peace and tranquillity that the hotel has to offer. It is a place to unwind, relax and regenerate. Family-owned and run, The Grange prides itself on its friendly staff. The Grange won Dorset Tourism's 'Best Small Hotel' in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange At Oborne Hotel Sherborne
Grange At Oborne Sherborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing