We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, Needs an Update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Needs an Update”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We got in late Thursday and received immediate attention from the valet and a quick check in at the front desk. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The pillows were horrible, but I don't usually expect much from hotel pillows. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been touched in 20 years. Paint/wall paper was peeling off. There looked to be water damage, which was confirmed Sunday morning with water streaming from the bathroom ceiling vent. Also the lighting was so poor we had to use the mirrors in the living area.

Starting Friday and through Saturday night the Valet and shuttle service became a big issues as anytime requesting our car or shuttle became a 30 minutes wait. Even when we called ahead to the valet we were left waiting. Another issue was trying to sleep past 7a as the cleaning service started so early and you heard the constant opening and shutting of the room doors. We didn't think we needed to put on the do not disturb notice, but our door was knocked on at 7:30a for cleaning.

The only thing saving this hotel was the great location to all the functions we needed to attend for the weekend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverGreenstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Director of Programs at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear DenverGreenStreet,

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We do appreciate your comments and will use the information to further improve our product. We take your comments very seriously and will make the necessary changes so your next stay is a more pleasant one. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    55
    71
    56
    57
See reviews for
62
53
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Overall decent stay. Location was perfect and we had a good view of the river. Many dinner options walkable. $16/night valet service seemed a bit much for a city the size of Toledo and it got chaotic around check out. We parked across the street in a garage for half the price. Room had nice TV, OK bed, dark bathroom. We had the unfortunate luck of being right by the ice machine and service elevator, which was noisy because it wasn't blocked by doors. No free breakfast, gym was nice. Thought it was odd that the hotel hosted a boxing match. We returned from a wedding to a crowd of loud people leaving the hotel. Overall, not bad but not the best hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajtravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Director of Programs at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here.We do host a plethora of events in our conference center ranging from weddings, to proms, to mma events and this time boxing. The boxing event was a highly successful and popular event we host every couple of months and tickets are available to all of our guests as well.

Thank You, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here this weekend with a family group. First the good: Good location for our purposes. Downtown with a nice view of the Maumee River. Good welcome at Reception. Elevators work great even when hotel is very full. Free wireless internet is good. Decent selection of food and snacks available for purchase in area next to Reception. Inexplicably the sodas cost $3 there but only $2 when purchased from machines on guest floors.

The not so good: Rooms are tired. Bathrooms are small and lighting in bathrooms leaves much to be desired. Our group of 13 had dinner in the hotel restaurant Friday night. Restaurant not busy but it took an intolerably long time for our food to arrive. Those who had fish enjoyed their meals. The beef was not quite so popular. Last comment relates to valet parking. There was a great deal going on this weekend and valet parking was a zoo. There was not enough room for all the cars arriving and departing and not enough attendants to deal with the demand. The attendants and supervisor were very pleasant and did the best they could but clearly they were overwhelmed Saturday night. For $16 per night, I expect a more civilized experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctbjr1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Director of Programs at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We appreciate your reviews regarding the good and the bad. We will take these comments and use the information you've given us to improve on the areas that need more attention . Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was the absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed in. There was drunk people running around screaming friday night and the hotel did nothing to silence them. The on Saturday at 2:00 a man named Dre used his key card to enter our room. He claimed the computer marked it as dirty and vacant and gave us a huge attitude about being in it. No one ever apologized for just barging in and waking us up. Then on Sunday morning our key cards would no longer work to get into our room. We were in a rush to leave and get home. I reported the incident of someone rudely coming into our room at 2 am to the manager and he simply said 'he told me about that it was because of a computer glitch' no apology, no discount offered. nothing. I will never stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rstraus17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Director of Programs at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I am sorry for your unpleasant experience. We handled this situation internally, due to your comment we are able to prevent this happening again in the future. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel and was not impressed. The quality of the rooms was poor to average at best. The gym is tiny--don't let the pictures fool you. The restaurant downstairs is unimpressive. I went down for breakfast one morning, and it was obvious the breakfast buffet had been sitting for hours. The front desk staff was not helpful with taxi service either. I called and requested a taxi for 8:30 am so I could be at the airport by 9. When I went down at 8:30, the taxi had not even been called. Good thing I allowed additional time! I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camalabbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Director of Programs at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here. As a Premier Brand we want to deliver the best possible experience for you. We appreciate your comments and will use them to ensure these issues never happen again. Please give me a call directly if you would like to discuss this further. 1-429-255-6185. We value your opinion and want to ensure your next stay with us is pleasant one.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Cannot even begin to explain how bad it was...everything was terrible. Never again!! The worse service my business partners and I have ever experienced. Poor excuse for a hotel, we would have rather stayed at a ref roof inn. Absolutely disgusting in every aspect of our stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryS0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Director of Programs at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Mary,

I apologize for your unpleasant stay. I am regretful that our hotel did not meet your expectations and can ensure that whatever problems you had we will fix. Please give me a call directly at 419-255-6185 to discuss this matter.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed two nights while I was checking out some apartments in the neighborhood. Room was clean, spacious, temperature was perfect, great view of the river. Downtown has some good bars with good live music in the neighborhood. Valet parking is $16 a day, kind of lame that there isn't any free self-parking, but whatever. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnhphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSToledo, Director of Programs at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the fact that you will love to come back again.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a positive review regarding our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toledo
0.3 mi away
Park Inn Toledo
Park Inn Toledo
#8 of 17 in Toledo
800 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Toledo / Oregon
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Toledo West
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)
Location: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza Hotel features 241 tastefully appointed guest rooms. The hotel is situated along the scenic Maumee River in Downtown Toledo, and located near the University of Toledo, Bowling Green State University and Toledo Express Airport (TOL). While visiting Toledo Ohio, hotel guests can enjoy visiting famous sites such as the The Toledo Zoo or the Toledo Museum of Art. Attractions within walking distance include Toledo Mud Hens at Fifth Third Field and performances at the Valentine Theatre. Business-oriented travelers appreciate this Toledo Hotel's location near businesses such as Owens-Corning, HCR ManorCare, S.S.O.E. and Libbey Inc. The Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel offers over 16,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, complete with audio-visual equipment, and free high-speed Internet connectivity. Grand Plaza Hotel is a beautiful facility enhancing your stay with an indoor heated pool, a well-equipped fitness center, a 24-hour business center and complimentary shuttle service within two miles of the hotel and a full-service restaurant, Del Sol and the Aqua Bar. Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel Toledo provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toledo
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Toledo, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing