We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price, great room, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
New Orleans
2 reviews
“Great price, great room, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had a chance to stay at this hotel two weeks ago and could not have been more satisfied. The front desk was friendly and my room was awesome. Great view, clean and comfortable. Met the GM Rick, he made us all feel right at home. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tangeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel & Suites on your most recent trip to the Toledo Area! We are pleased to see that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    55
    71
    56
    57
See reviews for
62
53
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Montecito, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Never thought I'd be back in Toledo so soon. Stayed at this hotel previously for my friend's wedding. When I checked in the girl at the front desk greeted me with a smile and a big "Welcome Back!". That was nice, especially after a long flight from California. They were even able to give me the same room I had before! This was nice because the bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby, which I needed. If you have to go to Toledo, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IronGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! We enjoy being your home away from home, and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Don't stay here, don't use the valet parking, and don't eat here.
Our van (and 17 other vehicles) were "broken into"(7 of those, like my van were NEVER locked when the valet ($16 a night) parked our van in an exposed parking lot 3 blocks away.
the hotel manager (Rick) ASSURED my husband and I that the hotel WOULD be liable....he lied. Many items were stolen (google it!) from every vehicle. hotel said it is NOT liable, neither was hotel insurance. IF they would have told me they were NOTgoing to bother locking my vehicle, I would NOT have chosen $16 valet parking(?!) Btw, the open, unattended parking lot you pay $16 to have your vehicle parked-unlocked, also has NO video sir valence (?!?!)
Many many guests were given room keys for OTHER guest's room...not once, but twice
And three times! thankfully, an honest guest was given the room (and key!!!) to a room FILLED with wedding gifts. (That was the third occupied room key/room she was given)!!! attitude at front desk through ALL of this? "meh..."
oh, and (God as my witness...) someone urinated in the pot of "help yourself buffet"
Oatmeal. the waitress confirmed it. the attitude of management about that?
Yup, you guessed it: "meh"
this hotel recently changed it's name again. Police in the area can't keep up with the name changes...it happens so often.
Run. don't walk. This place is a nightmare.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went to a convention there this weekend and all the problems with the hotel actually distracted from the event! First, there was a forty minute wait to get to valet (had to wait in the road). Then there were no rooms available so a majority of convention members had to check bags (Ok- we understand it isn't the 3pm time they said they would be ready-- it would have been nice if they told us instead of making us wait in line for twenty minutes only to be told there were no rooms). Went back to convention with intent of trying to get room at break. Break comes and the line is out the door to check into rooms. Still no rooms available so we go back to convention. At the 45 minute break before the last event before dinner, get back in line only to be told our rooms are still not ready (at this point it is 6pm). Had to get out of line (after 45 minutes) to attend last event of the day. Come back and wait 20 more minutes to finally get room! Yay! but wait. The keys didn't work. Came back down to the desk from the 7th floor to get two new keys that also didn't work. Three keys later, finally got into the room (it's about 7:15 pm now and dinner started at 7). Noticed that the lights were all on in the room but quickly went down to dinner. Got down to the ballroom for dinner and got served terrible food (wilted salad and stale rolls to start and then a cold and under cooked main course). Left dinner after eating only a few bites and went back up to room. Room was reasonably sized but had a lot of problems. The main door had to be slammed to shut, bathroom door latch was broken so door didn't stay shut, there were cracked tiles on the floor in the bathroom and entry area, the heat/AC was broken (whole unit was coming off of the wall), nothing was plugged in (coffee pot, alarm clock, lamps), smelled like a toilet (even though the bathroom had not been used yet, and the TV didn't work. There was mold in the bathtub and sink and floors in the bathroom and bed areas didn't appear to have been cleaned at all. I decided to walk downstairs to talk to people at the front desk, only to find out that there are no stairs that go to the lobby. Walked down as far as I could before having to wander through the hotel to find elevators.The stairs were very dirty and damp with a horrible odor of must and mold. The lights were flickering like they were out of a horror movie. After getting nowhere with the staff in the lobby, I made my way back upstairs for a terribly long and cold night. The next morning I skipped the breakfast line (very expensive and not good looking). The convention continued. At lunch time tables were put up outside the ballroom with our boxed lunches (or rather the boxed lunches of half of the convention members). The other half of the convention had to wait another 20 minutes for the rest of the boxed lunches to be brought from the back. The staff had given the OK for us to come to lunch (even 15 minutes later than planned) and they still were not prepared for the approximately 300 people in attendance. We got the lunches and started eating. They were OK at best. Stale pasta salad and stale/expired chips. EXPIRED CHIPS. Not acceptable. Finished another meal after eating only a few bites. Cookies were also given later, but they were half baked and all melting together. Not professional at all. Finished convention and checked out (which was the easiest part). Then had to wait 35 minutes for valet to get my car (which was parked who knows where so I couldn’t just get it myself). Overall this “convention center” is a joke. They were in no way prepared to host a convention and a relatively small one at that! The entire place appeared out of date and lacking in maintenance. The ballroom had many burned out light bulbs and appeared unprofessional.
I would never ever stay at this hotel again. It was so terrible that it was comical. Something out of a cartoon, not real life. But it happened. And I can’t get that time back. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToledoNoMore1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I am very sorry to read that we did not meet with your expectations during your most recent trip to toledo for your Convention. Our goal is always guest satisfaction. There were a few challenges during your groups convention, and we have made adjustments to the bills of all overnight guests.
We hope you will give us a chance to show you that your experience was definitly the exception not the norm here at the Grand Plaza. On top of the discount you received, you will also have a letter coming to you with a bounce back coupon. We hope you will give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
187 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Attended a convention here. The pillows and beds were comfortable. Everything else was awful. They did not have enough staff of for a large convention so the necessary valet parking took for ever, checking in took for ever. At the "banquet" it took over an hour to get cold, bad food. Our boxed lunches had neither napkins, nor condiment. It was so bad that it became laughable. Even the breakfast buffet took for ever. They kept running out of things. In the end I paid $15 for a bowl of grits because I couldn't wait for other things to come out. I would never, never stay there again. If you have to attend a convention there, stay at another hotel near by.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah60968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sara from Bay Villiage,
I would like to apologize for the bad experience you had at our Grand Plaza Hotel in Toledo. Our goal is always excellent customer service and an amazing experience for our guests. These issues are definitly not typical of our service here at the Grand Plaza, and we do take them very seriously. We will be contacting you for more details and hopefully a resolution that will help you choose once again to use the Grand Plaza for any future lodging needs you may have.

Again, Please accept our applogies and thank you for the constructive critique. It will definitly help us to improve our operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austintown, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Was in town for business and stayed one night. A king-bed room. My company made the reservation, so we got the government rate. We had a beautiful room on the 12th floor, with a view of the river. Watching sunrise over the river was so calming and peaceful. Quiet hotel, did not hear a guest, elevator, ice machine, or staff all night. Pool was small and we didn't use it. No whirlpool. Only two things I wasn't thrilled with was the parking - pretty much had to use valet parking ($16/night which the company doesn't pay for), because the other parking just wasn't convenient. The - other was breakfast - no continental breakfast or coffee - and the very small breakfast buffet was $10.99. There was a coffee maker in the room but without fresh cream, and without knowing how old the coffee was, we ended up finding a Bob Evan's restaurant when our gps sent us on a wild goose chase for a Starbucks. Overall though, the staff was great, hotel was beautiful (however there was a young woman staff member behind the front desk munching on candy or something when we arrived).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nature60mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Nature Mom,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review and let us know how we are doing. We take all feedback very seriously and use it to continue to improve our service here at the Grand Plaza.
We hope to see you on your next visit to Toledo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesnee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Desk staff apparently was clueless and hand no idea how to look up reservation. Maintenance banged on door and attempted to enter with NO NOTICE!...AC would not cool, although fan ran all night. Ice machine on my floor, 3rd floor would not produce ice, and was not even running. Next morning, was informed that "chef" had not come in and therefore there would be no breakfast, and it was almost an act of congress to get some freakin' coffee. Upon checkout, desk clerk attempted to overcharge me for the room, luckily had copy of signin agreement....there are plenty of hotels in Toledo, you decide......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H Winston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick D, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Mr. H
We have spoken on the phone about the problems you had during your stay. Again, I am very sorry for each one, and want to reidderate that this is not typical of a stay here at the Grand Plaza. We hope that you will give us another chance to make things right for you on your next visit to Toledo. Thank you again, for your understanding and comments. Definitely we will use them to continue to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn Toledo
Park Inn Toledo
#9 of 17 in Toledo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
5.2 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Toledo West
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Toledo North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)
Location: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza Hotel features 241 tastefully appointed guest rooms. The hotel is situated along the scenic Maumee River in Downtown Toledo, and located near the University of Toledo, Bowling Green State University and Toledo Express Airport (TOL). While visiting Toledo Ohio, hotel guests can enjoy visiting famous sites such as the The Toledo Zoo or the Toledo Museum of Art. Attractions within walking distance include Toledo Mud Hens at Fifth Third Field and performances at the Valentine Theatre. Business-oriented travelers appreciate this Toledo Hotel's location near businesses such as Owens-Corning, HCR ManorCare, S.S.O.E. and Libbey Inc. The Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel offers over 16,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, complete with audio-visual equipment, and free high-speed Internet connectivity. Grand Plaza Hotel is a beautiful facility enhancing your stay with an indoor heated pool, a well-equipped fitness center, a 24-hour business center and complimentary shuttle service within two miles of the hotel and a full-service restaurant, Del Sol and the Aqua Bar. Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel Toledo provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toledo
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Toledo, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing