We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise in Toledo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Montecito, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise in Toledo”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had to go to Toledo this past weekend for a friend's wedding and stayed at this hotel. What a nice surprise! Be it a Best Western, it was modern, updated, clean, and the place was run by a professional staff. It's in downtown overlooking the river and some of us had some spectacular river views. The folks at the bar even stayed open late for us wedding guests who wanted a night cap....much appreciated! If I ever get back to Toledo, I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IronGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear IronGates,

Thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding weekend and hope that when your travels bring you back to Toledo, we will be welcoming you back to the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    55
    71
    56
    57
See reviews for
62
53
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toledo
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had phoned to be picked up by their shuttle service and was told that I was at one of their regular stops and they would be there in a few minutes. I ask the girl to make sure they would stop and she assured me they would. They didn't. I called bac k a half hour later and they had to send a special van for me. Lack of communication!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear George P,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry that our transportation services failed for you during your recent stay at the Best Western Premier Grand Plaza. I don't know if your travels will be bringing you back to our area soon, but I would welcome the opportunity to provide you with two tickets to a future Mudhens game as our compliments. I hope that you will contact me at dos@bwtoledo.com and I will be happy to make these arrangements for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Front desk manager and staff were wonderful, great customer service!! Dre, at check-in, upgraded my room to a corner with a view. My room was beautiful, remodeled bathroom (not sure why other reviewers said the bathrooms were scary??) Great location, many bars and restaurants in walking distance.

My only compliant is the food awful and room service isn't great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieSol5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your business and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel. Please come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, mi
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Food not great. Rooms old but comfy bed. Tad overpriced. Location great. Dont waste time at bar. Nothing fresh. How can you be a mexican bar restaurant and make margaritas from a mix ? 16 bucks to park. Location good near ballpark and easy drive to casino. Pool is below mediocre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorcitytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for a wedding. Traveled with several friends so was able to see a few of the rooms. My room was fine, furniture was a little old and bathroom a bit dated but clean. View was awesome...looked right over the river. Other rooms weren't as nice. Bathtub drain didn't work, leaks, dirty sheets, etc. Location is great and price is right so if you want to roll the dice and hope you get a good room, go for it. Keep in mind that the valet situation totally sucks and you'll wait 20 min for your car, so be prepared.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmy8614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The best thing the Grand Plaza Hotel has going for it is the location. Nestled peacefully on the Maumee River, it has wonderful views of the river and the Martin Luther King Bridge. The hotel is not far from Toledo's major attractions and is right next store to the Imagination Station (the science center). The room was basically nice, though a little dated. Classic Best Western comfortable bed and friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn Toledo
Park Inn Toledo
#8 of 17 in Toledo
783 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Toledo West
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Toledo North
5.1 mi away
Courtyard Toledo North
Courtyard Toledo North
#7 of 17 in Toledo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)
Location: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza Hotel features 241 tastefully appointed guest rooms. The hotel is situated along the scenic Maumee River in Downtown Toledo, and located near the University of Toledo, Bowling Green State University and Toledo Express Airport (TOL). While visiting Toledo Ohio, hotel guests can enjoy visiting famous sites such as the The Toledo Zoo or the Toledo Museum of Art. Attractions within walking distance include Toledo Mud Hens at Fifth Third Field and performances at the Valentine Theatre. Business-oriented travelers appreciate this Toledo Hotel's location near businesses such as Owens-Corning, HCR ManorCare, S.S.O.E. and Libbey Inc. The Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel offers over 16,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, complete with audio-visual equipment, and free high-speed Internet connectivity. Grand Plaza Hotel is a beautiful facility enhancing your stay with an indoor heated pool, a well-equipped fitness center, a 24-hour business center and complimentary shuttle service within two miles of the hotel and a full-service restaurant, Del Sol and the Aqua Bar. Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel Toledo provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toledo
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Toledo, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing